We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPRISED, BUT NOT...VALUE TO USABILITY DOES NOT MATCH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Don Fernando de Taos
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPRISED, BUT NOT...VALUE TO USABILITY DOES NOT MATCH”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We are travel consultants and arranged the trip with young children and teens in our family, and friends with yound children. The draw to the hotel was both the larger room (suites) and HEATED Pool. With kids...pool has to be on the top of the list. We "swam" once...and by that I do not mean I did. As an adult, I have this quirky thing about being comfortable when I swim....however, the pool was polar bear cold and the kids would "bravely" outdo each other prior to "walking" back to the spa for "warmer" water.

After being on the mountain, boarding/skiing all day the spa was a draw for us adults...let me just say, I entered it not too! I opted for the shower, and believe me, I got my dollar value out of that!

The rooms were not vacuumed or cleaned (to our hotel cleanliness standard) and the couch/chair needed blankets to sit on it. Thankfully, it was really just for the night, as the mountain took most of our time. We also had neighbors who could not read the no-smoking signs on their doors; thus, we endured their smoke over night - that was a huge problem.

We did make the best of the situation and roasted marshmellows and hotdogs in the wood burning fireplaces. That was fun - just don't forget the pictures!

Upon check-out, I will say the staff worked with us on the refund due to our expectations and their lack of fulfillment. Will we return? I do not know. There is a bar and restaurant onsite - due to time and kids, we used neither, but it looked frequented and they were watching the games several of the nights. However, I believe it closed at 10pm. Seems a bit early...? Hotel location was good, pleasant outdoor appearance, and quiet area...just wasn't kept with the best standards for hotel ratings.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubafett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    38
    38
    42
    55
See reviews for
68
63
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Room was very clean, Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great at a fair price. Will stay there again next time as location is superb for a tourist.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3640usaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio rancho, nm
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

If you're interested in a hotel that loses reservations, has front desk staff dressed inappropriately and are more interested in carrying on a personal phone call than answering guests' questions, has cracked windows coming out of their tracks, toilets that are cracked and don't flush, ice machines that are out of order and rooms that don't get cleaned, then this is definitely your hotel of choice!

The hotel looks nice from the outside and the layout (many individual buildings with 4 rooms each instead of a traditional single building) is interesting. The grounds were kept up in general and the room seemed to be clean at first glance. We checked in late on a Friday night and after having to show the desk clerk (dressed in an old t-shirt) our Hotwire print out proving our reservation, were assigned to a room in the very last building at the far edge of the property. Had we wanted to use the pool we would have had to walk outside all the way to the main building then in through the lobby past the restaurant; very inconvenient and poorly planned.

My husband tried to locate ice machines and the first 2 were both out of service; ice was only available at the machine by the lobby. Our toilet tank lid was cracked and had been glued back together but we were in need of a plunger because the toilet wouldn't flush. We spent the day in Taos and when we arrived back at the room it was evident that housekeeping hadn't cleaned the bathroom thoroughly because the toilet still had proof it wouldn't flush...sorry. When we called for a plunger we were told it couldn't be left in the room because of the risk of theft...eeewww!

When I went to the lobby for ice I tried to ask the desk clerk when the pool closed in the evening and she was very irritated I was interrupting her personal phone call. We wanted fresh air in the room and tried to open the windows and the one on the left was cracked across the pane and wouldn't budge, but the one on the right darn near came out of its tracks because it was set in so loosely!

We stayed here because we'd had a credit with Hotwire we needed to use so our out of pocket was under $10.00 for both nights but in our opinion we still grossly overpaid for what we got. Save yourself the aggravation and go someplace much closer to the plaza like Taos Inn or one of the B&B's close by. We'll NEVER stay here again and would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ny2nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taos hotels

New Mexico USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I must say that the reviews that I had read about this place were absolutely correct. We had a wonderful time, The room was exceptionally clean, the public facilities were clean, the staff exuded "welcome" without being overbearing. The Lounge however was the stellar feature. Sandy the barkeep was extremely helpful with questions that we had about what to see and what to avoid. Since it has been 20+ years since my last visit to Taos, this was extremely important to us in general.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaddyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We returned after a two year absence to the Don Fernando with fond memories of the last visit. We were disappointed. The room we had (#114) had a ton of problems which led to a two day stay being shortened to one day. Broken window; main door that looked like it had been jimmied; toilet that ran; toilet seat broken; worn carpet with holes; etc. The location for this hotel is great; the setting is nice; the layout of the grounds is good; but it is clear that deferred maintenance is not being addressed. In defense, it seems that all but the really elite hotels in Taos are suffering the same fate. It must be the economy.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CACTUSPETEAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

The rooms were clean and neat with no complaints except that the beds were very uncomfortable. The air conditioner in the first room (we had to switch rooms) kept turning off. When my wife tried to plug in her computer, someone had screwed a piece of metal over the outlet so that there was a short when we pluged in the computer and all the lights went out in the room. Maintenance showed up right away and fixed the problem. The computer lived. There were 4 places where ice machines were supposed to be but were either missing or broken. There would have been a $25 charge for pets. The restaurant was only open at certain hours and did not serve dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinderZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Unique layout of property and nice rooms. Kids enjoyed indoor pool and the adults enjoyed the happy hour in the lobby bar {not at the same time :)}.

Clean, comfortable, great value.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saholleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
366 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
345 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Fernando de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Fernando de Taos

Property: Hotel Don Fernando de Taos
Address: 1005 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5969
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Fernando de Taos 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Don Fernando will be temporarily closed for business until further notice. We will post updates here and on our Facebook account. Sorry for any inconvenience and we look forward to re-opening soon. Bargain affordable Taos hotels, 1.5 mi south of plaza on Rt 68, the main street, free breakfast, indoor pool, long term stay, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, plus Stray Catt II Restaurant casual dining - traditional Northern New Mexican plus American favorites.Don Fernando Taos Hotel - sitting on the Camino Real - Route #68, 1.5 miles from the heart of town - the plaza,Now under new management:- with indoor swimming pool- free hotel breakfast- extended stay accommodation- pets welcome - lots of green space for walking- hotel layout is that of small versions of the Taos Pueblo "look" - set in grass courtyards and under trees.- 112 rooms, many with sleeper sofas or two twins, arranged in six courtyard like pavillions- Plus 12 suites with fireplaces - one and two bedrooms plus sleeper sofa - superior for a family get-away- 2 large boardrooms- restaurant space for catering functions- all rooms are in "pods" of 22 rooms - built to look like the Taos Pueblo- built around a small pueblo-like courtyard- Two floors onlyHeated Pool All Year Round at our Taos Hotel. We are the only Taos Hotel with an indoor pool all year round. It is a standard oblong pool but we do have blow-up toys, wading pool, water games and a family resort feel. Our pool is open year-round, heated, and under glass. As the one indoor pool at a Taos hotel, we see many of our guests with families taking a break here in Taos, taking advantage of our affordable one and two bedroom suites with fireplaces and, then, after a day of exploring mountains and gorges, spending the evening at the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Don Fernando de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Fernando De Taos
Don Fernando De Hotel Taos
Hotel Don Fernando De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing