We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Southern California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment!”
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Do not stay here. They are in existance because of their affiliation with Best Western and location. Otherwise, they would have changed hands or renovated years ago. Rooms still have strong smoke smell and the electrical is 30's era. Many open electrical switchboxes and sub-par extension cords. Our room was not safe. We left after one night and relocated. Also notified AAA they need to change their rating. They already downgraded it a few years ago but we thought that since it was a Best Western it couldn't be that bad- we were wrong. There are plenty of places to stay in Taos, so go elsewhere. Anybody listening at Best Western?

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthwestPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    89
    73
    99
    120
See reviews for
118
157
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This place may have been good at one time, but it now gives the Best Western chain a very bad name. The room was shabby, dirty, and the door was broken. Half the lights didnt work in the room. The AC was noisy. The advertized specials of food and drink were not recognized by the staff, even when pointed out from their own brochure! Save your money and stay at a place farther away from the plaza but with liveable quarters.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taos hotels

Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Amenities are nice, but my wife and I can be satisfied with a clean room and a comfortable bed. All we had to do was set foot in the building in which our room was located to see what was coming. The window sill at the foot of the second-floor stairs had dead flies all over it. In our room, we found that the bathtub had hairs in it, there was a long black hair on the bed sheet, and dust balls on the baseboard heating registers. We should have left, but we had prepaid for the room, we were very tired after a long day of traveling, and it was late in the evening. I will never book another room without first looking at the tripadvisor reviews!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom05Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2009

This hotel had been recommended by my new in-laws as the place for family coming in from out of town for our son and daughter's wedding on Saturday, the 29th, but after reading some of these reviews, "family" declined the recommendation. However, I (mother of the groom) came into town a week early and went to see the three rooms I'd reserved for my family elsewhere and was terribly disappointed, so went to the Katchina to see for myself. Cheryl, the hospitality manager, was extremely gracious and accommodating and chose lovely rooms for us at a very good price, especially given the late date. The rest of the staff was so friendly, and remembered not only our names, but the bride's and groom's as well. The rooms were large, clean and well kept; if there is any truth to the unfavorable reviews below, we didn't see it. Our experience was memorable, and I would recommend the Katchina to anyone wanting a taste of old Taos, an excellent location, and friendly, personable staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaZeezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2009

First of all, the location is great- close to the plaza, galleries and restaurants. We found the hotel staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful. The grounds were well kept, the rooms were clean and the pool was good-sized and immaculate. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubagirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

This place is in a great location, but you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the room next to you. Everything. And we had no hot water, despite several promises that it would be fixed. Unless you want to bank on extremely quiet neighbors (read: mute) and not shower while you're here, I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

This hotel was certainly not up to par with the Best Western standards. The non-smoking rooms smelled of stale smoke, there was mildew all over the bathroom walls, the carpet looked like it has been there since the 60s (nappy and gross). The breakfast was so pitiful that I decided to provide the 2nd breakfast for my clients in the parking lot. I couldn't believe how stingy the waitresses were - especially their reluctance to fill up the coffee cups! It wasn't even good coffee to begin with! The front desk staff were totally clueless on how to deal with group reservations, so check in and check out were both HUGE hassels for us. I think we would have been better off camping - this was a terrible hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Property: Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Center Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing