We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL - WE WERE TREATED LIKE ROYALTY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacio de Marquesa
Ranked #7 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“WONDERFUL - WE WERE TREATED LIKE ROYALTY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2006

Venturing into Taos we had no idea where we going to stay. My in-laws recommended the Fechin Inn, but we wanted something more quaint. Upon striking up a conversation at a local winery, we were referred to Casa de las Chimeneas for their beautiful property, in-room fireplaces, and great food. Upon entering the front door, we were treated like royalty. Every single staff member went out of their way to be sure all of our needs were not only tended to, but anticipated. We are in awe of this inn, and cannot wait to return. Oh, and the food was amazing! Between the kiva fireplace and the massages, there was no need to venture far from the inn at all.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    26
    0
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
132
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2005

We had a good - very good - experience at Casa Chimeneas. But ...

"Gourmet" dining included a green salad, pasta w/ sauce and a cake. Nothing appeared to be homemade; all appeared to come from Sam's / Costco. Breakfast appeared to have one or two homemade items blended with the institutional fare.

When making our reservations, we received an inquiry regarding breakfast drinks. "How thoughtful!" We responded with a couple of particulars. Upon arrival, we were told, "Well, we don't have the item you asked for, is it OK if we substitute X?" Not a big deal, but why did you bother asking us?

Finally, 5:00 p.m. until 6:30 p.m. are the stated hours for dinner. Older folks may like this, but it was inconvenient for us.

These are nits. It was very nice overall.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBooger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2005

We spend two nights here, 9/16/05 & 9/17/05. Stayed in the Rio Grande room which was lovely. Highly, highly recommend this Inn. The walled off courtyard gives you a sense of privacy and security and the trees whispering in the wind are wonderful. The Inn serves what they call a "light supper," but what I call a full meal. We didn't even go out the first night at all but simply enjoyed the Inn. Breakfasts were just as wonderful. Grounds are beautful and you're within walking distance of downtown Taos and the Plaza. Very nice staff. Definely would come back here.

Helpful?
5 Thank Cheesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2004

We stayed one night in April 2003, it was by far the best b&b we've stayed at. It is expensive, but worth it. We had a kiva fireplace in the room which was much fun during the cold weather we experienced there. The breakfast was great too. This place is really a nice treat! Very quiet and clean too.

  • Stayed April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarahkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2004

We stayed at the Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday and the staff and accomodations are really great. I just can't say enough good things about this place. Great location, wonderfully decorated rooms, all the right amenities, quiet, good food, chocolate on the pillow, you name it and they have it.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2004

Innkeeper Susan Vernon ensures that her guests are pampered but not disturbed if they opt for privacy. Situated behind a gated entryway on a quiet Taos side street, this place is a harmonious respite replete with a hot tub situtated in a bountiful garden. The rooms are immaculate and spacious. We stayed in the Sombraje that offers two queen size beds, a gas fireplace, a stocked mini-refrigerator and a huge skylight. This room shares a private courtyard with another room for even more privacy.

We anticipated excellent service when we made reservations and were asked if we had any special requests for particular teas or coffees. We were not disappointed! Outstanding breakfasts and attention to the smallest detail make one feel as though this was a private estate. Next time we'll definitely avail ourselves of the onsite massuese.

Can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank 2-4-NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2004

Stayed in the Library Suite. Beautiful, especially enjoyed the steam shower which had 3 separate heads with different massage and waterfall settings. Food was very good. Would definitely recommend. Check their website for their last minute 72 hour specials. You maybe able to book the suites for the same price of a regular room!

Helpful?
8 Thank jeanc1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Marquesa

Property: Palacio de Marquesa
Address: 405 Cordoba, Taos, NM 87571-6571 (Formerly Casa de las Chimeneas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Marquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio de Marquesa is 2 1/2 blocks from the historic center of town, Taos Plaza. Built on 7/10 of an acre with a high wall and seventeen large trees around the perimeter, it seems secluded and apart from the bustle of town, yet is close to all the historic sites, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio de Marquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Chimeneas Hotel Taos
Palacio De Marquesa Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing