We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful Grounds”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, CO
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful Grounds”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

What I liked most about Hacienda del Sol was the beauty and serentity of the grounds. They say that Taos Mountain is their backyard and it does kiss the sky and touch the beautiful garden behind the property. There are many lovely fllowers and wonderful old cottonwoods to provide shade so that the garden which is quite spacious is a wonderful place to find a cool oasis even in the heat of the afternoon. We were in the Adobe Room which is charming but on the smaller side. There is a nice patio in front but on a return I would prefer a room that opened out into the garden.
Breakfasts were good with 2 choices either sweet or protein, the service was excellent and there was ample room for those like my husband and I who prefer to remain solitary during the meal. I am a lap swimmer so the ability to use the pool at the nearby Health Club was a wonderful option. Cookies and Lemonade appear mid afternoon, another nice treat. I definitely recommend Hacienda del Sol for a romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLovers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    46
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
91
333
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

great hosts and fabulous surrounding highly recommend it penominal breakfast

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fasteddie102536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

A friend and I took our adult daughters to Taos and Santa Fe for their June birthdays. We had a wonderful stay at Hacienda Del Sol and wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was amazing. Rooms were totally charming. Staff was first class. Location great. Not one single negative from any of the four of us.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suetvlnut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The place was absolutely beautiful! Next time we're in Taos, we're booking at least a couple of nights here. We stayed in the Rio Grand room; the fireplace was romantic and the bed was fabulously comfortable! OH and the breakfast in the morning--Delicious! What made this place even more unique were our hosts and the breathtaking views!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjuoorpdpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

6/13/2010
We visited Taos for several days this past week and stayed at Hacienda del Sol. It was a wonderful trip and Hacienda del Sol was perfect in every way. The owner and staff were truly dedicated to making our stay fun and rewarding. There's no need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomthompson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA.
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

When we pulled off the main road and went down a little lane and saw Hacienda del Sol, I gave my husband of 30 years a big kiss and thanked him for finding us such a beautiful inn. It has astounding, unobstructed views of Taos Mountain from everywhere on the property. The rooms were beautiful, the breakfasts were fantastic, the total ambiance was amazing. They even have fireplaces in the rooms! The owners and staff were welcoming and helpful and made us feel like valued guests in their home.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank All-Over-The-World82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The rooms and grounds were beautiful and romantic, with the view of Taos mountain, so special. Gerd and his son were wonderful hosts, and breakfast each morning was not only delicious, but accompanied by meetings with friendly and interesting people. As close to a perfect stay as we could have wanted,

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Property: Hacienda del Sol
Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos
Hacienda Del Sol Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing