We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“home away from home”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I stayed a week at the Charles Motel and Bath House. Besides the well-kept ambiance of
the buildings and baths, I had a fine kitchen, equipped with new stove, fridge, microwave.
There was a stainless steel sink and plenty of hot water. Very nice for me, who has been
struggling with maintaining a special diet due to onset of adult allergies. Across the street is a local grocery store with everything a basic store should have and even some organic
food items, grains and canned goods. This made my stay both easy and pleasant.
The owner delights in maintaining the original baths, built in 1939. They are deep pink-tiled tubs that fill in moments from a gushing artesian well of mineral waters.
It was so nice to sink into one of these baths around 7 or 8 in the evening. I could feel
the tension drain out of my body. And then go a hundred feet to my perfectly fine bed
with a cup of tea made in my little kitchen.
Good price. Very easy going helpful employees. In front of my door was a flowering tree. It is on the main city street but that becomes almost totally empty after 10 PM and I slept well and felt very much at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lajournada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    24
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
27
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The benefits of course being the private, tiled mineral water soaking tubs. The originals here still deliver the awesome relaxation visitors have enjoyed for decades. The rooms are really studio apts conducive to a longer stay and the longer you stay the lower the price. Kathy, Colette and staff are pleasant, helpful and non-intrusive. The place is quiet and safe, a great healing spot for a little getaway!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localhere3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We went here on a budget honeymoon. Great place to stay. Rooms are cozy and inexpensive. very friendly staff. would recommend to anyone looking to get away on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumjaci
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

The website photo doesn't represent the room I got. Not even close!! The towels were paper thin and the kitchen was really filthy. When I asked for a proper towel, which I knew they had for hot tubbing, I also said the kitchen was dirty, dishes everything. I was told to leave if I didn't like it .....so I did. The people watching the office were nice and accomodating until I said my room dirty...I would never recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dumjaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

My other favorite hotel was booked so I decided to book here since your stay included a mineral soak. I paid $55 with and that included a upgrade to a rooftop private mineral tub. They do drain the water between soaks and they added a cool water faucet in addition to the mineral valve so you can cool down the water. (They have some of the hottest mineral springs in town at 112 degrees.) The room was average. For the price I would rather stay here over any chain motel and the staff was very nice. If you are used to luxury you might want to stick to Blackstone or Sierra Grande. Overall, for the value of the room it was a pretty decent stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.1 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
820 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
125 reviews
4.6 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa

Property: Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa
Address: 601 N Broadway St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2730 (Formerly Charles Motel and Bath House)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles is made up of two historical buildings. The Spa building, constructed in the late 1940s, and The Charles Apartments, built in the early ‘30s, sit side-by-side on Broadway, awaiting the arrival of guests who venture to the southwest for a relaxing getaway, or on a quest for healing, or even who "just had to stop in a town called Truth or Consequences." The real joy of the Charles Spa and Motel lies in the mineral-rich water that flows from the ground beneath the facility, arriving in the Charles’ baths at a piping 112 degrees Fahrenheit. This incredible water has been used in healing for centuries and is also available in our private outdoor Jacuzzis. A nice hot bath is perfect prior to an in-house massage which is available by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing