We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still room for improvement”
Review of El Camino Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Camino Lodge
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Durango Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Still room for improvement”
Reviewed 22 February 2010

From the other reviews it seems this hotel is under a new name and new ownership and has improved from its earlier incarnation. The price was right, especially for Taos, and included breakfast, wifi, hot tub, and indoor pool. All of that was true, but there are still some issues.
The beds and bedding appeared new, the carpet also, things were freshly painted, and no bad smells. The room was big, the bathroom was small. The tv was large and flat-screened, but the picture was fuzzy, sort of like watching a 3D movie without the magic glasses.
One remaining issue for the new owner must be the plumbing, which was old and stained and the bathtub/shower drain was sluggish to the point of clogged and obviously had been for a long time. The shower head was at shoulder level on my 5'6" frame so prepare to duck as you shampoo. All of that may take time to fix, but at least they could have properly cleaned the toilet, which had accumulated grime and God knows what around the seat hinge. Ugh.
Wifi did not work at all in our first room. They moved us to another where it seemed to come and go on a whim. Their techie was unable to explain that and implied that it was our computer's problem. But we got great wifi with the same computer as long as we were in the lobby, and occasionally from the room, so I don't think so. There is also a courtesy computer in the lobby for quick email checks, but you have to wait your turn while the staff's children use it.
Breakfast there was, as long as your tastes run to cold cereal and Hostess-brand danish. There was a do-it-yourself waffle iron that makes great waffles but there was only one of it and each waffle takes 2.5 minutes if the operator knows what they're doing. If the guest ahead of you needs instruction, it takes longer. The hotel couldn't have been at more than 50% occupancy but there was a big waffle backlog at rush hour, with guests teaching guests how to do it. If they ever expect to fill the place, they will need at least two more of these and/or a staff person on hand to assist. And some fruit. Orange juice was the closest thing to fruit in evidence. Add some fruit, maybe some individual yogurts, a couple more waffle irons, and the breakfast would be fine.
The hot tub was large and hot, the pool was large and warm. No problem with either. The problem was, neither one was open at 4:30 in the afternoon because of chemical treatment and cleaning. This on a winter day on the weekend in a hotel that caters to skiers. And the cleaning part was bogus because when they did re-open there was trash still left around from the previous night, including unidentifiable objects on the bottom of the hot tub.
On the plus side, the rooms are set well back from the main drag and so are very quiet. They allow pets and there is a big vacant lot next door that makes for convenient business outings with a pet.
Oh and did I mention the price was right?

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilkoot_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at El Camino Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
I have just read your review and wanted to thank you. We have just recently purchased the hotel and as part of our transition plan, we are replying to all the reviews of the past. I realize you were here quite some time ago, but we wanted you to know that we take your review very seriously. We are remodeling and updating the hotel both inside and out. All the carpet and furniture is being replaced along with a deep cleaning and fresh paint. We are retraining and rebuilding the entire staff. Our primary concern is "Customer Service", and we stress this in our training program. The Lobby and Pool Area have already been updated and are running smoothly and look very nice. Hopefully, you will come and stay with us the next time you are in the area and let us know how we are doing. Again, thank you for your review, it has been very helpful to us.

Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    52
    46
    30
    87
See reviews for
96
62
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I am a frequent business traveler and am very particular about where I stay. The Whitten Inn is a great choice. What a change. Under the new ownership and management I found the stay very pleasant, the room was very clean, bed comfortable, and the staff was very plesant. Good breakfast and affordable pricing for Taos. It was quiet and I slept great. I will definately stay there again and suggest this hotel to anyone who asks for a recommendation in Taos.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thdstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at El Camino Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
Thank you for your kind review. I realize you were here some time ago, but as we have just recently purchased the hotel, we are replying to all the reviews of the past as part of our transition program. We are remodeling and updating the hotel both inside and out. It is an older hotel and needs a lot of TLC. We've been in the hotel business for some time and have a lot of good ideas of what we want to do. Hopefully, you will come and stay with us the next time you are in the area and let us know how we're doing. Again, thank you for your review, it is very important to us.

Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2009

OMG, my stay was not quite as lovely as I would have liked. The bathroom was the size of a closet. The shower and tub were non ergo friendly. I'm 5'5" and I was looking down at the showerhead. My spouse on the other hand was not pleased. The heater was a joke, one minute we are roasting and the next we are freezing.
Front Desk not helpful.
Beds were like a slab of concrete.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at El Camino Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2017
I have just read your review and would like to apologize for your stay at the hotel. I realize you were here some time ago, however, as we have just purchased the hotel, we are replying to all the reviews of the past as part of our transition program. We are remodeling and updating the hotel, both inside and out. It is an older hotel and is in need of a lot of work. We have been in the hotel business for some time and have a good idea of what needs to be done, that is why your review has been so important to us. You could say we are a work in progress, and we are very excited about the outcome. Hopefully, you will give us a second chance if you are ever in the area again. Thank you again for your review, like I said, it has been very helpful to us.

Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake city
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2009

On a business trip and only stayed the night, with a quick visit to the Indian Pueblo. There has been some changes since I was here two years ago. The place is cleaner, and the staff more friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selvinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at El Camino Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. We have just recently purchased the hotel and as part of our transition program, we are replying to all the reviews of the past. We are in the process of remodeling and updating the hotel both inside and out. It is an older hotel and is in need of a lot of TLC. We are very excited about the outcome. Hopefully, you will come and stay with us again the next time you are in the area, and let us know how we're doing. Again, thank you for your review, it is very important to us in our new venture.


Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Clean friendly staff and rooms. Improvements are being made and are very obvious improvements from the past owners.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at El Camino Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2017
I have just read your kind review. I realize you were here some time ago, but as we have just purchased the hotel, we are replying to all the reviews of the past as part of our transition program. We are remodeling and updating the hotel inside and out. We have been in the hotel business for some time and have a lot of good ideas on how to make it a more pleasant place to stay. Hopefully, if you are ever in the area again, you will stay with us and let us know how we're doing. Again, thank you for your review, it has been very helpful to us in our new venture.

Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Talk about old, dusty, dirty with lousy service and a management that cares only about their bottom line - give this place a pass if you want to maintain your sanity.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keala13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at El Camino Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2017
I have just read your review and would like to apologize for your stay at the hotel. We have just recently purchased the hotel and as part of our transition program, we are replying to all the reviews of the past and present. We are remodeling and updating the hotel both inside and out. We're also retraining and rebuilding our entire staff. Our prime directive is "Customer Service", it is so important to a business. It is an older hotel and needs a lot of deep cleaning and fresh paint. I know this is a stretch, but hopefully if you are ever in the area again, you will give us a second chance. I can assure you, you won't be disappointed. Again, thank you for your review, it was very helpful to us.

Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taos hotels

Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

The area is magic and historical beyond belief. We passed through in early October and liked it so much we decided to spend the night. We found the Whitten Inn and we were very pleased. The hotel is clean and the staff was friendly. The housekeepers are obviously well trained because our room was very clean. The front desk staff was efficient and courteous. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AncientWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at El Camino Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2017
Thank you for your kind review. I realize you were here some time ago, but as we have just recently purchased the hotel, we are replying to all the reviews of the past and present. It is an older hotel so we are in the process of remodeling and updating, both inside and out. All the carpet and furniture is being replaced along with a deep cleaning and fresh paint. We've been in the hotel business for some time, and we have a lot of good ideas for this one. Hopefully, the next time you are in the area, you will come and stay with us and let us know how we're doing. Again, thank you for your review, it has been very helpful to us.

Sincerely,

Diane H.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Camino Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Camino Lodge

Property: El Camino Lodge
Address: 615 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5228
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Camino Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently under new ownership with improvements underway in 2017/18! With all new updated rooms, refreshed lobby/breakfast area, updated indoor pool/spa. We look forward to welcoming new and previous guests to experience our new updates in the coming months. Our team extends much appreciation in the patience and support in the completion of our progress. We look forward to a successful outcome with a new and improved guest experience for all! Warmest Regards, TVL Team of Taos, NM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Camino Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Taos
Paragon Hotel Taos
El Camino Lodge Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing