We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada de Taos B&B
Ranked #10 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you have dogs, you will find an excellent semiprivate courtyard attached to a couple of the rooms--and a new friend in the form of Grayson, the innkeepers' dog, who played with ours every chance he got. We stayed at La Posada de Taos just before Christmas, which is a big deal in Taos. The place looked really nice decorated for Christmas and felt like a stay in your relatives' home, the ones with good taste and the budget to carry it out. You could tell that special attention had been paid to the beds; they had a very high thread count (I'm guessing maybe even 1500?) and the mattress was pillowy-soft. I had my best nights of sleep on our multi-stop trip in their bed. The breakfasts were good and the innkeepers were humble (one runs the local Chamber of Commerce, but you'd never know it) and very intelligent/fun to talk to. I'd definitely go back.

One minus--the previous review about the béchamel sauce was accurate. Everything else we ate was fantastic, though, especially the green chile/egg concoction that the sauce accompanied.

Room Tip: The Buetler (pronounced "Butler") room was kitted out in classic New Mexico style, feature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

I loved this place. Very quiet yet close to everything. You can walk to the plaza and many restaurants. You must follow the recommendations for restaurants, they are in the know! The room was very nice and the bed was super comfy.

Room Tip: The La Casa room is very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This lovely bed and breakfast is a short walk from the main square in Taos. The rooms are large and clean. The inn was originally a private home and the common areas are warm, welcoming and well-appointed. The room we stayed in had a sitting area with a kiva fireplace set up to go. The inn keepers are lovely, and accommodating, offering helpful advice regarding the area, providing a lovely breakfast as well as afternoon snacks and being available without being intrusive in any way. It was like having our own private home in Taos. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peregrinator13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were disappointed with our stay here.
Breakfast was served in only one sitting at 8:30 a.m. Unless you arrange a week in advance for “special dietary needs,” everyone gets the same thing. For example, one breakfast was a small-medium plate of melon pieces with one blackberry in the middle, two baked eggs that were very hard inside topped with a truly forgettable béchamel sauce, a muffin, two pieces of odd-tasting sausage, and juice and coffee. The other breakfast was two pieces of a strange sort of bacon, French toast, the small melon bowl, and juice and coffee. My guess is the per-person budget was $3 or lower. The afternoon “snacks” were a plate of cookies; I had a bet with my husband they were store-bought. The only reason he thought they weren’t wasn’t because they were terrific, but because some were raised slightly higher than others.
The hotel’s policy with housekeeping is it’s right after breakfast. Uh, why? Usually people appreciate going to their room for a bit after breakfast. When the housekeeper appeared at our room she informed us that she had already cleaned all the other rooms and was leaving, and was there anything we required. I was very surprised so asked her if it was customary for her to clean rooms. She said it was, so I suggested to my husband that we step out so she could at least make the bed, but he just said to forget it because he thought it was obvious she was attempting to leave. We were amused to hear later she said exactly the same thing to another couple. At any rate, this makes zero sense. Why doesn’t housekeeping clean all rooms after checkout, which I think is 11 a.m.? That way guests would be less likely to be inconvenienced as they’d probably be elsewhere, and their rooms would get cleaned.
We stayed in the La Casa, which is the separate unit. While the main building is very nicely decorated and quite attractive, this apartment was almost as bland as a chain motel room. It had an extremely small sitting room with a fireplace and tiny loveseat angled in. A fire would have been great, but cramming both of us in front of it would have been uncomfortable. That place needs a sofa against the wall with something to put your feet on, and I would think something could be found that would be more comfortable and yet not catch on fire. Like I said, small room! The bedroom had a king bed crammed in with very little room around it. The tub, advertised for two, will need your imagination to make that happen.
I hope this B&B’s management doesn’t reply to this review by saying we stayed there when they weren’t very busy, and that’s why everything was so disappointing. My thinking is with tax, our room was $250 a night. That’s not cheap. To be competitive, La Posada needs to always provide excellent food, service, and ambience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank treeforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaosBandBLover, General Manager at La Posada de Taos B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thanks for the review. Your disappointment is our disappointment since our focus is always on the guest experience first and foremost. Had we known any of your complaints while you were here, we would have tried to address them immediately. Our standards of care do not vary by time of year or by the number of guests staying with us. Your experience clearly being so far outside the norm from our standards provides us with important learning and training opportunities and is making us reconsider whether to accept reservations from 3rd Party Booking engines like the one you used.

Your review primarily concerns us because you booked your stay through a third party booking engine that never provided you with basic details about our property such as the fact that we do not take bookings that check in on Thanksgiving Day or that we all share breakfast as we have for over 30 years with great success in our 6-room B&B. With a staff of one, we’re simply unable to provide routine check-in services on Thanksgiving Day when we’re also scheduled to be with family. The booking engine you used violated that policy when it allowed you to book a stay beginning on Thanksgiving. There appeared to be several other problems with that 3rd party when your credit card didn’t process and we were unable to contact you because the service you used claimed they had no record of your reservation -- this after we spent hours on the phone with them trying to obtain your information and then to redirect you to hotel-type property where they have large numbers of staff on Thanksgiving Day. We have no control over such sites and their inability to correctly convey even the most basic information about us to you or about you to us, or to even acknowledge they had booked one of our rooms to you in advance leaves a bad taste in everyone's mouths.

As to the housekeeping issue, we’re confident that this was a result of a simple misunderstanding. In the highly unusual situation when a guest has chosen to remain in their room for several hours after breakfast rather than leave the property, Jeanette asks whether they need anything before she leaves for the day. Adhering to the highest standard in our industry, the answers to that question are then relayed to the Innkeeper so that any matters she was unable to address could be handled later. She wasn't asking you to leave so she could leave, she was simply trying to address your needs and then relay any unanswered needs to us. She'll be heartbroken that you misunderstood her intentions to provide you with anything less than great service.

We are sincerely sorry that you were not 100% satisfied and wish we could have discussed these matters while you were here. Because Expedia cannot share your information with us, we hope that we can establish contact with you and get some details as to your other discomforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The innkeepers were friendly and helpful with ideas of things to do and places to eat. The room was comfortable with a kiva fireplace. This was most welcome on a very cold weekend in Taos.The breakfasts are excellent with homemade granola, baked goods and a hot meal as well . The location very close to the Plaza made walking everywhere in town very easy.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house can't be beat. Easy access to a spacious and comfortable living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

For four nights we called this B&B our home. The hosts, Brett and Michael, could not have done any more to make us feel welcome. I chose this inn because of it's history and proximity to the plaza. The rooms are beautiful, with their own kiva fireplaces that added to the ambience. The private courtyards are nice and the quietness of the neighborhood was wonderful. Every morning you wake up to the smell of coffee and know that Chef Michael is at work on another masterpiece. We walked every night to dinner and enjoyed "getting lost" before finding our restaurant of choice. I enjoyed all the shops and galleries. See you guys next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cutie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our all-too-brief stay in Taos was made more enjoyable and far more interesting because we had chosen to stay at La Posada de Taos. Accolades offered by other travelers were right on target. Our room at the lovely, historic B&B included a wonderful kiva fireplace which took the chill off the cool fall evening. Breakfasts were creative and delicious and Michael obligingly accommodated a slightly restricted diet. We enjoyed sharing ideas and experiences with fellow guests at the morning's family-style table where our innkeeper shared insights into local events, sightseeing and places to eat. Brad's recommendation for a stop at the Veteran's Memorial at Angel Fire and his arranging dinner reservations at Antonio's were highlights we might never have discovered on our own. Being in Taos over Halloween was an unexpected bonus; imaginative costumes worn by both adults and children reflected the character of this creative arts community. We were fortunate to have planned our trip when it was possible to visit Taos Pueblo, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, a continuously inhabited community approximately 1000 years old. If at all possible, tour the Pueblo with one of the local guides; Cesario, our knowledgeable young guide added immeasurably to our understanding of both the history of and present-day life at the Pueblo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summersailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on La Loma Plaza
0.3 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Taos B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Taos B&B

Address: 309 Juanita Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6978
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £104 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada de Taos B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taos' First B&B is centrally located just 2 blocks west of Taos Plaza, an easy walk to dozens of restaurants, galleries, shops and live music venues. Our full multi-course breakfast is served each morning to all our guests with no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Posada de Taos B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Taos B&B New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing