We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, Bad, Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bad, Bad, Bad”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

The parking was free. That's about the only good thing about this place. Everything about the room felt dirty. The bed was hard and lumpy. The towels were scratchy. The air conditioner didn't cool the room. The wireless internet didn't work. The exterior of the motel is clean and inviting, but the rooms are old and outdated. We won two free nights there, but forfeited the 2nd night to stay at a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspenglade22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    90
    74
    99
    122
See reviews for
119
158
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

This is your typical ski vacation lodging. It was clean, very large rooms, very freindly staff. Carpet was new. Beds were okay, not the greatest (but not bad). Let's face it, there are no Westin's in the New Mexico mountains. I usually stay at higher end hotels (a lot nicer than this hotel) but I was not disappointed with this hotel at all. A great bargin.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasBeachbum42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Just ended a three night stay at Kachina Lodge in Taos and we'll be going back there. Staff was friendly, it's close to all the shopping and restaurants in Taos and only 30min drive to skiing. The room was a little small, the place is old, but it was clean. Mattress was average. Has a lounge onsite, bartender was nice, they could use an upgrade to their TV's, went to breakfast buffet - $15 for four of us (half price for guests), decent food for the price. Michaels diner across the street is another alternative. Manager let us check out a day early due to blizzard moving into area. Front desk personel were friendly and maid was friendly - gave us extra towels/shampoo. Had a nice time at Kachina and look forward to our next trip to Taos.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotslingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Me my wife and children had to return home to bury my mother. Very difficult time for us all. My mother Winifred passed on March 15, 2010. We stayed at the Best Western Kachina Lodge and had a very pleasant stay considering the circumstances. Very clean hotel, friendly staff, rooms very large and kept clean. Buffets were very satisfying. After the funeral we did alittle hiking, etc. I give this hotel an A.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I had a good two day stay here. The rooms are dated, but cozy and clean. Good Wifi. I requested a ground floor room and was upgraded to a king bed. I didn't try the restuarants, but you get a discount for breakfast and dinner. Friendly staff, free shuttle service, great location. Old but comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MostWinningWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

This hotel came as a surprise to me and I found myself overall satisfied with my one night stay here. The first thing that surprised me was how spacious my room was. There weren't a lot of extras like refrigerators, etc. but for my brief stay... the beds were comfortable and it was clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theabbysinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Staying at the Best Western Kachina Lodge was one of the most pleasurable times I have EVER had on a vacation. Where do I start, Arriving their the Hotel was Older and Very distinguished looking, very quaint, very very nice, and I immediately fell in love with it. The front desk clerks were extremely courteous and it felt like meeting an old friend. They went out of their way to pamper us. After check in, we went to our room. Very nice and spacious. I cannot describe the rooms except by saying that this is a 5 star hotel, Luxurious and Spotless. I just could not get over how clean the place was. I'm a clean freak and they where just above and beyond what I expected. Everything was arranged Just So. Everything we needed at our fingertips. Plenty of room for the kids and privacy for me and my wife. And again I just can't over express how courteous the people were. The front desk staff and housekeeping. These people took such great care of us and the rooms Stayed Spotless. I just can't rave about the housekeepers, People I mean SPOTTLESS, and on top of their game. The skiing was amazing, the views and the mountains. I think I’m going to try and relocate because this place is just beautiful; My wife and kids, we all had a blast. We will never forget this vacation, or this place. If you want the best 5 star hotel and lodge come to the Best Western Kachina Lodge & Meetings Center you will not be disappointed. The Fojtik Family had the time of their lives, we will never forget our experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richardfojtik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
255 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Property: Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Address: 413 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-5907
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Center Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing