We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Don Fernando de Taos
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Unique layout of property and nice rooms. Kids enjoyed indoor pool and the adults enjoyed the happy hour in the lobby bar {not at the same time :)}.

Clean, comfortable, great value.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saholleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2009

Wall paper peeling off walls,locks on doors broken, moldy smell, horrible beds, the worst place we have ever stayed - below a one star! Employees embarrassed and apologetic, but for $100 + it was not even close to a one star - spoke with the people we were there in Taos to meet and conincidentally they had also stayed there and were also totally disgusted - may expletives. Do NOT stay here whatever you do!

Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
Thank alohaintaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Somewhere on their homepage it should read, "We have no customer service!" We had heater problems and nothing was done. We never had our room cleaned. When we asked for stuff, nothing was ever done.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockeymomRioRancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here in January 2009 as part of a ski club trip from Chicago. (The lodgings were booked by the club, through an agent.) I've had worse lodging experiences, but I've had more better ones.

Complaints just kept popping up. The parking lot wasn't cleared of ice and snow. Service in the restaurant was glacially slow; after the first day we sought breakfast elsewhere. The air in the rooms was painfully dry (it is the desert southwest, after all), but when I asked the front desk if they might have a humidifier available I was told "No, but there's a Wal-Mart across the street." When the Kleenex ran out in our room and we asked for a replacement box, we had to wait a *day* for housekeeping to provide them. That same day, housekeeping left us *no washcloths* to shower with. Another club member had to switch rooms because the lock didn't work. And so on.

It measured up only in terms of the essentials: the beds were comfortable, and the hot water pressure in the showers was good. I'm glad we weren't paying the rack rate, though.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cjm_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Liked the hotel for the $ in Taos. Have stayed at a more expensive B and B here but this time wanted something more basic because we were just passing through for a different destination. I liked the hotel because it had lots of walking paths on the grounds and the buildings / rooms didn't feel like a hotel, but more like a condo complex, with more privacy. It had a continental breakfast that was typically so-so, nothing to recommend. Our room was quiet and relaxing near the back of the property. For the $ this place is actually really cute. An affordable way to stay in Taos.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sccarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Because of a last minute change of plans, we ended up at Don Fernando, misled by an old travel guide, that said that it was a Holiday Inn, which it isn't anymore. Price was low, 75 USD, but did not include breakfast. We stayed just after the baloon festival and the hotel was absolutely empty. Rooms are located in several small separate buildings (a dozen rooms in each). We choose a room which was quiet, and not too far from the main building, Even so, it was a bit scary at night, when you are absolutely by yourself in your building and the surrounding buildings. If hotel is empty, one should not choose the most remote buildings. Some cars strolled on the parking lot at night., in and out. The locks of the rooms had been destroyed and taken away, only srew holes testified that there were some originally, which leaves you with the only protection of a single very standard keylock in a poorly adjusted light wooden door. Breakfast was a disaster, no buffet, stained glas covered tables and no one showing for a long time to offer you a menu to choose from (we had to go to the front desk twice so that they would send somebody to the restaurant. Be aware that you do not have elevators for the rooms on the second floor and you have to drag your luggage yourself . I do not know about other hotels in Taos, but it seems it is easy to do better than this one. Positive points: the hotel is located south of the town, away from traffic and parking problems, there is a large and apparently nice and clean swimming pool, the employees at front desk were kind.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

We stayed at the Don Fernando for 2 night and we had 2 rooms. We were extremely happy with the accomodations. The front desk person was very nice and helpful with directions. Both rooms were clean and quiet. We loved the layout of the hotel with the grass and trees. It's not a traditional set up, it felt more secure. The hotel was close to everywhere with it's central location. We were very happy with our entre stay and we would definitley stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDCGLeadville_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
355 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
1.3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Fernando de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Fernando de Taos

Address: 1005 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5969
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £64 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Fernando de Taos 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Don Fernando will be temporarily closed for business until further notice. We will post updates here and on our Facebook account. Sorry for any inconvenience and we look forward to re-opening soon. Bargain affordable Taos hotels, 1.5 mi south of plaza on Rt 68, the main street, free breakfast, indoor pool, long term stay, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, plus Stray Catt II Restaurant casual dining - traditional Northern New Mexican plus American favorites.Don Fernando Taos Hotel - sitting on the Camino Real - Route #68, 1.5 miles from the heart of town - the plaza,Now under new management:- with indoor swimming pool- free hotel breakfast- extended stay accommodation- pets welcome - lots of green space for walking- hotel layout is that of small versions of the Taos Pueblo "look" - set in grass courtyards and under trees.- 112 rooms, many with sleeper sofas or two twins, arranged in six courtyard like pavillions- Plus 12 suites with fireplaces - one and two bedrooms plus sleeper sofa - superior for a family get-away- 2 large boardrooms- restaurant space for catering functions- all rooms are in "pods" of 22 rooms - built to look like the Taos Pueblo- built around a small pueblo-like courtyard- Two floors onlyHeated Pool All Year Round at our Taos Hotel. We are the only Taos Hotel with an indoor pool all year round. It is a standard oblong pool but we do have blow-up toys, wading pool, water games and a family resort feel. Our pool is open year-round, heated, and under glass. As the one indoor pool at a Taos hotel, we see many of our guests with families taking a break here in Taos, taking advantage of our affordable one and two bedroom suites with fireplaces and, then, after a day of exploring mountains and gorges, spending the evening at the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Don Fernando de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Fernando De Taos
Don Fernando De Hotel Taos
Hotel Don Fernando De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing