We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful relaxing Taos style home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #5 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My sister and I were looking for a relaxing, quiete home while crossing America. Being thanksgiving we thought that our chances would be limited, but we were delighted when Tim (the host) answered our e mail and our phone call. An old home totally renovated with great respect to the Taos style was awaiting for us. Our room Queen, was beautifully decorated and furnished. We had a fire place, desk, coach with a large bathroom, Mexican style.
Breakfast was all natural with home made cereals, muffins, yogurt (and more) served in a charming and cozy dining room.
Our hosts were attentive to our needs, kind, warm and definitively have a very interesting historic background running Old Taos.
We definitively recommend this wonderful historical B&B.

Room Tip: They are 10 rooms. We had Queen. It was very very quiet, sunny in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

What a delightful B&B in a gorgeous setting with views of Taos Mountain to the north and pastureland to the south! With roots in the nineteenth century, the Old Taos Guesthouse is listed in the State Register of Cultural Properties, which recognizes and honors significant historic resources in New Mexico. So, watch your head on the low doorways, stay warm or cool within 20-inch thick adobe walls, and enjoy the historic acequias (irrigation ditches) that run throughout the property. If you need a TV, be sure to ask which rooms are equipped.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Room #9 in the oldest section of the U-shaped complex. What better way to fall asleep than in a comfy bed with a gas kiva fireplace in the corner and a gentle rain audible on the roof – waking to a lovely dusting of snow in early November. A delicious homemade breakfast and good coffee was an added bonus, and you’re only a mile or so from downtown Taos. Thanks to Tim and Leslie for another relaxing and enjoyable stay! We’ll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We needed a weekend away. We live in Albuquerque and it was "balloon fiasco" weekend, so we eagerly searched for a bed a breakfast that would give us solace from the crowds, a nice long drive and a place to retreat. We quickly found many accommodations were booked, but magically, there was one B&B, the Old Taos Guesthouse.

It's hard to tell, especially after reading review after review, what you will really get. "Did this one have a hot tub?" my partner asked. I did not remember.

We drove through Taos plaza and noted the scores of tourists dotting the side walks and streets. I secretly hoped we were not staying on the Plaza. To my delight we turned from the main drag, drove a few miles out of town (5 minutes at most) and pulled into the Old Taos Guesthouse. I was in love at first site. The property is beautiful. The Innkeeper, exceptionally friendly, greeted us by name, showed us around and asked if we were knitters. Turns out everyplace was booked due to the Taos Wool Festival being held in town! We really were lucky to find a place.

And more perfect place could not be found. Hot tub? check! Delicious homemade breakfast? yum! Comfy, quite room, breathtaking sunset view, hand carved doors and antique decor? yes, yes and yes. Tim and Leslie won't brag about it, but their hard work and care have turned this property into a lovely hide away and many of the other folks staying the night were regulars and repeat customers!

Many thanks for the much needed respite and hope to stay again someday soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda33_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I gave the Inn an average (3) because there was really nothing special about it - but it was pleasant enough to ALMOST be rated 'very good.". I think my review might be colored by my disappointment with Taos. I was expecting something like a rustic Santa Fe and instead found it to be an aged hippie, down-on-her-heels kind of town. Maybe we just didn't go to the right places. At any rate, we kind of felt the same way about the Old Taos Inn. There was nothing wrong with it, but nothing that impressed us either. Tim was very pleasant and helpful, the bfast was quite good, the room was a decent size if rather dark and a bit warm with no a/c. Oh - and it was entertaining to sit outside with (or without) a glass of wine and watch the prairie dogs and chickens. All in all, it was a good value, considering the distance to downtown and the quality of our room but nothing to rave about.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the octagon window near the back gate and without a/c, it was quite warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taosena, Owner at Old Taos Guesthouse B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We're sorry that your opinion of Taos was reflected in our Inn review. Perhaps a longer stay than one night would have revealed the beautiful side of our world and why travelers, artists and outdoor enthusiasts love it here. We are very devoted to our guests/B&B and we're glad that you found us a good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having traveled to Taos many times we decided to stay at a new location & found this exceptional B&B. A few miles outside of town, the Old Taos Guesthouse is a keeper. Excellent, plentiful breakfasts, welcoming hosts Tim & Leslie & of course Dusty & Layla. The Taos Suite is by far the largest B&B room that we've ever stayed in & we enjoyed every minute of it. Built a warming fire, cooked leftovers in the kitchen area, opened a bottle of New Mexico wine & relaxed in comfort one evening. Grounds are beautiful as are the views. Helpful hint - have a small flashlight handy as it's really dark at night if you're not in the path of the light sensor.

Room Tip: The Taos Suite is HUGE but has no TV if you need one. Walk in shower & for those who like a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hosts Tim & Leslie friendly & share knowledge of the area. Can't beat the breakfasts. Relaxing, wind down communal hot tub in lovely rear yard. Great sunset view. Sunset suite w/2 bdrms, living w/fireplace, TV, internet & equipped kitchen nice to come home to but couches need replacing (not comfy). Very clean inside and out with perfect SW feel during end Sept. 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Our suite was beautiful, had all the comforts of home. The room was spotless. The owners were so friendly, - they provided everything we needed before we could ask! I would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacytormey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,247 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
542 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Taos
1,293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Taos Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Taos Guesthouse B&B

Address: 1028 Witt Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7030
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: £127 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 180 year old hacienda lovingly restored an a rise overlooking Taos. Only a 5 minute drive from the Taos Plaza. We are laid back, friendly & outdoor enthusiasts with extensive knowledge of the area. Situated on 7.5 acres with great sunset views & starlit hot tub. Beautiful suites & cozy rooms with hand carved doors, Mexican tile, fireplaces, skylights & homemade breakfasts. Families welcome &a pets allowed in certain rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Taos Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Taos Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Old Taos Guesthouse Hotel Taos
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing