We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

Geronimo Springs Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

There's a lot in this cramped, dusty little building. Some of it is interesting - a great collection of ancient Indian pottery and figurines (some rather R-rated!), oddly erotic murals of Indians and Conquistadors, and some info on the woman warrior Lozen. But overall, it's no different from most small-town, regional museums: dusty, not well lit or preserved, with an overabundance of boring "artifacts" from settler days.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DeLani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    61
    20
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
El Paso
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lot of history in a small place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love to come to this place and just wander. My family is from the town and there is memorabila that has a direct tie to them. It is a step back in time and my heart as well. But even for a non - native of the town, there is so much to learn about the little city, once known as "Hot Springs". I highly recommend it and it will be worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile stop”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Really comprehensive history of the town and area. Clearly not professionally curated, which is part of the charm - a lot of time and commitment went into the exhibits, and I believe the staff is all volunteers. We looked through the whole place in 1.5 or 2 hours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great museum with amazing history...”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The amount of history to be found here is impressive for a small museum. There are several rooms filled with artifacts from native Americans to the present day. The Geronimo room is very impressive with detailed history of his family. A room is dedicated to Ralph Edwards who is credited with the naming of the city, "Truth or Consequences". There is an original log cabin which was moved to the location and from within the museum you can view the interior with many original artifacts of the time. One of the rooms has the history of ranching which I found very impressive. There is more to see and really recommend visiting when in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bonaventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
362 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Lots of stuff to see”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This museum sure has a lot to see. Most of the displays have a lot of writing to go along with them. A lot of the writing was physically hard to read. I felt like there was a lot of stuff all dumped into this place, making it kind of overwhelming. I tend to like low-tech museums, but after about two rooms, I was done with this one. Maybe better organization would help.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geronimo Springs Museum also viewed

Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 

Been to Geronimo Springs Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing