We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Food, but not Real Mexican Food”

La Cocina Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kirtland, Ohio
Level Contributor
290 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“OK Food, but not Real Mexican Food”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The food was OK, but if you prefer real Mexican Food you will be disappointed. It is Americanized Mexican Food. There are many choices on the menu.

Service was very good, and the decor inside the restaurant is very well done.
I

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiga9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, Owner at La Cocina Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank You for taking your time to write a review

Glad you enjoyed the decor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    27
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food Good prices!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was Monsoon Season so it was cooler but not raining when I was there.
I enjoyed the patio and water fountain. The chips and salsa was tasty and I had the apricot broiled Salmon. It had salsa and pinon' nuts broiled on top! It was great plus they offered the option of potatoes and veggies instead of Black beans and Spanish rice! Since I added a Chile rellenos on the side,, obviously I was enjoying Mexican food! I'd go back! :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, Owner at La Cocina Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time for a review

Our traditional New Mexican recipes are handed down from our great grandparents.

We still do it the old fashion way soaking whole chili pods from Hatch and blending them before seasoning .. nothing else added

our steaks are still hand cut and our hamburgers are made daily.

Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food - terrible, no good, very bad service”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Order your food to go, that way you won't be frustrated by the disappearing waitress. The green chile cheese enchiladas are great, the rellenos pretty good. Tamale way too dry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crucesaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, Owner at La Cocina Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank You for choosing La Cocina and also taking the time for an important review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worse Mexican Food Ever!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Went into La Cocina while visiting Truth or Consequences after doing a Rio Grande rafting trip...Expecting a good Mexican dinner...Our waitress was very nice ... but not to familiar with the menu & entree selection... Atmosphere was OK but upon treating some guests to a dining experience...We experienced the "WORST MEXICAN FOOD" I've ever had the stew meat for our tacos and chicken in enchiladas was SO DRY & overcooked we seriously could not eat it! It almost tasted like leftover meat from days gone by.... The taco shells were stale and tasted store bought!!! The meal for 5 people everyone couldn't even eat their whole entree in every aspect of each entree selection! I would never eat at this restaurant again in my life!! THE MOST HORRIBLE MEXICAN FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD!!!! I would never suggest this restaurant to anyone to dine or eat at!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where is the AC?! Took FOREVER to be served. Never again!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Resturant is pretty, but they aren't running the AC in July?! After a hot day on the lake, a cold drink in a cool restaurant was ideal for our family. Unfortunately, we didn't succeed in our hopes of a relaxing meal here. The room had to be 80 degrees. Food took over an hour to be served, and the resturant nearly empty. With three small kids, we just don't have that kind of time. Food was fair at best. DONT ORDER GROUND BEEF! It's mealy, salty and strong. Could have been bad, not sure yet...that will be an entire other review if my tummy decides so. Waitress was sweet, but she wasn't enough to overcome the combo of the heat and mediocre food. We won't go back here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JessThomas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty B, Owner at La Cocina Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank You for taking the time for your review



It's been averaging over 105 with high humidity .. 80 degrees is about all that an ambient (refrigerated air) system can do .. All 4 air condition units are running at capacity in such high heat, with the rain it can get very humid.

We strive to please everyone and sometimes we may fall short,

Again thank you for taking the time for us to hear your voice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cocina Restaurant also viewed

Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 

Been to La Cocina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing