We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners need to take a lesson in "manners."”
Review of Touchstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Touchstone Inn
Ranked #20 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Owners need to take a lesson in "manners."”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed five nights at Inn taking a workshop. My room had the trash taken out once during my visit per my request. My bedsheets were never changed nor room straightened. I bought paper towels for room because only paper available was toilet paper. The room had no AC and screen door could not be locked. The hosts were not only unwelcoming but downright hostile especially Brad. The size of room was adequate for two and closet space was generous. I see many favorable ratings for this Inn and am astounded. I rarely write reviews and this is my FIRST negative review. I would have ignored any problems with this place had the hosts been halfway pleasant. I think being nice takes care of a lot of inconsequential problems--too bad Brad and Amber haven't learned this lesson.

Room Tip: Request upper balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwatchingwoman, Owner at Touchstone Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
In a workshop environment the protocols set up between the presenter and the inn prevail - daily housekeeping, in the case of a workshop is an extra charge, of which this guest chose not to take advantage. Participants of workshops stay at a reduced room rate with the option to have housekeeping or not. It is unfortunate that this was not communicated by the presenter and I am sorry for the inconvenience this guest experienced. Clash of personalities often get in the way of a good inn experience and we apologize for any bad behavior experienced by you. .As owner, I assure you that we strive to make our guests welcome and well served; to that end, we now have new innkeepers and plans for new workshops on the horizon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    13
    3
    6
    11
See reviews for
13
63
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We just returned from a week long trip to Santa Fe and Taos, New Mexico. We spent four lovely nights at a B&B (Casa Cuma) in Santa Fe and then drove to Taos for the last three nights.

For the last three evenings of our trip we stayed at the Touchstone Inn in the D.H. Lawrence room. We have stayed at 16 B&B’s from Maine to Vancouver to Hawaii and have a lot of experience staying in different bed and breakfasts. There are 3 factors that make a B&B a wonderful place to stay on vacation. Those factors include the 1. beauty of the property/room; 2. friendliness/helpfulness of the hosts; 3. the quality of the breakfast. The Touchstone Inn failed to deliver on all three levels as I will describe below.

After reading the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor and looking at the website, the inn seemed to have several things going for it: the professional chef owners, the view of the mountains and the spa.

Quote from the website:
“The Taos spa offers massage, yoga, facials, and therapeutic baths and wraps. Guests enjoy choice vistas of Taos Mountain looking out upon Taos Pueblo lands and walking the Labyrinth in meditation where one stops in contemplation gazing upon Taos Pueblo mountain tops.”

We were not offered to purchase any spa services while there and learned that the owners call someone from an outside service to deliver any of these advertised treatments. Therefore, they should NOT call themselves a “spa.”

There is NO VIEW of the Taos mountains from the back of the property. The mountains are TOTALLY obscured from view by trees and foliage. The mountain view is listed as selling point for this inn which is very misleading. At the entrance to the property the grounds are weed covered, dusty, and neglected. There is no effort made at landscaping this property. The “Labyrinth” meditation circle is overgrown with weeds as well.

The breakfasts, were a big disappointment, considering that both hosts are professionally trained chefs. For breakfast there was coffee, tea, orange juice(good),and cranberry juice available. There was no fresh fruit served. The breakfasts were one course and not very tasty.

Quote from the website:
“Our breakfasts are two course meals that will pamper you and get you ready for your day in Taos.”

Day 1 – very dry blueberry pancakes w/two small sausages and lemon sauce. We had to ask for butter and maple syrup to make them edible.
Day 2 – an egg dish with raspberry sauce and dry toast (no bacon or sausage)
Day 3 – 2 slices of pumpkin bread (I think homemade) very dry with a cranberry sauce and cranberries (no bacon or sausage)

The D.H. Lawrence room is on the ground floor of the hotel and has a sliding glass door entrance which also serves as the only window in the room. Once in the room it was apparent that it had not been updated in a very long time. The room was in serious need of a paint job, had black lacquer lion’s head bed frame and old sheep skin rug draped across the chair. In addition there were two rugs hung on the walls which themselves were fine; however, one rug to the right of the fireplace obscured a door that had a large piece of white cardboard stapled to the lower half of the door. The door opened onto a small bedroom. The other rug was hung in an alcove and hid a pink mattress that was tied to hide a set of double doors. When it fell down two days into our stay we found that its purpose was to muffle the noise from the icemaker on the other side of the double doors.

The other noticeable thing about the accommodation was that no soap for the shower or tissues were provided. There were two bottles of SoftSoap brand supermarket soap on the two sinks in the bathroom area.

We also read the information notebook in our room which revealed some odd information. The notebook indicated that 1. Taos in on a fragile power grid and if the power goes out to take the flashlight on the wall and meet the owners in the living room. 2. There are stray/feral dogs and cats in Taos and we should not approach them if we encounter them on the property(we appreciated the warning) 3. Certain rooms (ours) are equipped with a “panic” button in the event of an emergency. Thankfully, there were two of us staying in the room together, for a single woman staying alone, this would have, I think, been very unnerving to say the least. Since the sliding glass door is your only means of fresh air, there is a security chain that you can lock so that you can keep the door open about 5 inches for air.

We did not express our feelings about our room, food or stay to the hosts, but oddly enough, Brad, one of the hosts apologized for the condition of our room and said it is the only one that has not been updated, because, it’s the most popular and people always reserve it. Since the inn appeared to have only 3 guests the first night and no other people staying there, why not offer to put us in one of the other “updated rooms” so that we would have a nicer stay and experience? As owners of a B&B your first consideration should be the quality of your guest’s stay and experience.

The final factor that we have to comment upon was the lack of warmth, friendliness or helpfulness on the part of both hosts. Neither Brad nor Amber seemed to be suited to interacting with guests. They were not particularly engaging or helpful. The oddest example of this came when we asked Brad about whether the Taos Pueblo had a feast day and dancing on June 12 as we had read in a magazine in the room. His response, was “ I don’t know, “they” (meaning the Taos Pueblo people) don’t tell us what they do”. Then Amber came out with a magazine and incorrectly told us that the next feast day was in a few weeks. Considering that the property backs up to the Taos Pueblo, it's a primary tourist attraction in Taos, and his wife’s family has ties to the pueblo, we thought his response was strange and indifferent.

We did enjoy Taos otherwise. We had a lovely dinner at Sabroso’s in Arroyo Seco, hiked in the Carson National Forest, visited the moving Vietnam Veteran’s museum/memorial in Angel Fire and enjoyed dinner at Orlando’s restaurant. Also, the Taos Visitor’s center has an excellent supply of information, maps and brochures for the entire state of New Mexico.

In closing, we would definitely NOT recommend staying at the Touchstone Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dil02231994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwatchingwoman, Manager at Touchstone Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Typically, we do not respond to reviews ... good or poor. But in this case we would like to reiterate that when asked how things were from room to food we were told -- with a smile -- that everything was "fine" or "great". As far as us being friendly, we are and were, but the male in the party made my wife feel so uncomfortable due to the degree of ogling that she experienced that she requested I not leave her alone with the gentleman in any room or on any part of the property. No, we don't know all of the goings on in Taos and Taos Pueblo is its own sovereign nation and although an event may be posted (which there was no event on June 12th) they may, can, will, and have closed their gates to the public. The Lawrence has not been undated yet, I pointed that out, apologized, and they said that was “fine.” If they had actually said that they were disappointed prior to posting it on Tripadvisor then we certainly would have moved them to an available room on the back side of the property with a view of Taos Mountain (this is commonly our practice when we know a guest preference).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Highly recommended. Walking distance to everything, but the B and B is on spacious and beautiful grounds so you don't feel like you are close to downtown. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. We spent a lot of time in the comfortable living room. Breakfast was creative and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Brad and Amber are spectacular!! We were married there and they made all the plans for us. It was so special. We will be returning for our anniversary next year. Thanks for making our day special.

The room was awesome as well along with the atmosphere and the breakfasts. They know how to take care if their guests!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rweiser12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice size bathroom (two sinks, which made things much easier). Brad made us two wonderful breakfasts. I had contacted him prior to our arrival to let him know about a food issue with my husband and Brad was more than willing to accommodate him. They were delicious, and filling breakfasts. We would definitely recommend the Touchstone Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The bed was extremely warm, comfortable and clean. We had everything we needed and everyone was kind and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Taos Pizza Outback andThe Love Apple are within walking distance and very good. A long walk or short drive takes you to Taos Plaza full of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nssn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have stayed at many B&B's in Taos and this for us is by far the finest. The Inn's keepers Brad and Amber are excellent hosts and both talented chefs, homemade bacon, sausage and baked goods with soufflé or omelet, what a treat. Touchstone, the Inn and the grounds are lovely. Our room was authentic with furnishings and Kiva fireplace and beautiful Taos art. The entire Inn is graced with beautiful works by Bren Price, Amber's mother renowned Taos artist. Brad & Amber suggested several places to dine and were helpful with local activities. No place to improve, Taos perfection for our get away. Will return soon!

Room Tip: Be sure to have a room with a wood burning Kiva fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,159 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
0.7 mi away
Worldmark by Wyndham Taos
1.3 mi away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touchstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Inn

Property: Touchstone Inn
Address: 110 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Touchstone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded inn close to everything Taos! Touchstone is a secluded historic estate at the edge of Taos Pueblo lands. The native peoples consider Touchstone to be medicine land and a place for transformation. Touchstone offers cozy rooms with fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs in most of them. We cater to couples as a romantic getaway and to groups as a retreat center, workshops and weddings. Both USA Today and Fodor's Guide say Touchstone is the #1 place to stay in Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Touchstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Inn Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing