We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio de Marquesa
Ranked #7 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We purchased 2 nights through Living Social offer. We stayed in early December on Saturday and Sunday nights. The setting is lovely. The room was so welcoming and cozy, and had a casual elegance. We loved the kiva fireplace! It is quiet and very New Mexican. The manager Chad was wonderful! He makes you feel like you walked into his living room. He was knowledgable about Taos and the surrounding area, and made great recommendations for restaurants and attractions. As if this isn't enough, then there are the delicious breakfasts' made by the highly skilled Rose. The B & B is very close to everything, but off of the beaten path. I think this is a rave review. We will definitely go back as much to stay at the Palacio as to see Taos.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Off the main road but very walkable to Plaza, this small 8 room quasi B&B is perfect for a romantic stay in Taos. Rooms are large, clean, quiet. Breakfasts are plentiful and made fresh daily, no dry cereal or pastries from a factory here. Beautiful attention to New Mexican and Taos heritage in room decor. You almost hate to leave the room, just sit by your fireplace with a glass of wine and let Taos work its magic.
Skylights,kiva fireplaces, heated tile floors, fantastic staff make this a must do.
Be aware if walking to the Plaza, there are no sidewalks between hotel and main road but few cars and slow speeds make this almost a non issue.

Room Tip: All rooms have private outside entrances, no access from main house where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCHotelManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Palacio is a perfect weekend getaway for anyone who is looking for a unique cultural Taos experience. The inn is just off the main road and is absolutely beautiful! The manager, Chad, was an absolute joy and was extremely helpful. He was available whenever we needed assistance, gave great food recommendations in the area, and was kind and courteous the whole weekend. Breakfast at the Palacio was also a delight - I'd stay again just for the pumpkin pancakes!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were welcomed by the manager, Chad, who showed us around the facility and our room of this lovely estate populated with numerous huge, huge trees. The courtyard was showing it's age and is being redone as you read this. The B&B is several blocks off the main street (quiet) and quite close to the downtown plaza where most of the dining and shops are. Rooms were nice, included a fireplace with wood, and huge bathrooms with robes. Sauna room & workout center was open, but the outdoor hot tub wasn't. The breakfast was good, but not as memorable as conversations with other guests at the large dining table. Nice amenities in the room, but no cream for coffee - only milk at breakfast??

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobod80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at the Palacio de Marquesa in Taos, and what a great time and stay we had. The gorgeous cottonwood and willow trees surrounding the property were in full color and provided wonderful shade and atmosphere. The property itself has a great, old-world Spanish feel, but the rooms are cozy, beautiful and nicely appointed.

Chad, the general manager, served as a great host and was very attentive to all of our needs and questions. For instance, his recommendation of the local restaurant, Love Apple, was perfect. He also made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed.

The breakfasts at Palacio also are winners. Lots of good food, and each main course was interesting and done nicely.

Can't say enough about this place and our stay. Just marvelous and within an easy walk of the main square. We will be back and are already looking forward to that next stay.

Room Tip: We were in the Rio Grande room. Great fireplace, spacious bathroom (including a corner spa tub) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windompub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were delighted with our stay here! Chad, the manager, was quite welcoming, informative, and helpful and helped us find a wonderful, eclectic restaurant for dinner (The Love Apple--NOT to be missed, but advance reservations are a must!). The room was quite spacious and elegant, with a comfortable bed, enormous bathroom, and cozy fireplace--all done in the Southwest style. Chad also gave me a guided tour of many of the other rooms, and all are equally lovely and unique. Chad also informed me that the rooms were all undergoing restoration, and I look forward to returning to see what has been done. Very friendly, close to downtown but secluded, good breakfasts, and very comfortable. We came for a romantic getaway weekend--and found it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittenInChrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We just had an absolutely incredible experience at Palacio de Marquesa! The staff was nice and helpful which made our stay more memorable. It was a perfect location near the plaza with huge trees surrounding the property. The room was quiet, warm and inviting with a great kiva fireplace and a spa tub. The breakfasts were homemade and were typically regional cuisine. We met several other people at the breakfast table, some from San Francisco, others from NM just enjoying a weekend away. It was fun to compare notes on local sites and get the staffs suggestions on what to see and where to eat each morning. Chad is the General Manager and he greeted us the moment we arrived and was always there with a smile. We are already planning our next adventure to Taos this winter for skiing and we will stay here again. Did I mention this was our honeymoon? We had a perfect 3 night stay, in a perfect setting. Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rio Grande Room, very spacious, spa tub and kiva fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
536 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on La Loma Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Marquesa

Address: 405 Cordoba, Taos, NM 87571-6571 (Formerly Casa de las Chimeneas)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £137 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Marquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio de Marquesa is 2 1/2 blocks from the historic center of town, Taos Plaza. Built on 7/10 of an acre with a high wall and seventeen large trees around the perimeter, it seems secluded and apart from the bustle of town, yet is close to all the historic sites, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palacio de Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Chimeneas Hotel Taos
Palacio De Marquesa Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing