We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Choice In Taos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #5 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice In Taos”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful owners and a good breakfast made memorable because the owners invite local musicians to eat and play. Our room had a very comfortable king bed and a gas fireplace - very cozy.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: An upgrade from the lowest cost room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gakpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    31
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
172
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was my second stay at the Old Taos Guest House. Both stays were fantastic. Convenient location, but away from the tourist part of Taos. The property is beautiful, well maintained and feels very authentic. Rusty (the dog) is friendly and will be happy to accompany you on your walks around the property.

We really like this place. We'll be back.

Room Tip: I've stayed in both the Sunrise Suite and the Sunset Suite - both are excellent choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Jefe_Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Before my stay at the Old Taos Guest house I didn't think it was possible to feel so warm and comfortable in a place that wasn't my home. I visited Taos earlier this December. White blanketed the earth. Its was an artful cove of peace and comfort. After sitting under the stars in the hot tub I ran through the snow to a warm room and was cradled in a soft bed.The architecture is elegant and charming. I could see the snowy mountains when I peaked through my window in the morning. Its locally owned and local artist display there paintings, pottery, and handmade instruments. In the morning a local, organic and very tasty breakfast was was served, to live music. Every piece of furniture every nick nac was beautiful and reflected the unique style of New Mexico. Its not like going to a hotel that's just like any other of its kind all over the country. You could only find a place this special in Taos. Its personal and an experience in and of itself and went beyond accommodating my needs and wants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noracostley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Old Taos Guesthouse has been open and operating for over 25yrs, and it shows! With all the little ascetic details you'll find around the compound, it feels just like the love built into this B&B overflows right into your heart and makes for a wonderful and comfortable stay. the rooms are super cozy, with fireplaces, adobe walls make for a quite visit. they have animal friendly rooms available upon request and carpeted rooms for those with little ones. Hot tub and Frisbee golf for your recreational pleasure. located just 1 mile from the busy main road through town Old Taos Guest house is the perfect get away for those who can appreciate soft corners, warm wood carvings, and hand woven wool rugs, a "real classic" SW gem. Old Taos Guest House really has it all, nice house keepers, good coffee/tea, clean rooms, hot water, soft beds. there is no place i would rather stay in Taos, NM. Make sure to go visit if you plan to stay while enjoying the galleries, Taos Ski Valley, or just passing through.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon city
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My sister and I were looking for a relaxing, quiete home while crossing America. Being thanksgiving we thought that our chances would be limited, but we were delighted when Tim (the host) answered our e mail and our phone call. An old home totally renovated with great respect to the Taos style was awaiting for us. Our room Queen, was beautifully decorated and furnished. We had a fire place, desk, coach with a large bathroom, Mexican style.
Breakfast was all natural with home made cereals, muffins, yogurt (and more) served in a charming and cozy dining room.
Our hosts were attentive to our needs, kind, warm and definitively have a very interesting historic background running Old Taos.
We definitively recommend this wonderful historical B&B.

Room Tip: They are 10 rooms. We had Queen. It was very very quiet, sunny in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

What a delightful B&B in a gorgeous setting with views of Taos Mountain to the north and pastureland to the south! With roots in the nineteenth century, the Old Taos Guesthouse is listed in the State Register of Cultural Properties, which recognizes and honors significant historic resources in New Mexico. So, watch your head on the low doorways, stay warm or cool within 20-inch thick adobe walls, and enjoy the historic acequias (irrigation ditches) that run throughout the property. If you need a TV, be sure to ask which rooms are equipped.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Room #9 in the oldest section of the U-shaped complex. What better way to fall asleep than in a comfy bed with a gas kiva fireplace in the corner and a gentle rain audible on the roof – waking to a lovely dusting of snow in early November. A delicious homemade breakfast and good coffee was an added bonus, and you’re only a mile or so from downtown Taos. Thanks to Tim and Leslie for another relaxing and enjoyable stay! We’ll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We needed a weekend away. We live in Albuquerque and it was "balloon fiasco" weekend, so we eagerly searched for a bed a breakfast that would give us solace from the crowds, a nice long drive and a place to retreat. We quickly found many accommodations were booked, but magically, there was one B&B, the Old Taos Guesthouse.

It's hard to tell, especially after reading review after review, what you will really get. "Did this one have a hot tub?" my partner asked. I did not remember.

We drove through Taos plaza and noted the scores of tourists dotting the side walks and streets. I secretly hoped we were not staying on the Plaza. To my delight we turned from the main drag, drove a few miles out of town (5 minutes at most) and pulled into the Old Taos Guesthouse. I was in love at first site. The property is beautiful. The Innkeeper, exceptionally friendly, greeted us by name, showed us around and asked if we were knitters. Turns out everyplace was booked due to the Taos Wool Festival being held in town! We really were lucky to find a place.

And more perfect place could not be found. Hot tub? check! Delicious homemade breakfast? yum! Comfy, quite room, breathtaking sunset view, hand carved doors and antique decor? yes, yes and yes. Tim and Leslie won't brag about it, but their hard work and care have turned this property into a lovely hide away and many of the other folks staying the night were regulars and repeat customers!

Many thanks for the much needed respite and hope to stay again someday soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda33_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.1 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,211 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Taos Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Taos Guesthouse B&B

Property: Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
Address: 1028 Witt Rd, Taos, NM 87571-7030
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 180 year old hacienda lovingly restored an a rise overlooking Taos. Only a 5 minute drive from the Taos Plaza. We are laid back, friendly & outdoor enthusiasts with extensive knowledge of the area. Situated on 7.5 acres with great sunset views & starlit hot tub. Beautiful suites & cozy rooms with hand carved doors, Mexican tile, fireplaces, skylights & homemade breakfasts. Families welcome &a pets allowed in certain rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Taos Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Taos Guesthouse Hotel Taos
Old Taos Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing