We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmmm AAaaahhhhh”
Review of Fire Water Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truth or Consequences
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fire Water Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Very nice experience. Stayed again to race in the nearby Elephantman Triathlon. Great room, ambience and host. The suite is Hemingway-esque and reminds me of a place we stayed out down in the islands. My son loved the hammock under the palm trees.

Next time, we'll have to do 2 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

My boyfriend and I spent one night at the Fire Water Lodge, in the Waterfall room. Our first impression was not great, as the courtyard was cluttered and there was no one in the office to greet us or guide us to our room. Some employees at the adjoining deli pointed us in the right direction. During our entire stay, we had no contact with lodge staff. That was surprising. The regional decor in the room was quaint. We opted to stay here because it was one of the few lodgings in the area that had private hot springs tubs and unlimited access. The bed was not very comfortable and the a/c struggled to keep our room cool at night. The view from one of our windows was basically a junkyard. This property has great potential and could be so attractive if the owners cleaned up the grounds and put some money into landscaping. We received two coupons for free bagel sandwiches at the Happy Belly Deli and two free bottles of water with our room, which were nice amenities.

The highlights of our stay were the large, quick-filling hot spring tub in our room, the family-run El Cortez theater within walking distance ($5/ticket), and Cafe Bellaluca, an Italian restaurant right behind the lodge. The people in T or C were very friendly. I'm glad we had the experience, but don't think we'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziukkinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Fantastic, relaxing and soothing experience. The family owners were great. The mineral springs took away every ache and the relaxing with friends in the courtyard was fun. Clean and wonderfully decorated with handmade furniture and local paintings. We can't wait for our next visit, SOON.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Spacious hot spring tub in the room. Rooms very neat, clean, well-decorated. Staff accomodating. Great breakfast sandwich (bagel w/egg and cheese) for free from deli next door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbramblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Fire Water Lodge was wonderful. Very Clean and more that we expected. My husband had traveled through T or C for the past 11 years for business and could not believe how nich this place was, he had passed it over many times throughout the years and never knew what is was! He was pleasantly surprised! Room was cozy and the Mineral Hot Tub was Awesome! Will definately be ging back in the winter Months!!! We were also given a meal voucher for 2 to be used at the "Happy Belly Deli" and the breakfast was YUMMY!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hot mineral tub is worth every penny! I was sceptical at first, but one session convinced me that this is the greatest thing since sliced bread. The room was clean, well furnished, and a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

it's a unique experience... drove from abq on the bike with my girl
on the back. stayed in the eucalyptus room with the outdoor bath. we got some drinks at the supermarket, shared a dinner from the BBQ place across the street ( one entree lasted 2 people dinner, snack, and breakfast), and never left the room after that. it's a very DIY hotel, and after our jaunt we never left the room. we had a lot of fun, very private, and brought way too many clothes. never saw the staff til the next day but all were very hospitable. do it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreadlocksonvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
839 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
70 reviews
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Water Lodge

Address: 311 N Broadway St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Water Lodge is a historic motor court with geothermal hot mineral springs water pumped into each room. You can relax in your own private tub right at the foot of your bed. The water comes out of the ground at 105 to 108 in temperature it is very soothing with lots of minerals sodium potassium magnesium lithium iron and many more all the rooms are southwest style design please please check our website for pictures and availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fire Water Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing