We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B & B in Taos”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Best B & B in Taos”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have stayed at the Hacienda del Sol many times throughout the past year and each time we have found our time spent here as pleasant, comfortable, and over all, a great experience. The rooms are updated, always clean and have every amenity needed. The food is the best! In addition, the grounds are well cared for and it is relaxing to spend some time reading/relaxing in the comfortable environment. Wonderful views of Taos mountains.

Room Tip: If you have enough people the cowboy suite (for three or four people) is great because of the early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Firstly, thank you for visiting us so many times, its a real complement to our Inn that you are happy to return to us so often.

Its also great to hear that our standards and consistent, as whether its your first or fifth visit, we want to impress and ensure you are getting the quality you deserve and expect.

Thanks again and hopefully we'll see you in the not too distant future.
Erika & Mark
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    46
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
325
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
483 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having never been to the Taos area, we were pleasantly surprised by Hacienda Del Sol! The Cowboy room was very nice- loved the gas fireplace, the steam shower and the unbelievable view! Mark checked us in and gave us the tour. They pay particular attention to detail, keep the kitchen open with fruit, coffee, cookies. Breakfast was fantastic - they certainly know how to please! Absolutely would stay here again if ever in the area! You must sit out back and take in the view!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodymom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Firstly thank you for your review of the Hacienda and I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We have quite a bit of history with the connection to Mabel Dodge Luhan, so we love to share that with our guests.

The Cowboy does have a lovely view over the gardens and into the Pueblo land beyond and its nice to hear you sat back and enjoyed the view from the room as well as down in the gardens.

Hopefully we'll be able to look after you on your next visit to Taos.

Thanks again,
Mark & Erika
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We loved this place and the young couple who run it. Perfectly and peacefully located within a very short drive of everything to see and do in and around Taos. Lovely adobe style building and rooms set around a garden with views to mountains in the snow. Everything possible was done to make our stay absolutely as comfortable as possible, great choice of home-cooked breakfasts and suggestions about where to eat out. Wish we'd been able to stay longer - another time?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and Mark thoroughly enjoyed having a fellow Brit to talk to for a few days! Since you were here, we've swapped snow capped mountains for a lush, green mountain backdrop, just a lovely! If you ever find yourself down here in the Southwest, please do look us up, it would be our pleasure to host you again!
Mark, Erika, Luellen and Gerd
Hacienda del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent a week at this wonderful B&B and have nothing but good things to say about our stay. Our room, the Adobe, was more than we expected....from the comfy king-sized bed to our own private patio. Erika and Mark were excellent hosts and very helpful in planning our daily outings. Breakfast was a real treat with three selections offered every day. The views, the rooms, the hosts, the ambience.....everything was top-notch. We would highly recommend the Hacienda del Sol to any fellow travelers!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
HI Linda,
Thank you for that lovely review. I'm glad that our recommendations worked out for you and that breakfast was a daily treat!
Thanks again and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.
Mark & Erika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Hacienda del Sol was the perfect place to get away for a relaxing weekend. My fiance's and my room (the Adobe) was beautiful, quiet and included a very comfortable hammock. The breakfast and snacks (especially the filled cupcakes!) were excellent. Everyone that we ran into that worked there was very welcoming and friendly. We did not want to leave! We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Adobe has a private patio with a great little table and hammock. Highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, we're delighted to hear that you and your fiance enjoyed the Adobe room! Thank you for the photo's of the room as well, you had some great weather while you were here and the photo's really captured how nice it is here at the Hacienda when the sun is going down!

I'm glad you enjoyed all the snacks, those cupcakes really were great!

We look forward to having you back with us in the not too distant future,
Erika & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What new can be said about Mark and Erika and their warm welcoming attitude. The room was small but very nice and clean. Loved the hot tub and the view of the mountains from the grass courtyard was incredible. If you ever get a chance to have Mark cook you breakfast don't miss it. I had one of the best omelets I have had in a long time. They had no problem with letting us put food and drink in the refrigerator. Just super helpful and super nice. We would recommend Hacienda del Sol to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in Taos!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokosmom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
What a review! Thank you so much for your kind words! Its great to hear that Gerd's training has paid off in Mark's breakfasts!

It sounds like you really took the chance to relax and enjoy everything our Inn has to offer, that's what we're here for!

Next time you're down here in New Mexico, we'd love to host you again,
Mark, Erika, Luellen & Gerd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Hacienda del Sol could not have been lovlier. Erika, Mark, Luellen and Gerd were extremely helpful. The food and service at the restaurants that were recommended by them were great. It is a beautiful place. The only suggestion I would add is when making your room reservation, consider staying on the lower floor which offers you your own private patio to you room and allows you to sit outside enjoying your own coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our suggestions helped to make your trip to Taos an enjoyable one. We've got some great restaurants here in Taos!

As the weather has turned so fantastically summery now, we've set up our outdoor breakfast table, so that everyone can now enjoy their coffee in that nice, crisp morning air!

Thank you again for your kind words,
Erika, Mark, Gerd & Luellen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Property: Hacienda del Sol
Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos
Hacienda Del Sol Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing