We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Taos!”
Review of Touchstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Touchstone Inn
Ranked #21 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Austin, TX
1 review
“Best B&B in Taos!”
Reviewed 17 May 2009

This secluded retreat, directly in the middle of Taos and bordering Pueblo lands, is serene, rejuvenating and peaceful. The facility, which is one of the last vestiges of old Taos, with its adobe walls dating back over 100 years, is full of original art works by the owners as well by other artists, both in the main part of the inn as well as in the rooms themselves.

There are extensive gardens with mature trees, fountains including a bird refuge, which overlook one of the highest peaks of Sangre Cristo Mountains. Also, there is a labyrinth for walking meditation.

Aesthetically beautiful, Touchstone is warmed by the sun, sacred to the soul, a place to retreat from the every day hectic life.

On top of all of this, the staff is the best!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    13
    4
    6
    12
See reviews for
14
64
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2008

my stay at touchstone was amazing the veiw was wow
people may say things about it but i go to taos almost 4-5 times a year and stay a touchstone and its been the most wonderful palce to go the rooms are nice and comfortable the food is great and the people who work their are extreamly nice i would say its great for any age ive been going their since i was young and i still like going!

  • Liked — the food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2008

It was a great weekend in Taos highlighted by my stay at The Touchstone Inn. Like all the lodging in town, it is just off the main road, but you'd never know it. It is tucked back and secluded amongst trees and is amazingly quiet and peaceful. The rooms are unique and decorated with all the special touch of the artists who own the place, Bren and John. They are both very accomplished painters and sculptors and their art is displayed throughout the inn. The dining areas are personable, cozy, and look out into the courtyard areas in the back surrounded by trees.
The service and food was exceptional with very friendly staff. I appreciated the casual check in and "come as you go" approach to my stay. Bren and John were very friendly and spent time with all the guests personally. If you are staying in Taos, this is a special place and a must stay. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Ambience, quietness, Innkeepers, artwork, casual environment.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StoneColdGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

After searching the web for hours for an artistic and romantic place that didn't cost an arm and a leg, we finally were given a recommendation by a local minister who has performed ceremonies at numerous romantic B&B's in Taos.

We arrived weary from traveling and looking for a peaceful place for some repose. What we found was even better: a beautiful property set nature that exuded art and healing.

Our stay was only a night as we were passing through and originally did not plan on staying in Taos, but that's all it took for us to feel rejuvenated and healed from our hectic and emotional week on the road.

We were treated with true caring and hospitality, something we don't expect from most inns in a town that sees so many people come and go, especially in the high season.

After all the trips to Taos I have made over the years, I have finally found a place to return to that is neither prohibitively expensive nor devoid of character like the chain hotels.

I was stunned how much Bren and John have put of themselves into creating the atmosphere and the art on the property.

The negative reviews were surprising - I can only hope that anyone reading those reviews will make up their own mind and not cheat themselves out of a lovely and authentic local experience.

Also, don't let the "average" price of $232 scare you away. There are rooms with Queen beds starting at $135, which is what we opted for and found it to be an amazing value, considering this was the price we were quoted at something like the Quality Inn!

I don't think I would stay anywhere else in Taos now that I have found this gem of an inn.

  • Liked — The art, atmosphere, architecture and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickRocks
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2008

It was my third trip to Taos, and my first stay at Touchstone. My experience at Touchstone was Awesome!! My room was very clean and cozy. The staff was very friendly and we really enjoyed the food. We will definitely stay at Touchstone everytime we travel to Taos. RB Louisiana

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank RickRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maysville, KY
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We chose the Touchstone due to it being run by an artist and we are so glad we did. I was reluctant to go after reading a couple of bad reviews here, but our stay was nothing short of lovely. The very kind and genuine hosts made for a comfy visit. My boyfriend said as we left, "Touchstone was a Touchdown!" Thanks for the wonderful hospitality, Bren.

Sincerely,

Lauren Brown

  • Liked — The comforts of home and the view.
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maysville_KYQbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Freida Room. The room has not been done over in at least 15 years. Needed new drapes, carpeting and bed linens (pillows too). Glasses in the room were dirty and the bathroom needed to be done over. We spent $220 for a room that should have been $30. The 19 " TV in the room was at least 15-20 years old with a VCR and an old boombox on top for music. The grounds were unkept and gardens were in need of weeding and mulching. We could not even see the labrinth to walk. In the AM the kitchen person was outside our window talking on a cell phone as loud as possible. We went for breakfast at 8:30, the time we were told it was served and sat there for one half hour to be served. Acouple that came in 20 minutes after us was served before us. The food was the worst I have ever had, half a banana, an egg done like a small omlette with fried onion and half a mushroom, a piece of toast with a slab of butter. It was awful! No cereal, yogurt etc.
Our intentions were to use the spa. Not after what we saw! The owner's husband was very cordial to us. The place needs a massive overhaul. What a disappointing anniversary for us.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Totally outdated..no updating for at least 15 years.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RHDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldWatch, Owner at Touchstone Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2007
We are sorry this person had a bad experience for the one night they stayed here. This year in Taos, our spring-summer happened over night - one week it was snowing and the next was our hottest week, so it took us some time to get grounds in order. I have looked at this room and curtains and carpet could use some attention. That the views beyond these curtains are the most spectacular from any room in Taos cannot be denied, but no mention is made of this. We have a new cook and hope this guest will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.9 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.3 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Worldmark by Wyndham Taos
1.0 mi away
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touchstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Inn

Property: Touchstone Inn
Address: 110 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Touchstone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded inn close to everything Taos! Touchstone is a secluded historic estate at the edge of Taos Pueblo lands. The native peoples consider Touchstone to be medicine land and a place for transformation. Touchstone offers cozy rooms with fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs in most of them. We cater to couples as a romantic getaway and to groups as a retreat center, workshops and weddings. Both USA Today and Fodor's Guide say Touchstone is the #1 place to stay in Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Touchstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Inn Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing