We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa(Truth or Consequences)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Paloma Hot Springs & Spa(Truth or Consequences)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Hot Springs(Truth or Consequences)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocket Inn(Truth or Consequences)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert View Inn(Truth or Consequences)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ace Lodge(Truth or Consequences)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Truth or Consequences(Truth or Consequences)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Travelodge Truth or Consequences(Truth or Consequences)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
26
24
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
24
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop jacuzzimineral watergrocery store across the streetbed was comfortablein townenjoyed our stayfull kitchennew mexicokitchenettebathsvintagesoaksdegreesbathhouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I loved it here and plan to stay again on my next trip to T or C. It is very reasonably priced, clean, quiet and the management, Kathy, is very attentive and personable. It is conveniently located and has nice views of Turtleback Mountain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wcivoklap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Nostalgic and funky. It is a must stay at place. No two rooms are a like. There is no other place in town that offers so much for your money and it has Kathy to boot. Hot spring bath, body wraps, and massages all in one sitting.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zelda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Charles is like the town--old, off-beat, and kind of bohemian. It's got personality. My suite was clean and quiet, not luxurious, but perfectly satisfactory. What I love most are the things you'll find nowhere else. Doing yoga outside my room on the roof with a view of Turtleback Mountain. Soaking under the stars in the hot spring. The staff are amazing. I have never seen people so genuinely interested in customer service, and they do it from the heart. I felt like I was at home. If you "get" T or C, you'll appreciate the charms of the Charles.

Room Tip: The rooms on the long side of the L and upstairs are quieter than the ones on the far end, the short part of the L. Older, thicker walls, I guess.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I shared here with my 2-year old daughter and got great value for the trip. The hotel is older, but the room was clean, the bathtub was nice, and the trip included a soak in the mineral springs (private tubs - men's side and women's side). I would highly recommend paying the $9/person to go to the private Jacuzzi on the roof (by the way, take the one with the shade). Overall - great value for the cost.

Room Tip: You get a free mineral water soak for each night you stay (private tubs - men's side and women's side)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Reserved a private roof top tub in the evening hoping to see some amazing nm night skies... Was sent up to the roof by a not so attentive attendant, to an empty jacuzzi tub. Returned down stairs for directions on filling tub, " oh yeah, turn the red nozzle. Go up and turned red nozzle nothing comes out... Back downstairs, "oh yeah, all the tubs have been drained, you gotta wait till they all fill up first." Finally filling, but its draining too, back down, "oh yeah, turn pipe to left" By the time it filled it had abeen 25 minutes of our one hour... Okay, she did say we could stay past our hour since they're shutting down for the night. Once filled water is hot! Barely any stars to see withe the bright Charles neon sign but hey- water is hot and you can see some stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank 68Wigwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews