We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than expected”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I would have thought more of this hotel from the reviews and being in Taos. Even with the low rate is It was not that good. The room was very outed dated. It looks like they had not done a thorough cleaning in several months. Dust was accumulated behind the night stand and the top of the hair dryer and not been wiped down. The furniture seemed older and worn out. The sheets were of low quality and I questioned the bed spread. The ice machine on the first floor did not work. The carpet in the hall way has seen better days. I was not very happy with the hotel and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelguyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

if you really like travelling and staying in Taos Quality inn, pls be prepared, it can go fine but remember ther's very strange hotel - no shower gel, no shower cap, towels which are not designed to wash yourself after shower - u need at least two - etc etc, so you have to bring all the things with you if you wonna be comfortable, especially be prepared for electricity off - it can happen at any time and affect any side of your life..sorry but i'll never ever again do this
Oh, forgot to mention their restaurant - it looks like the far you from there the less bacterias you get..sorry again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Quality Inn appears to have been one of those 2 story classic Holiday Inns that doesn't meet Holiday Inn's business plan now. Therefore it has a full service restaurant and bar with a nice lobby. Check in was quick and room was excellent. Bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows, microwave and refrigerator, clean bathroom. Sink area was small limiting the area on which to put travel kits and toiletries. Our stay there was fine and the rate in the $60 range was very cheap for Taos. We have stayed there before and will stay there again. The location is on the main road tansversing Taos so it is easy to get in and out of town. There are many good restaurants withing just a few blocks. There is no elevator to the second floor so if you have mobility problems ask for a first floor room. The free breakfast is in the dining room with a very pleasant and efficient staff of waitresses. You have four choices of a breakfast. The one we had was toast ,coffee, orange juice, 2 eggs, 2 strips of bacon and hash browns. A full complete breakfast. The staff here is pleasant, helpful, and efficient. An excellent property all around.

Room Tip: Hotel is back from the road so noise is not a problem but if you have mobility problems and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dispencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The people at the front desk were very nice. Our room was clean but definitely older. The room was on the first floor and we had both a outside door and an inner hall door in our room. The location was good as well. The very nice thing about this hotel is they had a very reasonably priced restaurant in the hotel. This restaurant provided a free breakfast in the morning and you get free soup in the early evening if you are a hotel guest. The breakfast menu provided 4 or 5 different breakfast choices such as French toast, bacon or pancakes and bacon or eggs of choice, hashbrowns, bacon and several other menu choices. Large portions and a great offering with the hotel stay. Nice views of the mountains from this property as well. Priced well too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

At the time of our check in (about 9PM on Monday 9/30/2013), we were greeted by a rather poorly groomed desk clerk who spent much more time interfacing with a computer than with us. We had requested a king size bed, our room had two queen size beds. Sound proofing of the room was non-existent. We were given two green cards for $1 off of one drink at happy hour during our stay. We were told that this was in lieu of the Manager's Reception which continues to be advertised on the web and on the hotel marquee, but it doesn't exist. My guess is that the manager wants to spend as little time as possible at the hotel. Concerning the guest room, it had a drop-tile ceiling, which is never a good sign. The only available outlets in the room were a 4-plug outlet located behind the refrigerator. All four plugs were in use. The refrigerator, the microwave, the alarm clock and the lamp, so it was up to me to choose what I didn't want use so that I could charge my tablet and my phone. Keep in mind that the plug was borderline inaccessible. The bathroom door did not close due to warping. There was no fan in the bathroom, although there was a grill so that it looked like maybe there was a fan. Generally the room was clean. When we went down for the complimentary breakfast, we were served a pot of coffee in a pot that didn't look like it had seen a dishwasher in a year. The wait staff was surly, at best. It was filthy outside and inside. We did not try the coffee and at this point left the breakfast and did not return for the four days we were there. We were in a non-smoking room which reeked of cigarette smoke as did the hallway.

Room Tip: I only saw one room, but my suggestion for helping travelers find a good room would be to find anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife, 11 month old son and I stayed at the Quality Inn Taos in early September 2013. We stayed one night in a king room on the second floor over the welcome desk.

What we liked:
- The Room. The room worked perfectly for us. There was plenty of room for a pack-n-play that wasn't in anybody's way, and generally more than sufficient for our needs. The room had the standard dresser, television, desk/chair, and lounge chair. Our room was even near the staircase and there was no noise issues.
- The Bed. The bed was comfortable and met my wife's requirements of cleanliness. Our room had plenty of pillows of all compactions to choose from.
- The Bathroom. There wasn't anything fancy about the bathroom but is was clean.
- The Breakfast. Our stay came with a hot breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. You get your choice of 4 arranged meals which include items such as eggs, french toast, bacon, sausage, etc.
- The Amenities. There was an outdoor pool with usable hours, and an indoor hot tub. There is a computer near the front desk, and wifi throughout the hotel.
- The Extras. We were given drink tickets for the bar to be used that evening. We did not get to take advantage of this though.
- The Price. This was a great value for the price.

What we didn't care about one way or the other:
- The Location. The hotel is on the south side of town on the main drag and is near some fast food and the visitor's center. It is not close enough to walk to the old town which would have been nice. Not really a big deal to us though.
- The Interior. The furniture seemed a little dated and the color schemes were a little weird. Our room had a lot of purplish/pink going on. Might be a southwest thing.

What we didn't like:
- Nothing.

Misc.
- The Extras. We were given drink tickets for the bar to be used that evening. We did not get to take advantage of this though.

We would highly recommend this hotel to others, and would stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 which is above the welcome desk. It was part of two rooms that were remote fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeindenver_303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Located on a main drag, the Quality Inn in Taos was clean & had a nice, free happy hour snack buffet in the bar with discount drinks. Breakfast was included in the cost of the room. Served in the restaurant, there was a 4 choice menu which worked fine for us. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manna1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.3 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1043 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5969
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn is your choice for a comfortable and affordable stay while visiting the beautiful sights and activities of Taos. With our large outdoor heated pool and hot tub, surrounded by a beautiful courtyard you will be able to relax and take in the view of the mountains while enjoying your complimentary and expansive hot, fresh and healthy breakfast. We take a lot of pride in this hotel and strive to provide the very best service and accommodations for our guests. We hope that you choose Quality Inn for your stay while visiting this wonderfully historic and artistic town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hotel Taos
Quality Inn Taos, New Mexico
Taos Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing