We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Fire Water Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truth or Consequences
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fire Water Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have been through T or C countless times in the last 30+ years.... it had never occurred to me to stay overnight. We came across these properties with on site hot springs/soaking tubs and tried Fire Water Lodge. Great choice!! Funky but clean,, the hot spring was wonderful after a long day of driving and it was very quiet and private.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beestinghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    137
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
336
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We greatly enjoyed our first stay and looked forward to a second time. It's always funky to stay here, but the in-room 2-person tub is such a nice treat. We did use the the space heater to take off the chill and the hot water in the tub helped to warm up the room. I couldn't get a Wi-Fi signal in the room and there were no breakfast coupons in the room. The next morning, we called and learned the coupons were outside the door. Still no Wi-Fi signal and really no apology or explanation when I asked. I was disappointed in the lack of concern about my inquiry.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I just spent two nights/three days relaxing in the AGAVE room of the Fire Water Lodge on a Sun-Tues before Thanksgiving. I feel totally refreshed thanks to the combination a deep, beautiful tiled in-room spa and the healing hands of Massage Therapist Teina Barrett Wells. For a fabulous, hour-long full body, massage she charges $50 -- I gave her a generous tip because she worked wonders on my injured body. The Fire Water Lodge has their own dedicated massage room which is private and lovely. The comfortable King sized bed provided a great night's sleep and the bright, serape Mexican blankets for curtains and hand-made, southwestern style TV cabinet added to the charm. A microwave, refrigerator and full-sized coffee pot, plus bathrobes and lush towels met all my needs. The heating system was easily adjusted as was the flat screen TV and remote. A daily coupon for a free breakfast at the Happy Belly Deli topped off the creature comforts. They kindly worked with me on my low carb b-fast and substituted delicious crispy bacon for the large, decadent looking bagels. There's also a lovely Italian Restaurant nearby--the Bella Luca - so there's really no need for your vehicle once you're there. Broadway Ave. has a number of quaint little shops. One that was open on Monday that carried a beautiful assortment of Native American jewelry at excellent prices was directly across the street from the Fire Water Lodge on 400 Broadway which is on the corner at the end of the block on the opposite side of the street. An older gentleman with the patience of a saint will gladly help you find just the right piece of jewelry. So if you're looking for a relaxing retreat where you can recharge, consider this clean, comfortable room that Richard has lovingly restored. If you're driving down from Albuquerque, consider also taking the detour to Bosque del Apache. This is a beautiful time to view the beautiful cranes and geese.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank suburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque NM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent our anniversary at the Fire Water Lodge. Great room AWSOME hot spring tub in the room. free breakfast at the Happy Belly Deli right on the property. Damien is a gracious host that makes you feel like going back soon.
For anyone who hasnt enjoyed the healing waters in T or C I highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in #7 Datura the tub is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artesia, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This Lodge is in buildings over 100 years old but are fixed up in a very unique way. the rooms are clean and comfortable. Loved the huge tiled tub in our room for the relaxing experience in the Hot Springs water. Richard is very friendly and helpful. Will stay there again. Note: Not all rooms have an inside Hot Springs area. Some have outside fenced in areas for the Hot Springs experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bykerchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concan, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

To Everyone involved with the up keep and dad to day operation of FIRE WATER LODGE: we spent aug 16-18 at the lodge. The quietness is unbelievable. Rooms are spotless and beds are just the right softness/harness. Room9 needs an up grade on ac or it needs to be turned on early the morning of the arrival. The room was almost unbearable. We purchased a box fan so we could have air blowing a breeze over our sweat ridden bodies. Other than that, having the bathing tub in our room worked wonderfully. I soaked endlessly. My aches and pains are not quite noticeable as before. The fire water lodge is a serene quiet area conducive to complete relaxation. Thanks for your hospitality

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geninva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Staff friendly and appropriately low key. I would have liked healthy soap products, not deodorant bars with fragrance and hand soap with fragrance. Given the healthy nature of soaking and those that want it, as well as the price of the room I would have expected this. I also don't tolerate chemical fragrances well.

Upscale Italian restaurant parking lot behind my room was hopping on a Friday night with windows still open, this was ok but I would have liked it quieter. This is not FireWater's fault. Next time I will choose a room farther away. Happy Belly let me opt for a free huge breakfast burrito that was excellent since I was just one person with two coupons, instead of the bagels. This was my second time there and I will return.

Room Tip: Ask owner which are quieter from restaurant parking lot in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crg505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#9 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Water Lodge

Property: Fire Water Lodge
Address: 311 N Broadway St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-2833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Water Lodge is a historic motor court with geothermal hot mineral springs water pumped into each room. You can relax in your own private tub right at the foot of your bed. The water comes out of the ground at 105 to 108 in temperature it is very soothing with lots of minerals sodium potassium magnesium lithium iron and many more all the rooms are southwest style design please please check our website for pictures and availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fire Water Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing