We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunchtime treat”
Review of Carmen's Kitchen

Carmen's Kitchen
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
edinburgh,scotland
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“lunchtime treat”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Arrived just aftre 1 as other diners were leaving but got friendly reception. Decor nothing fancy but we have found these eating places were the ones to try. Staff knew the diners names who were leaving so a regular clientele.
Had a special soup to share called posole which is made only when the weather gets colder .... it was magnificent. Made with pork, maize and an abundance of herbs and spices, it was so good we ordered 2 extra takeaway portions to eat that night!
For mains we both had taco shells 1 with pulled pork and 1 with ground beef. Both came with salad sour creame and were delicious.
Very friendly staff ... they were telling us how they made the soup and if made when there are high outside temperatures it goes off quickly so thats why it is made when its colder
The pulled pork was not on the menu for the taco shells but they will make this up for you

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hit the spot!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Looking for a good home cooked meal? We found it here at Carmen's Kitchen and it hit the spot! We also liked all the framed southwestern art!!! The salsa and chips were also exceptionally good!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good service!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Arrived 10 min prior to closing time and they welcomed us with a smile! Food was good, small restaurant, good " hole in the wall" atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comadrecarreon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise! A must to try for Breakfast!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had to have some car repairs. The mechanic suggested we stop in at his favorite spot, Carmen's Kitchen. We ordered the Huevos Rancheros. OH MY! The BEST EVER!!! We live in Arizona and we know Huevos Rancheros. The green chili is something I will Crave. The staff was kind, felt like we were in someone's home. I would stop in just for the breakfast on my way through.
YUM-O!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodlifesupplement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's not trying to be fancy”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It's ok. I just didn't like the lackage of tortillas with the meal. the service was good and the food was really a good value. More tortillas next time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zolfione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmen's Kitchen also viewed

Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 

Been to Carmen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing