We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Taos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

When we arrived, we were told the pool and hot tub were closed by the health department. Room needs upgrading and there was mold in the shower. Extremely noisy both from other hotel guests and street noise. Would not recommend

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor. It may be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    175
    96
    68
    44
See reviews for
186
192
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Hampton Inn in Taos, New Mexico is a good hotel. The staff was very courteous and helpful with recommendations for the general area. The breakfast area was very clean and there was a good selection of food items. The room was clean and well kept. In general, this hotel met the standards of most Hampton Inn properties.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The friendliest and most helpful person we came across in three days was the woman managing the breakfast area. The TV was stuck on closed captioning and the closet door was hanging off the hinges. Neither was repaired during our stay even though we reported it within hours of checking in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I'm a Hilton Diamond member which means I stay at a lot of Hilton properties including a number of Hamptons. This is without a doubt the worst one I've ever been to, and that includes the one in Farmington NM, which told me if I didn't like what they did I should find another hotel! It started out with them assigning me a room on the first floor when I requested one on the second, and then giving me the keys to the first room, so back down the stairs I go. The also programed the new key for only one day so when we got back after a day of fishing it was... back down the stairs again. When we got in the room, the maid had forgotten to leave coffee, so... The maid had also changed our thermostat up to 75 degrees from our preferred 68 so we roasted for a few hours.
The internet only worked periodically, and the breakfast the first day was eggs and sausage that were truly uneatable. The second day was their famous pizza bagel which has always been uneatable for anyone over 12.
There was a large hole in the closet, I expect for chasing out the mice, or maybe letting them in, a hair dryer that didn't work the first day, or the second even after a call, a layer of dust on the bed frame, and paint chipped off the walls.
And in case some manager writes a reply to this and says we should have said something, I did tell the desk clerk, who basically shrugged and went back to his paper.
If you like third rate hotels stay at a Super 8 or Motel 6 instead of here, it will save you money

Room Tip: Choose one at Motel 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taos hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Greater selection of complimentary breakfast items than at other hotels. Laundry facilities were really clean, and the cost of the washer and dryer were reasonable. The staff lent us a scrapper as it snowed over night and the windshield had lots of ice and snow on it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I would stay there again. Like I said before the check in clerks should be up to date to what is going on in the town to help customers. Other than that everything was good. Also, the servey was good until I had to have 200 characters for the review.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
385 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Bad news: Like someone else said, the bathtub enamel is coming off and cracking. The bathroom door swings open if left ajar, then stops where it rubs against floor tiles that have come up a little. The towels and cloths are threadbare and really need replacing. Our front door handle didn't work properly and had to be jiggled to open the door. The dryer in the laundry wasn't very effective and the lint trap didn't work - had to use a facecloth to clean away lint. Apart from that, things were okay. The front desk staff weren't very friendly and the breakfast attendant was invisible on the first day.

Good news: our room requests specified in the reservation were honored. The room was very quiet. The HVAC worked well with little noise. Breakfast was the usual Hampton, well-stocked and everything was sparkling clean. Attendant was much more visible the second day, when there were a lot more people, but still didn't speak to anyone. Comfortable bed. Very clean everywhere.

Bottom line: The good news considerably outweighs the bad. After reading reviews of the other choices in Taos in the same price range, gotta stick with Hampton.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Taos

Property: Hampton Inn Taos
Address: 1515 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Taos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town, Hampton Inn Taos offers cozy, quiet comfort complete with a full hot breakfast, complimentary wi-fi, indoor pool and hot tub, and friendly, helpful staff to welcome you to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Taos
Taos Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing