We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corrales, NM
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We have stayed at Hacienda del Sol on numerous occassions and have always been extremely happy. The Inn is lovely and quiet. The rooms are beautiful and breakfast is great. The Innkeepers have been very considerate of our needs for accomodation of our toddler. Whenever we go to Taos, Hacienda del Sol is our preferred destination.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jour195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    46
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
336
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at Hacienda del Sol. The Inn is a traditional Taos structure; each room is unique and decorated in Taos style. It had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever stayed in. The surroundings are wonderful - mountains make a beautiful backdrop. Breakfast was delicious. We were there the night before Valentine's day, and were offered a special package of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, which was a nice surprise for my husband. We would certainly return here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kensue4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

I have been staying at the HDS in Taos for nearly 5 years. I have brought friends here, and it's been the only place I would stay in my frequent trips to Taos. What kept me coming back were the incredible rooms, wonderful service and unique, warm New Mexican ambiance. This last trip made me pause. The previous managers - Reg & Dale, really made our stays awesome. They were friendly, inviting and just plain fun. Staying at HDS was a fun experience, and the hospitality was second-to-none. Sadly, Reg & Dale left in Jan. 2010, just a few weeks before we arrived. So, the owners have taken over the guesthouse responsibilities. I fear, they are much better at owning a B&B than in running a B&B. The new hospitality was very thin, almost manufactured and less than genuine. The owners cooked a great breakfast, but they didn't have the same warmth & charm we had come to expect at this remarkable B&B. So, my assessment is that there is an important ingredient missing, and I'm gonna look for a new place to stay in Taos. The owners would be wise to heed my advice - people come to B&Bs because of the service and atmosphere. If you want to keep them coming back, focus on providing the two things that hotels don't - genuine hospitality and a cozy, inviting atmosphere. Work to make your guests feel welcome in your home, and provide something unique. If not, why shouldn't we just stay in a hotel? So, I'm giving HDS a thumbs-down. It's sad, because I love this place and the rooms are awesome. But, there are awesome rooms elsewhere in Taos, and this traveller is looking for unique, genuine service. This visit was void of that. Also, beware the "Disinguished Inns" membership. Having stayed at HDS numerous times and having brought numerous other couple with us, the owners wouldn't even stamp our books for credit in the DI. Wow, talk about cheap and in-your-face insults. Good grief, it's almost as if they were asking us to not come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWAZUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southandwest
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Hacienda Del Sol leaves us with too much to review. We were there for our honeymoon - a full week in the 'Los Amantes' room(s)! We heard about it from good friends of ours who honeymooned there 5 years prior under different management and couldn't have been more pleased with our time and care. The staff was exceedingly gracious and accommodating to help us with any extracurricular things we might explore (we did XC skiing for the first time and went to Ojo Caliente spa, and visited Albuquerque and Santa Fe on a VERY scenic drive - all aided by the staff's suggestions). Gerd and Luellen are so kind and helpful. Speaking of Gerd - the breakfasts alone are worth MINIMUM $30 for two each morning...minimum. This is a bed and breakfast that takes both of those seriously.

I highly recommend getting a room with a real kiva fireplace and a steam shower...the robes are fantastic, the quilts and linens extremely comfortable and authentic...the history, structure and stories in Hacienda del Sol alone make it a tourist attraction, but it feels like anything BUT 'kitschy' - it's so quiet and garnered towards making it feel like your personal home - it has quick access to amazing food up and down both sides of the street...I researched around, and you can't do better if you're visiting Taos. Enough said.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southandwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

This gorgeous bed & breakfast is very conveniently located! The managers Dale & Reg made sure that everything was perfect for our wedding and breakfast reception! The food was DE-LISH! Our wedding was at sunrise and the sun coming up over Taos mountain was a perfect way to start our new life... Our room opened up right into the courtyard! Very relaxing and slow paced. 09/09/09 was the day we got married and we hope to go back on our anniversary... Tracy & Chris

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldogswildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We stayed at the Hacienda del Sol in April of 2009, toward the end of a two week trip in Colorado and New Mexico. We had a lovely stay here - the outdoor hot tub was delightful. The breakfast was very good (but not the best we have had.) The room we stayed in was very comfortable and pretty, but was starting to show some wear. The steam shower was appreciated & well used during our stay! We got a great dinner suggestion and had a scrumptious dinner at The Love Apple, which was well within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Hacienda del Sol. It truly is a large hacienda close to Taos pueblo and with views of Taos Mountain. We were traveling on a long road trip with our two year old. We stayed in a suite that was large and comfortable. I love the decor in this place--pure Southwest. They have done a great job maintaining the old hacienda--there are so many rooms!
The innkeepers don't seem that interested in getting to know the guests, but that is okay. The place is beautiful. Breakfast wasn't that impressive and they seem to use way too much fabric softener on the sheets--had us sneezing all night. Otherwise great stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Property: Hacienda del Sol
Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos
Hacienda Del Sol Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing