We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Lovely As We Remembered”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #3 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We returned to Hacienda del Sol for our 39th anniversary after staying there a number of years ago. It was as beautiful and peaceful as we remembered and a perfect place to stay in Taos.
The gardens and view of the mountains from our room provided a lovely setting for a special weekend. We enjoyed meeting and visiting with other guests at breakfast who suggested that we try a restaurant called Aceq in Arroyo Seco for dinner. Mark and Erica made reservations for us and it was a dining experience that ranked among the "best ever". Everything about this B & B will make your stay in Taos enjoyable and you will look forward to returning each evening or may just spend a great part of your days relaxing in one of the garden areas. Mark and Erica are warm and friendly and eager to make you feel welcome and comfortable by providing you with whatever you need. We will definitely return and recommend Hacienda del Sol.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the gardens are really lovely. We stayed in the main part of the house on our firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Once again, Happy Anniversary!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary trip with us and thank you for the kind words in your review. Aceq is really starting to get a deservedly great reputation, and has quickly become one of our favorite restaurants. The rooms that open out to the gardens are always popular and now with the colors changing, the view is wonderful!

Hopefully we'll see you both in another year or so, maybe for your 40th!

Thank you again,
Mark, Erika, Luellen & Gerd
Hacienda del Sol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This is not your typical B&B. more like an inn.
Run by a family (mom, dad and grown daughter and son in law who are very visible and hands on.

Old part of building, now a living room, dates to 1804!!! Including tiny doorways and uneven floors.

Breakfast included 2 options each day plus eggs any style serves on colorful Mexican placemats.
Secluded Outdoor hot tub available if you sign up for a time slot, meaning - I think - that it would be private for your use

Grounds include beautiful lawn inside back courtyard surrounded by flower beds and with views of Taos Mtn. Many rooms are hacienda style with small protruding overhang at door so, if it rains, you can still sit outside. Property has amazing HUGE old cottonwoods and willow trees.

I think all rooms are different. We were in Taos suite: bath with stall shower, jacuzzi, Mexican tile ....2nd Bdrm has 2 twins plus closet, refrig, chest, mirror and lamps....main room had queen 4 poster, clothes cabinet, end table, sofa and chair, small coffee table with info on area, kiva fireplace. Very comfortable. Southwestern decor of course

Ez parking. Free wifi. Lemonade, coffee, etc and cookies available all day.

Beautiful place to stay in taos. Best for couples but kids would be fine

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Firstly, thank for your your wonderful review.

We are very lucky to have such an historic Hacienda and grounds. The trees we understand to be about 150 years old, they are wonderful old things, and the shade they afford us is great in the summer.

You are right about the hot tub, put your name down for whatever time you like and its all yours. We find its a nicer, more relaxing way to enjoy it, rather than have all our guests try and get in at the same time!

Thank you again for taking the time to right such a lovely review,
Mark, Erika, Luellen and Gerd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed there for our 25th wedding anniversary and it exceeded our expectations! We loved everything about it, our room, the view, the amazing breakfasts and our hosts Mark and Erika were awesome! It's was so peaceful sitting out in the yard whether it was morning or night. Will definitely be going back on a future trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review and we're delighted you chose the Hacienda del Sol to celebrate such a wonderful milestone.

We're glad to hear you found the gardens relaxing and peaceful, the mornings in particular are my favorite time to be out there. Its lovely and cool and the views are a nice way to start off your day.

Thank you again, Happy Anniversay one more time, and we look forward to your next visit.
Erika, Mark, Luellen and Gerd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have stayed at Hacienda Del Sol a number of times. Once staying five days when I had car trouble. It is hidden from the road, which makes it quite nice. The rooms are clean and have the decor we all love in Taos, and the back lawn with beautiful and huge trees add to a sense of quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

We're very pleased to hear that you find our Inn relaxing and quiet enough to visit us a number of times. It is lovely sitting outside in the gardens soaking in the view of the mountains, it really does relax everyone, especially if you're having car problems!

Thanks again,
Mark, Erika, Luellen and Gerd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We brought our two kids on the 'last family vacation before college" and loved our stay. Not only did our suite perfectly meet our needs, but the gorgeous view from our windows was exactly what we had come to New Mexico to see. The appointments in the rooms were just "southwest" enough to give the flavor of the region without crossing into kitsch. Breakfasts were tasty, plentiful and fresh with a nice variety of daily options to suit any palate and appetite. Managers Erika and Mark were warm and friendly and always ready with information on the nearby attractions, directions, or recommendations for dinner. It was a perfect base of operations for our daily junkets and a terrific place to come home to each night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for such a great review and we're delighted that you found our Inn the perfect spot to have one last family vacation.

One of the nice things about New Mexico and Taos in particular, is that you can be very creative with colors and patterns, and the owner has put a lot of effort into getting the rooms just right.

Hopefully you'll find some more time with the kids to return and spend some more quality time together.

Thanks again,
Erika, Mark, Luellen and Gerd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stumbled across this Inn last February when traveling alone. I found it to be just adorable! Very charming. I had a little wood burning fireplace in my room and a hammock on my front patio. I loved it! I don't normally like B and B style breakfasts, but partook in it here and really enjoyed it, as the owner's are so down to Earth... very friendly and accommodating. I found myself staying here a few nights again this summer. Again, just as delightful in the summer as it is in the winter!!

Room Tip: Rooms with kiva fireplaces are great in the winter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selectivediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

We're glad to hear that our breakfasts exceeded your expectations. With Chef Gerds training, Mark has really started to put together some great breakfasts. We do try to ensure that we set everyone up with a tasty and wholesome breakfast.

Taos is one of those towns that benefits from lovely seasons and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the summer as much as you did the winter. You'll have to come and visit us in the fall when the colors are turning, the view of the mountains at that time of year is wonderful.

Thank you again for such a lovely review,
Mark, Erika, Luellen and Gerd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I indirectly know the owners from Miami, so when I knew I was going to be in Taos I know I had to see this place.
It is really beautiful. Warm, comfy, inviting....like a big Taos hug!!
Very quaint and charming. The bed was so comfy and the sheets so soft.
Warm coffee and a lovely breakfast were perfect in the morning.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Firstly, thank you for your kind words.
It was our pleasure to look after you and we're so glad you found the Inn relaxing and cozy.
We'd love to have you back, so next time you want to escape the heat and humidity of Miami, let us know!
Thanks again,
Mark, Erika, Luellen and Gerd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,221 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on La Loma Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £143 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos
Hacienda Del Sol Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing