We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orinda Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Fayotto suite (bedroom, bathroom, and private living room). Located just outside of town, it is secluded, quiet, and peaceful, yet a short drive into town. There was a magpie nest in the tree just outside our private entrance and a prairie dog town and horses in the fields between the house and Taos Mountain. The view of Taos Mountain is breathtaking. It was clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The price was very reasonable. Both John and Catherine (and their two dogs) were delightful hosts...very freindly and engaging, they are like old friends after just a short stay. John is a great chef...the breakfasts were to die for. We would highly recommend the Orinda for your stay in Taos.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in the Taos Mountain Room and it was awesome! It had the best mountain view in Taos, a kiva gas fireplace, huge bathroom, balcony, and comfy bed! The breakfast is amazing! John is a wonderful chef with decades of experience! Cathryn is an awesome hostess and makes you feel like part of the family! I highly recommend this b&b which is off the beaten path and yet still walking distance to the plaza and all the shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Call John (the owner) and ask his advice based on your specific needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2011

In response to the "one" post about the B&B not being great. I would give the new owners a break, they just bought the B&B and there was a new road coming in.. John was an exceptional chef, world class. The location is excellent, close to the shopping and easy to get to every sight one can imagine. Taos is low keyed and a great beauty to experience. Everyone is very friendly. We decided to stay 11 days in the B&B and if you like feeling at home, viewing a mountain, you will love this place. Carolyn was a great hostess and does pottery herself and is quite talented. I don't eat eggs but John had me eating eggs they were outstanding. Listening to his "chef" experience was quite an education.
Both hosts sent us on travels to enjoy the beauty of Taos and to the reasonable but great chefs in the area. Carolyn made fresh apple pie and brownies as a treat. Just can't say enough about our stay at Orinda and how much our hosts did to make our stay so great. The living area is beautiful as is the art work in the home. We had free reign in the home and I even learned how to make quiche.
We choose a rustic room with a patio overlooking the mountain and it was excellent. The weather is always sunshine about 300 days of the year but in the 40's so dry it felt like 60. I don't expect much heat for airconditioning but maybe some days. It's country, scenes, rustic, outdoor activities that gets one to view Taos and New Mexico. It was a bucket list dream and Orinda owners gave us a great trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiester. Corner upstairs have a great jacuzzi but middle upstairs has a balcony. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McPherson, Kansas, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Visited Taos in September. We stayed at the Orinda in the Fayotto room. Would recommend the Orinda to anyone for a very pleasant stay in Taos. Very clean, beautifully decorated, reasonably priced, lots of ambiance, quiet and secluded, yet close enough to the plaza to walk. John is an exceptional chef and he and Carolyn are perfect hosts and helpful in making reservations for tours, restaurants, etc. and information for same. We had everything we needed as well as a constant supply of teas, coffees, snacks, cookies. Also enjoyed the dogs, Chaco and Katie.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed in the Taos Mountain room. Great view of the mountain and surrounding ranch lands. John and Cathryn are very friendly, helpful and gracious. Very good breakfast. Very easy walk to the plaza and restaurants. The common area is very cozy and inviting. Loved the house dogs, Chaco and Katie! Overall, a very nice B&B. With a little work on the grounds and some updating this could be a gem.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markwsheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I spent a week in Orinda for a workshop in Taos. It was perfect. Very reasonable price, wonderful breakfasts, super clean bedroom, close to the center while very quiet and serene feeling of the country. They have a full view of the mountains and a huge patio where you can relax. I stayed in the Fyotto room. The adobe kept the room very cool in the middle of August.
I like the variety of teas they have available all day and the cookies and pastries John bakes for their guests. They also have available a fridge where I kept my lunches. The common area is very large, welcoming, comfortable and has everything. John and Cathryn offered a very warm service and hope to come back with my family or better yet, just my husband and I. Wonderful place. Thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are cool, some with nice patio view and another with mountain view. Rooms upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I stayed at Orinda for an extended week visit and the atmosphere there is very relaxed and secluded. It feels kind of like you're living within a wildlife refuge with all the prairie dogs, magpies, hummingbirds, and the spectacular full open view of Taos Mountain to the northeast.

A great location to be based while visiting Taos... just a few minutes walk from downtown, yet seemingly out of the way and secluded. John's cooking is superb, with his past experience as a professional chef shining through. John and Catheryn are quite knowledgeable and helpful with any questions about the local area and are happy to share.

Overall a pleasant, welcoming and relaxing experience... would recommend Orinda to anyone passing through the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openroading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda del Sol
Hacienda del Sol
#4 of 23 in Taos
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Worldmark by Wyndham Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orinda Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orinda Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orinda Bed and Breakfast
Address: 461 Valverde St, Taos, NM 87571-6699
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orinda Bed And Breakfast Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing