We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Hospitality Business" staff at its finest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Taos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Taos
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Southern Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Hospitality Business" staff at its finest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

The Taos Hampton is not a resort hotel; it is fine example of what you hope to find when you book a room at a hotel chain. The hotel is filled with art and the nice Taos ambience.
The staff at the Taos Hampton is gracious and accomodating. Their mission truly seems to be to make you welcome and comfortable. From our very late night arrival to our very early departure 4 days later, every request or need was met with a can-do and will-do response. Extra towels - fine, late room straightening - fine. A glass of juice after break hour - fine. And with a smile.

We needed to add an unexpected night to our trip. Because we stay at Hilton Hotels frequently enough on business, this visit was paid for with points. Adding a night is not necessarily a simple process. When we contacted the Hilton department responsible for arranging these things, we found that the local staff had taken care of every possible detail in advance.

The areas that are not 5's: The location of the Hampton is not close enough to the downtown art district to walk there. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated but a bit tight with smaller windows. We have traveled a lot over the years, and experienced many "free breakfasts". Overall, the quality of most these breakfasts has declined. The breakfast at the Hampton is not an exception to the downward quality trend. The big diffence this time was the inclusion of a pre-cooked rubber-like "fried" egg, and pre-cooked petrified waffles.

However, a special treat was the presence of an accomplished flute player during the early breakfast hour. That was enjoyable and set the tone for the day.

The daily cookies in the lobby were delicious and when we left, we were given snack bags for the long drive home.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wardplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    176
    97
    68
    44
See reviews for
188
193
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

If you are looking for a great place to stay that has clean rooms, competitive prices, friendly staff and a great breakfast, you should stay at the Hampton Hotel, in Taos, New Mexico. First, this was our 4th. year staying at this hotel and each time we stay, the rooms are clean and well maintained. Very comfortable beds that help make a long day on the slopes a welcomed relief, upon entering your room... The only upgrade that could be provided is the T.V. sets, they have not been converted to HD, yet; but, with the kind of amenities and staff support that is minor detail compared to the comfortable style of the hotel & its' staff. Second, the breakfast is probably the best in town, every day there is variety and plenty of food to accommodate the guests and it's nice to have breakfast that has realistic hours that go from 6:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Third, the hotel is located on the shuttle line, so there is no need to drive, if you don't want to hassle with traffic. Fourth, the staff are friendly and helpful and try to accommodate even the most extreme requests. Lastly, this is a great place to stay with good rates and a family atmosphere. The hotel does have a large lobby fireplace, I wished it would be utilized more and that would be the cherry on the top of this updated hotel that cares about it's guests. This is the reason my family and I have stayed at this hotel for the past few years when we visit Taos, NM during "Spring Break 2009." We look forward to future visits to this hotel. Thanks Thanks Dana & Lane!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at this Hampton Inn on a ski trip we took in Feb. 2009. There seemed to be mixed reviews about the staff at this hotel, but our experiance was good, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was basic, but clean. The breakfast was also good, every morning they had eggs, sausage, and biscuits, as well as well as other basic breakfast items.
There are a few downsides about this to this hotel. First we were unable to use the pool because it was down for some reason. It also does seem to be a bit overpriced considering it's one of the furthest hotels from the ski resort. If we were not using our hilton points we may have chose a different hotel with a better rate.
All and all I dont have any major complaints about this hotel, and I wouldn't be against staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dblev76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

My family and I go on a ski vacation somewhere in the states every year and we have stayed in all types of ski town lodging. This was my first trip to Taos, and although the mountain and town are good ski destinations, I'm not sure Hampton Inn is the ideal lodging. First of all, the drive up to the ski area is about an hour in clear weather. That didn't necessarily bother us, but we noticed that rates at places closer to the mountain were less.
The hotel itself was just extremely basic. The "deluxe" breakfast in the morning was just cereal and juice and the staff was not very helpful at all. We also had to move rooms once because our first one was not clean. All of these things weren't major issues because we weren't in the room that much.
My one huge complaint about this hotel was that the hot tub (which is a HUGE factor after a long day of skiing) was very subpar. Its in a room with the pool and you have to walk outside to get to it. Also the steam fills up the entire room and smells mildew-y. We asked the guy at the front desk to turn the temperature up multiple times and he never did it.
If going to Taos (which I definitely recommend) I would look for something a little closer to the Ski Valley.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loudalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taos hotels

Central Coast CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

"We Love Having You Here!" May be posted on the marquee at the road, and the rug as you enter the property, but that is where it ends. Yes, there was a great gal who manned the front desk in the evenings who cared about the guests, and had a friendly and professional attitude. The Management was indifferent to the concerns of the guests, and maintaining the property. The parking lot was not plowed after five inches of snow, which created a nasty, icy mess for three days. The attitude was that if they waited long enough, the sun would melt it! The pool area was steamy and subtropical, which was nice after being in the cold, but the condensation would drip from the roof of the pool, and once in the pool and jacuzzi, you could not smell any chemicals, and realized how dirty it actually was. And that steam? It was because the jacuzzi timer ran 24 x 7 because it was broke.

Housekeeping seemed to do a cursory cleaning, never removing the soap slime from the vanity from the last guest even through my two week stay. When notified that the toilet ran continuously, they did not seem to care - or care to fix it. And on a Sunday when we wanted some extra time in the room before it was cleaned, we were skipped by housekkeping for the day.

The breakfast bar was pulled one morning 30 minutes before it was supposed to end. A young family visiting from New Zeeland was irritated that they had to prod the attendant into putting the entrees out. When I asked why she pulled everything so early, she said that there was nobody there, and offered she had a lot of excess food yesterday, so she wasn't going to have the same thing happen today. (What???)

My opinion is WOW. These folks are really not getting what it takes to run a successful property. I have two more two week projects in town this winter, and I will go exploring for a new property that really does "love having me there".

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tomp465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

We stayed at this Hampton for 4 days based upon the good reviews. We found that the hotel rooms were updated (since the pictures were posted), clean, had comfortable beds, and we loved that the shower head was placed high in the shower (excellent for tall people). Although we would recommend the hotel's rooms, we did encounter some problems during our stay. We arrived at 4:30 pm to find that not a single room was available because the housekeeping had not cleaned the rooms yet. We waited for an available room in the lobby for 45 minutes so that the housekeeping could clean a room for us. It was also slightly annoying that the first 2 days of our stay the housekeeping knocked on our door before 9 to see if they could clean our rooms. We eventually notified the front desk when we were leaving for the day so that our room could be cleaned then. The housekeeping did a great job of daily "refreshing" our rooms with soap, towels, clean sheets, etc. The hotel staff was friendly, but somewhat unprofessional. Also, do not base your stay upon the hotel's hot tub and swimming pool. The hot tub had black grime of the sides of it and both the hot tub and pool appeared to be dirty. The pool room did not also have a working exhaust so the room was steamed to the point of water dripping from the ceilings. The morning breakfast was good, even better if you can get there before the crowd (for more selection). Overall, the stay was average in comparision to most Hampton Inn's, but the rooms were nice and clean. The Hampton did appear to be one of the nicer hotel chains in Taos.

  • Liked — Clean Rooms
  • Disliked — Unprofessional hotel staff and pool/hot tub
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FlyingLowOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

We ended up at the Hampton Inn accidentally when we were snowed in during a December family vacation. The hotel was extremely accommodating and provided us with an AAA rate of $149 (just a note that the local occupancy tax is quite high).

LOCATION:

The location is right on the main street in Taos a few miles away from the historic plaza. However, it is extremely easy to get in and out of the property and to use it as a base location (as long as you are not planning on walking) it is fine.

ROOMS:

The rooms are a bit dated but well-maintained. We did not feel cramped with 3 people in the room. They felt clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms offered free Wi-Fi (with a strong connection) and good-sized bathroom. We did not hear our neighbors (or street noise) even though the hotel was pretty full.

OVERALL:
We have not stayed at a Hampton Inn before but this experience would convince us to try this chain again. This hotel is not fancy and it is not new but it affords an easy, clean and safe stay for a family or couple traveling through. The breakfast was also all you needed to get started in the morning (including a few hot items) and was comparable to breakfasts served at a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Taos

Property: Hampton Inn Taos
Address: 1515 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Taos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town, Hampton Inn Taos offers cozy, quiet comfort complete with a full hot breakfast, complimentary wi-fi, indoor pool and hot tub, and friendly, helpful staff to welcome you to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Taos
Taos Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing