We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I stayed in Hacienda del Sol in Taos for a few days while on a skiing trip. Gerd and Luellen (the owners) are wonderful hosts, very helpful. Gert was trained a a chef so the breakfasts are fantastic. I joined him for a cooking class one night (he runs them about once a month or so) which was lots of fun and I learned a few cooking tricks that I am excited to try! My room was beautiful, a real gem. It had a fireplace, and a steam shower - a great feature for after skiing. It was decorated in a traditional western hacienda style very warm and inviting. Highly highly recommended!!! Would jump to go there again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2010

My husband and I traveled to Taos recently for a long weekend in order to ski and recharge. Hacienda Del Sol was just the spot to do it. The graciousness with which Luellen, Gerd and Ann welcomed us was first class. They were at once relaxed enough to get into a deep conversation about whatever, yet at the same time attentive to guests going about their business. The property itself is gorgeous inside and out, with spectacular views of Taos Mountain from just beyond the back courtyards. In every space, paintings, furniture and decor remind you of the rich and varied artistic culture of Taos. The inn is friendly and comfortable, reflecting the owners' genuine dedication to hospitality. Gerd cooked us the best breakfasts, and Luellen recommended fantastic restaurants for dinner.

A shelf next to the fireplace in our room had books about Mabel Luhan Dodge, the history of the area and novels written in or inspired by Taos.There was a CD player with an eclectic mix of music and no TV, which was essential for our escape. The sheets on the bed were some kind of brushed or tumbled silk, and I want a set for my bed at home. We had a steam shower in our bathroom, and there was a hot tub in the back yard that you could reserve for privacy. Did I mention the views, or how many stars you can see in the dark night sky of Taos? It is a place that inspires creativity. The skiing was amazing, too. In Taos, earthly intersects with ethereal. Luellen and Gerd at the Hacienda Del Sol not only get that, they cultivate it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osoclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

This bed and breakfast is located near most attractions in Taos. Taos Ski Valley is a convenient car ride away. The ski package was a great value.

The owners, Luellen and Gerd and their manager, Ann, made us really feel like we were family rather than paying guests. Also, Gerd is a fantastic chef who was the executive chef for several cruise lines which means the breakfasts were terrific!

Their attention to detail was impressive.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The moment the owner, Luellen, contacted me I knew this stay would be special. I sent an availabilty email on-line and she called me back immedietly and offered us a great ski package. The Hacienda has a fantastic old world adobe feel complete with court yard and amazing view of the Taos mountains, it also has a hot tub but we didn't get a chance to see or use it. We stayed in the 2 room Taos suite which was perfect for our family. We were very close to the kitchen which was great because our kids didn't have far to run outside to get there. (It was cold outside) As you walk in the room, you are in the main living area with gas fireplace, leather sofa, rocking chair, and wine supplies. The queen bed is there as well as a wardrobe. (sky light above bed, prepare to wake to light in the morning) A back door leads to a small hall with the bathroom to the right and a bedroom to the left. The bedroom has 2 twin beds, dresser, and closet with a small fridge. My sons loved their room and got a kick out of having their own fridge. The bathroom was very spacious and bright with plenty of mirrors. The shower was strong with plenty of hot water. The jacuzzi tub is HUGE and my sons had a blast taking a bath. Breakfast was awesome, Ann was so nice and friendly going out of her way to care for our family. The kichen area is so inviting we really looked forward to breakfast every morning & to tea and milk and fresh baked cookies every evening after skiing. We all enjoyed our stay & would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LADYgRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

One of the best stays we've had - anywhere. This is beautifully furnished, well appointed facility surrounded by plenty of activities and breathtaking mountain views. Impeccably kept with many comforts and amenities. The staff was extremely friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. The kitchen offered a nice variety of breakfast choices and the atmosphere was like a family gathering. We liked the place so much, we stayed an extra night! Exceptional value, ambience, and people. Straight A's across the board!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbsand120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We have stayed at Hacienda del Sol on numerous occassions and have always been extremely happy. The Inn is lovely and quiet. The rooms are beautiful and breakfast is great. The Innkeepers have been very considerate of our needs for accomodation of our toddler. Whenever we go to Taos, Hacienda del Sol is our preferred destination.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jour195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at Hacienda del Sol. The Inn is a traditional Taos structure; each room is unique and decorated in Taos style. It had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever stayed in. The surroundings are wonderful - mountains make a beautiful backdrop. Breakfast was delicious. We were there the night before Valentine's day, and were offered a special package of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, which was a nice surprise for my husband. We would certainly return here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kensue4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,236 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,286 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
1.5 mi away
Palacio de Marquesa
Palacio de Marquesa
#7 of 23 in Taos
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £135 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos
Hacienda Del Sol Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing