We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks great...then you get to your room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Fernando de Taos
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Council Bluffs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Looks great...then you get to your room!”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This hotel was another one of our "wins" on priceline. When I checked here on reviews, I was expecting a full blown dump.

At checkin, the lobby looked very nice. there were a ton of people enjoying happy hour ($2.50 margaritas people!). We were excited, this place wasn't as dumpy as we were expecting. We enjoyed happy hour before going to our room and met some great people.

Then....we got to our room. GROSS! My friend who is high maintenance for most things isn't on hotels. It just a place to sleep in her opinion. I don't agreee. She was ok with the room.

the room is vastly outdated, so outdated you can't tell if this place is clean or not. I did like the large vanity for two ladies to spread out our toiletries and such.
The bed is probably a few decades old, so don't expect a good night sleep. The pillows are yuck. Literally falling apart (see photos).
I had a GIANT BEETLE land on me in the room. When my friend swatted it off, because I was so freaked, we searched the room and couldn't find it.
We turned on the heat because they had the room so cold. Turned it off immediately, it spelt like rotten flesh.
The free breakfast is ok, we only ate it one morning on our trip, because it was a repeat of the day before and not worth it.

I do want to say that Michelle at the front desk was MORE than helpful. She was always at the front desk, I asked her if she ever goes home and she laughed!

For the price ($55/night with free breakfast), I teeter on whether I recommend. My friend said she would. I guess it depends on your preferences. if you are gone exploring all day like we are and don't need high maintenance amenities, then I would recommend at this price point. Otherwise, I would not recommend. I would stay here again if they updated the rooms, but not otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    38
    38
    42
    55
See reviews for
68
63
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Unfortunately, I was stuck staying at the "2 star" Don Fernando Hotel in Taos after a successful bid on Priceline. However, I was very disappointed to discover that this "2 star" hotel should not even be a 1 star. The first room we were given was absolutely disgusting - there were hairs all over the bathroom, the non-smoking room wreaked of smoke, our sheets were dirty, there were plastic pieces in the sheets, no mattress pads, and the room had obviously not been dusted in some time. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get a refund since I had gotten the room off Priceline. As a compromise, they gave me a different room, which was a bit cleaner; however, the t.v. in this room was broken.

In summary, this place was probably nice 15 years ago, but hasn't been touched in many years. Do yourself a favor and find some place nicer to stay in Taos.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjthomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taos hotels

Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
275 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I am about to check out of Don Fernando after two nights. While I have stayed in better places, it has been quite satisfactory. I was correct in my guess - it is an old Holiday Inn on a large scale, done up in Spanish decor. The name was changed in 1975. We know that places built in the decade or two before that were not exactly the best designed in terms of materials. True, some aspects of the property are a little dog eared. But having said that, my room was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, the breakfast adequate, and I enjoyed a benefit comedy show in the restaurant the other night. What is particularly attractive is the wonderful display of New Mexican artwork throughout the public areas. Would I stay here again? Sure. ( and the WiFi worked pretty well, too! ) Also, it has a much larger than usual swimming pool that was not freezing, plus a hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Got there, had to wait more then 15 minutes to get a room, even when we had reservations, then the keys didn't work. Even after maintenance said every thing was okay, you had to play and hope your door would open. Opened the sofa sleeper, no blankets or sheets and the middle support was broken, had to use the table to support one side. No kleenex in the holder, had to use toliet paper since after trying to get the front desk, housekeeping, any number listed on the phones, only got the front desk by calling the emergency number, at that point forgot the tissue and got sheets for sleeper. Tried to make coffe in the room in the morning, after over one hour and only getting to the 1 cup level of a 4 cup coffee maker, went to the front desk to ask if I could get some coffee they told me to go to the resturant. The line was out the door, and when I tried to find out if I could just get a cup of coffee, told I had to wait in line. Several people in line said tey had been there for more then 15 minutes. (FASTER to go to another resturant, and alot friendly service.) Then there is check out, had to wait more then 8 minutes because only one at the desk and was making reservations, I was the first one in line with 3 behind me. SOMETHING great, was the excellent bartender, she was very friendly and helpful, even know I didn,t order a drink just snacks for the room. She is NUMBER ONE - A Big Thanks to her.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ForFun20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We are travel consultants and arranged the trip with young children and teens in our family, and friends with yound children. The draw to the hotel was both the larger room (suites) and HEATED Pool. With kids...pool has to be on the top of the list. We "swam" once...and by that I do not mean I did. As an adult, I have this quirky thing about being comfortable when I swim....however, the pool was polar bear cold and the kids would "bravely" outdo each other prior to "walking" back to the spa for "warmer" water.

After being on the mountain, boarding/skiing all day the spa was a draw for us adults...let me just say, I entered it not too! I opted for the shower, and believe me, I got my dollar value out of that!

The rooms were not vacuumed or cleaned (to our hotel cleanliness standard) and the couch/chair needed blankets to sit on it. Thankfully, it was really just for the night, as the mountain took most of our time. We also had neighbors who could not read the no-smoking signs on their doors; thus, we endured their smoke over night - that was a huge problem.

We did make the best of the situation and roasted marshmellows and hotdogs in the wood burning fireplaces. That was fun - just don't forget the pictures!

Upon check-out, I will say the staff worked with us on the refund due to our expectations and their lack of fulfillment. Will we return? I do not know. There is a bar and restaurant onsite - due to time and kids, we used neither, but it looked frequented and they were watching the games several of the nights. However, I believe it closed at 10pm. Seems a bit early...? Hotel location was good, pleasant outdoor appearance, and quiet area...just wasn't kept with the best standards for hotel ratings.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubafett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Room was very clean, Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great at a fair price. Will stay there again next time as location is superb for a tourist.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3640usaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio rancho, nm
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

If you're interested in a hotel that loses reservations, has front desk staff dressed inappropriately and are more interested in carrying on a personal phone call than answering guests' questions, has cracked windows coming out of their tracks, toilets that are cracked and don't flush, ice machines that are out of order and rooms that don't get cleaned, then this is definitely your hotel of choice!

The hotel looks nice from the outside and the layout (many individual buildings with 4 rooms each instead of a traditional single building) is interesting. The grounds were kept up in general and the room seemed to be clean at first glance. We checked in late on a Friday night and after having to show the desk clerk (dressed in an old t-shirt) our Hotwire print out proving our reservation, were assigned to a room in the very last building at the far edge of the property. Had we wanted to use the pool we would have had to walk outside all the way to the main building then in through the lobby past the restaurant; very inconvenient and poorly planned.

My husband tried to locate ice machines and the first 2 were both out of service; ice was only available at the machine by the lobby. Our toilet tank lid was cracked and had been glued back together but we were in need of a plunger because the toilet wouldn't flush. We spent the day in Taos and when we arrived back at the room it was evident that housekeeping hadn't cleaned the bathroom thoroughly because the toilet still had proof it wouldn't flush...sorry. When we called for a plunger we were told it couldn't be left in the room because of the risk of theft...eeewww!

When I went to the lobby for ice I tried to ask the desk clerk when the pool closed in the evening and she was very irritated I was interrupting her personal phone call. We wanted fresh air in the room and tried to open the windows and the one on the left was cracked across the pane and wouldn't budge, but the one on the right darn near came out of its tracks because it was set in so loosely!

We stayed here because we'd had a credit with Hotwire we needed to use so our out of pocket was under $10.00 for both nights but in our opinion we still grossly overpaid for what we got. Save yourself the aggravation and go someplace much closer to the plaza like Taos Inn or one of the B&B's close by. We'll NEVER stay here again and would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ny2nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.3 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Fernando de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Fernando de Taos

Property: Hotel Don Fernando de Taos
Address: 1005 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5969
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Fernando de Taos 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Don Fernando will be temporarily closed for business until further notice. We will post updates here and on our Facebook account. Sorry for any inconvenience and we look forward to re-opening soon. Bargain affordable Taos hotels, 1.5 mi south of plaza on Rt 68, the main street, free breakfast, indoor pool, long term stay, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, plus Stray Catt II Restaurant casual dining - traditional Northern New Mexican plus American favorites.Don Fernando Taos Hotel - sitting on the Camino Real - Route #68, 1.5 miles from the heart of town - the plaza,Now under new management:- with indoor swimming pool- free hotel breakfast- extended stay accommodation- pets welcome - lots of green space for walking- hotel layout is that of small versions of the Taos Pueblo "look" - set in grass courtyards and under trees.- 112 rooms, many with sleeper sofas or two twins, arranged in six courtyard like pavillions- Plus 12 suites with fireplaces - one and two bedrooms plus sleeper sofa - superior for a family get-away- 2 large boardrooms- restaurant space for catering functions- all rooms are in "pods" of 22 rooms - built to look like the Taos Pueblo- built around a small pueblo-like courtyard- Two floors onlyHeated Pool All Year Round at our Taos Hotel. We are the only Taos Hotel with an indoor pool all year round. It is a standard oblong pool but we do have blow-up toys, wading pool, water games and a family resort feel. Our pool is open year-round, heated, and under glass. As the one indoor pool at a Taos hotel, we see many of our guests with families taking a break here in Taos, taking advantage of our affordable one and two bedroom suites with fireplaces and, then, after a day of exploring mountains and gorges, spending the evening at the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Don Fernando de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Fernando De Taos
Don Fernando De Hotel Taos
Hotel Don Fernando De Taos New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing