We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little old and tired, but plenty clean and comfortable.”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The reason I only give it a three star average rating instead of a four star very good was because of the price. My expectations were colored by the $119 rate. If the room had been $79 or $89 I would have given it four stars. In fact, my rate was supposed to be $89. We were in Taos for the New Mexico High School hockey tournament, which had arranged an $89 rate. When I called and asked for it, I was told there was no such deal. Afterward, I talked to other parents who had gotten the preferred rate. Guess I talked to the wrong desk clerk. Anyway, this isn't one of the mid-range motels that's upgraded with granite accents and flat screen TVs. It looks like a real nice Comfort Suites from about 15 years ago with two old school 25" box TVs. Shower had plenty of hot water, though the face plate was missing and some pipes exposed on the shower water control handle. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. Towels were a little old. Not threadbare, but not plush. Sheets and bedding were fine. The help was friendly. They had the basic no frills hot breakfast. Little sausage pucks, potatoes, a waffle maker. No eggs. Some gravy. Wireless internet was a little slow at times, but overall acceptable. They keep the outdoor pool and hot tub heated in the dead of winter. It was 7 degrees out one morning and they had those . Be advised - the sofa bed only sleeps one. It's a twin. I'm not dying to stay here again, I'll definitely shop around for our next stay, but I would be perfectly content to end up here if I didn't find anything obviously better.

Room Tip: We didn't have any problem with pool noise, but a lot of the rooms open up to the pool. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Champs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Spent two days at Comfort Suites what a great time at the hotel, clean rooms and spacious, front desk really nice. We went Skiing at Taos Ski Valley WoW great snow. We will be back and we will stay at the Comfort Suites.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifersweetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to sightsee and let the kids ski/snowboard. It was nice to have a king, queen and sofa bed. Most hotels can't accomodate 5 in a room. Breakfast was good each morning. We enjoyed waffles in 2 flavors, sausage, gravy & biscuits in addition to a selection of cereal, yogurt, toast, etc.

We were skiing/snowboarding at Sipapu, so this was very convenient since it is on the south side of town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NM_Travel_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed here 2 nights/2 adults. Checked in early (around noon) with no problem. Front desk staff was great.

Got a first floor/pool side room and even in January, if brave enough, you could venture out to use the outdoor heated pool/hot tub. We decided to just watch the steam rising.....

Overall, good room. and it's always nice to have some room space. We had a King and a queen bed in the room. I'm a mattress critic and overall it was firm and had thickness in it with sheets that actually fit the bed. It was very comfy and we both slept well.

Another living room with a separate TV allowed someone to sleep and the other watch TV without disturbing. Also, there was a table and chairs, sofa, Micro, and fridge.

Bathroom was split. Sink in one area and toilet/tub in another, so when on is showering, the other can shave/brush teeth. The only thing is definitely use the heat lamp light for the bathroom as in the morning (in winter) the floor gets down to outside temperature). Not sure why, the rest of the room was toasty.

Breakfast was typical for this kind of hotel. Muffins/Cereals, Toast, waffles, yogurt, apples/oranges, and even had pre made hot omelets and bacon, (though far from the best).

Nice lobby with a fireplace if your into that sort of stuff.

Overall, for the price it was a good/comfortable room.....I'd rather have the extra large room for space then all of the frills. We only sleep there.....and it's never been worth spending a fortune for a room you only stay in for 8 hours/day.....and that's with your eyes shut.

Room Tip: Inside room is poolside, and it might be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We visited Taos on Sep 25 - Sep 27, 2011. We had not visited the town previously so I picked our hotel using Trip Advisor reviews as I always do. The hotel is far from the action downtown and so you must drive to the center of town or to restaurants. This being said, we were happy with the hotel. Although it is an older hotel, the rooms are clean, they have an adequate breakfast and the hotel is quiet. We had a king room, which had a divider between the living area and bedroom. There was a couch and a small dining table with three chairs, a fridge and microwave and a TV in the living and bedroom areas. When we checked in we were given maps and a list of the "must do/see things" which was a help. Drive the "enchanted circle" and the high road from Taos back to Santa Fe. Both are beautiful scenic drives.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room away from the ice/vending machines, elevators and outside doors to cut down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeguinX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

BEAUTIFUL TAOS, and the COMFORT SUITES got top marks.
The staff so attentive, the place was clean and the food very good. we had a wonderful stay and would go there again. thankyou

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENYSE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We wandered in without a reservation and found two of the friendliest ladies that one could ever meet. Since we were choice privileges members, they suggested that we call the 800 number to make our reservation so that we could take advantage of a 4 X points promotion. So that we did. The price was very reasonable. Our two room suite had a king & queen bed with a seperate living area. . .sofa, table and chairs, frig, microwave and 2 TV's. The vanity area was seperate from the other bathroom area which made our morning rituals much easier. Our room was clean and fresh, bed was comfortable with a variety of pillows. The living area let us relax, read and watch some TV without having to just lie on the bed. What more could a traveler ask for?

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor near the back. It was quiet and we had the stairs just a few doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#5 of 15 in Taos
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,216 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1500 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-6526
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Taos
Price Range: £52 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Taos
Comfort Suites Taos, New Mexico
Taos Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing