We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm off the beaten track.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio de Marquesa
Ranked #7 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

At first glance the property is inviting. After being greeted by staff the feeling is enhanced. The room that my girlfriend and I stayed in was clean and in keeping with the theme of the South-West. It is however, noticeable that this property was once a bit grander than it is now, but it is still very much a warm and charming place. I was told that it is in the process of being "rejuvenated". If so...wow. If not, I'd still return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Palacio de Marquesa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I travel to Taos almost every year, there's something magical about Taos and this property was no different. This was our first time staying at The Palacio De Marquesa - We had a fantastic experience! Upon arriving at the property, we met Chad, the property manager. He was courteous, kind and professional and we immediately felt at home. The property is absolutely gorgeous! We stayed in the Rio Grande room, this spacious and gorgeous room is extremely comfortable. Loved the fireplace and the heated floors. The seating area is a nice touch and we loved the roomy bathroom. The breakfast was also very good. We can't wait to go back and visit after the renovations! Thank you, Chad for making this vacation a memorable one. We are looking forward to staying at other Heritage Hotels properties.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraJEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is so charming. Our room was perfect. The manager, Chad, was so gracious and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious. The fireplaces in the rooms made it extra special. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed here on a one-night getaway just before Christmas. It was the perfect place for a romantic winter escape. It's tucked away in a quiet neighborhood, a five-minute walk from the plaza. The property is quintessential New Mexico - it's surrounded by huge cottonwood trees that must be 100+ years old, and (of course) all the buildings are adobe. We stayed in the Rio Grande room, which has a gas fireplace, a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, and two skylights that let in lots of sunshine.

The general manager, Chad, took great care of us. Since it was so close to Christmas, he was pretty much manager, cook and housekeeper all rolled into one. When we arrived in the afternoon, he greeted us at the door by name and had our reservation form and room key ready for us. Also ready for us to enjoy: chocolate chip cookies and a yummy citrus tart baked that morning.

Since it was my partner's first time in Taos and I had been there just once, we had a lot of questions about what to do and where to eat. Chad gave us great advice about both, and we had a delicious dinner at the Love Apple. We were so stuffed afterward that we could barely move and spent the rest of the night relaxing by the fire.

The next morning, we were treated to a great breakfast - scrambled eggs, potatoes, and the best cured ham ever. Since we had arrived so late the day before, we were hoping to stretch out the morning as much as we could. Even before we asked, Chad offered to let us check out a couple of hours late. That gave us plenty of time to relax and enjoy a little more of Taos. We definitely plan to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We purchased 2 nights through Living Social offer. We stayed in early December on Saturday and Sunday nights. The setting is lovely. The room was so welcoming and cozy, and had a casual elegance. We loved the kiva fireplace! It is quiet and very New Mexican. The manager Chad was wonderful! He makes you feel like you walked into his living room. He was knowledgable about Taos and the surrounding area, and made great recommendations for restaurants and attractions. As if this isn't enough, then there are the delicious breakfasts' made by the highly skilled Rose. The B & B is very close to everything, but off of the beaten path. I think this is a rave review. We will definitely go back as much to stay at the Palacio as to see Taos.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Off the main road but very walkable to Plaza, this small 8 room quasi B&B is perfect for a romantic stay in Taos. Rooms are large, clean, quiet. Breakfasts are plentiful and made fresh daily, no dry cereal or pastries from a factory here. Beautiful attention to New Mexican and Taos heritage in room decor. You almost hate to leave the room, just sit by your fireplace with a glass of wine and let Taos work its magic.
Skylights,kiva fireplaces, heated tile floors, fantastic staff make this a must do.
Be aware if walking to the Plaza, there are no sidewalks between hotel and main road but few cars and slow speeds make this almost a non issue.

Room Tip: All rooms have private outside entrances, no access from main house where breakfast is served.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCHotelManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Palacio is a perfect weekend getaway for anyone who is looking for a unique cultural Taos experience. The inn is just off the main road and is absolutely beautiful! The manager, Chad, was an absolute joy and was extremely helpful. He was available whenever we needed assistance, gave great food recommendations in the area, and was kind and courteous the whole weekend. Breakfast at the Palacio was also a delight - I'd stay again just for the pumpkin pancakes!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
534 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Marquesa

Address: 405 Cordoba, Taos, NM 87571-6571 (Formerly Casa de las Chimeneas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £149 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Marquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio de Marquesa is 2 1/2 blocks from the historic center of town, Taos Plaza. Built on 7/10 of an acre with a high wall and seventeen large trees around the perimeter, it seems secluded and apart from the bustle of town, yet is close to all the historic sites, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacio de Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Chimeneas Hotel Taos
Palacio De Marquesa Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing