We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright & Cheerful and reasonably priced”
Review of Pelican Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pelican Spa
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bright & Cheerful and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was our second time to stay at the Pink Pelican - annex building across from main area. Room #9 had 2 double beds, flat screen TV, bath with new toilet, pedestal sink, concrete stall shower, full kitchen with everything we needed. Only suggestion would be to add a shelf in the shower to hold toiletries. They line-dry the sheets and towels like in the old days for a fresh and natural experience. The building was old, but well maintained and had upgraded electrical switches. We mainly went for the use of the private baths in the main building. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. You get unlimited use and the concrete tubs are spacious enough for 2. Paint colors are bright, typical New Mexico and the owner has a huge modern art collection that is displayed everywhere for your enjoyment. He even has an art museum around the corner. There is a comfortable lounge area with plenty of magazines to enjoy while waiting for other family members to get out of the spa area. There is coffee or hot tea and water available free in the kitchen area for after you use the hot tubs to rehydrate. There is a fantastic restaurant in walking distance for breakfast - BBQ on Broadway. The restaurant even has a sign that says, "Beware of Attack Waitress". Great service and food. We figured out the attack waitress was the one we had. Great lady.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    37
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
19
64
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corrales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here because everything with a higher rating was full. The room(s) were $55. For that price, you can't expect a lot and you don't get it. We had a pelican room in the annex building, which is a converted early to mid 20th century apt. building in a barren vacant lot across from the main facility, which houses a couple of rooms and the baths. The baths are indoor in private rooms, but old metal tubs which didn't look all that appealing (we didn't try them). There is also a living room in the main building for lounging, a small patio, and more or less continuous free coffee.

As for our room itself, it had a living room, full kitchen, br, and bath. Size not withstanding, it's still a cheap room. Electrical outlet for coffee pot did not work, and the only other place you could put it and have the cord reach the outlet was on the floor in the living room. The bath was old and worn with rusted drains in the sink and tub, and very worn porcelain in the tub, making it only suitable to use as a shower.

The worst part was the bed, which was pretty broken down and sagged in the middle, making it very difficult for two to sleep. Curtains all around the place flimsy and hard to cover the full window. Space heaters only, which kept our room warm enough in late Feb, but could be a problem in colder months.

On the upside it was clean. It had a flat screen TV. My advice to the owners would be to skip outlay for the flat screen TV and spend the money on a decent bed instead.

Bottom line: if you need to save money on a room and also to save money by cooking it's ok as long as you don't expect a lot. Like I said, you get what you pay for. For $15 bucks more you can get a lot nicer facility (at Riverbend -- we toured the place) in T or C, if you can get in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 965oftentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Pelican Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
We are sorry that you did not get your choice of hotel. It would have been better for all of us if you had. Thank you for your feedback on the bed and the non-working electrical receptacle. We will immediately check into that as our guest's comfort is important to us. By the way, the hot mineral bath tubs are all made of poured concrete and not metal. Response by Sid Bryan/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Chilly in Santa Fe though not cold but a weekend in warm T or C seemed a perfect way to get over Black Friday. I couldn't come here as often if this place wasn't so affordable. They take my dog and the tubs are included. Great room The parsimien(sp?) and they seemed pretty full with a lively young crowd. Joe West at Groovy Gritz and breakfast at the White Coyote for a perfect vacation all in the space of one weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Santafesoaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I absolutely love the Pelican Spa. The rooms, shared spaces at the spa and grounds in general are colorful and uplifting. It's my retreat town from the hustle of Santa Fe city life. I can walk anywhere I need. Bullocks grocery is just up the street with food, liqour and wine. I can walk to the Black Cat book store for fabulous coffee or just make my own at the spa. We love hanging out in the plaza spaces at night with a glass of wine and the best weather a girl could ask for. There are never noisy people and care is taken on all the rooms to have clean sheets and plenty of clean towels. The spa is in the town which is easily walkable to everywhere.

Room Tip: The Loft is a giant room that has great potential for a family. Two beds, bar, full refrigerator/fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

There was a misunderstanding with the Pelican Spa last time I was there which inspired me to write a critical review, but since then, I have revisited the Pelican Spa, and after my last visit, promptly removed my critical review, for what is there to dislike about the place. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the beds are the best in town, you are allowed unlimited visits to the baths, which is unheard of in T or C, there is an excellent kitchenette provided in each of the rooms, which is a necessity in T or C, because if you are there more than three or four days, you will starve if you don't cook your own food. I have been going to T or C for decades and love the air, the mineral water, New Mexico. Pelican Spa, for the money, is arguably the best place in town

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good in their own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakblakiniraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Great check in and cute room. That changed over night with less then friendly a.m. staff and dead friends in shower and kitchen (guess I'm glad they were dead!). Had the option to stay or go, so after a soak we split. Colorful place and for the price probably ok for those that are use to unwelcome creatures small and large.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cATwin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The rooms were funky, individually decorated with modern art and bright colors. The hardwood floor was grass green, but the bed was red, as was the dresser and artwork. All of the rooms in the building we stayed in were suites, witha kitchen including a moderate sized refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave and fully furnished with plates/pots/pans/utensils. There was a flatscreen TV with multiple channels. It's hardly a complaint in the desert, but there was a little bit of dirt on the floor... The bed and appliances and furniture were clean. The building we were in was right across the street from the soaking rooms, which was fine for us, we had a great sunset view from the 2nd floor. There are rooms available closer to the soaking rooms. The mineral tubs are reserved only for guests staying over. Unlimited soaking is included. It is right downtown, so there are plenty of eateries and shops within a short walk!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
Travelodge Truth OR Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Sp...
#10 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Spa

Property: Pelican Spa
Address: 306 S Pershing St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-3346
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Spa & Hotel is a comfortable, colorful and reasonably priced hotel and spa conveniently situated in Downtown Truth or Consequences in historical buildings and within easy walking distance of restaurants,shops,local museum and art galleries. The hotel has the most reasonable rates in town and includes FREE, unlimited hot mineral water soaks for all guests in our private, indoor tub rooms in our central spa building. Each room is furnished with vintage furniture and original art and features FREE WI FI Internet, HDTV with Direct TV cable, and kitchenettes. We also have convenient meeting rooms and Asian-style outdoor courtyard environments. We specialize in hosting groups of all kinds for meetings, weddings and retreats and have special group rates. Please contact us if you would like to have your group meeting or event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing