We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time as good as the first!”
Review of Pelican Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelican Spa
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Second time as good as the first!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was our second visit to the Pelican Spa and it was a wonderful stay. I've never been anywhere like it. We were the only guests for the night we stayed and we were in the Aqua room that is located inside the main building next to the office. The room was clean and decorated in a fun funky fashion and had it's own soaking tub. The staff was friendly and check in was super easy. This place will always be our choice when we are in T or C!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper the Aqua room may not be the best choice for you because of the noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moviejunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    39
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
22
67
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The Pelican is pretty unique. There are several buildings taking up a couple blocks. Two friends and I stayed a night there in a very colorful, large clean room which included a kitchen. The decor is funky, bright and tacky. But it really works. The community room is really well done and comfortable. You can walk to anywhere in town as ToC is so small. The hot springs tubs were a nice treat and included in the price. As a side trip we headed up to Elephant Butte at night to watch the stars. Beautiful. The host was a bit brisk and abrupt; however, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asinisimasa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This colorful hotel was just what we needed! We stayed for a week in the Turquoise room. The first night was rough as the bed that faces the living room was not very comfortable and the light coming in from the way-over-lit-up-streets of T&C was annoying. But the rest of the time we slept in the other queen bed which was very comfortable and mu ch darker on that side of the room. This suite is sparse, but comfortable and very colorful. The place is very clean, but its in a desert, so there is desert dust throughout the town that my nose did not appreciate.

The people of the The Pelican "complex" are very kind, professional, and helpful. The courtyard, living room, kitchen and tubs were always clean and well-stocked. And the internet was strong and dependable everywhere (at The Pelican Spa - I can't speak for the other buildings).

It would be fun to rent the entire place out for special events. I love the art work everywhere and the tubs were fabulous! They are cement (not metal as one review stated) and hot but not too hot (and you can add cold water if it is too hot for your taste). And there are lots of restaurants and coffee within walking distance.

We had a great time at a great price! Thanks Pelican Spa!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was our second time to stay at the Pink Pelican - annex building across from main area. Room #9 had 2 double beds, flat screen TV, bath with new toilet, pedestal sink, concrete stall shower, full kitchen with everything we needed. Only suggestion would be to add a shelf in the shower to hold toiletries. They line-dry the sheets and towels like in the old days for a fresh and natural experience. The building was old, but well maintained and had upgraded electrical switches. We mainly went for the use of the private baths in the main building. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. You get unlimited use and the concrete tubs are spacious enough for 2. Paint colors are bright, typical New Mexico and the owner has a huge modern art collection that is displayed everywhere for your enjoyment. He even has an art museum around the corner. There is a comfortable lounge area with plenty of magazines to enjoy while waiting for other family members to get out of the spa area. There is coffee or hot tea and water available free in the kitchen area for after you use the hot tubs to rehydrate. There is a fantastic restaurant in walking distance for breakfast - BBQ on Broadway. The restaurant even has a sign that says, "Beware of Attack Waitress". Great service and food. We figured out the attack waitress was the one we had. Great lady.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here because everything with a higher rating was full. The room(s) were $55. For that price, you can't expect a lot and you don't get it. We had a pelican room in the annex building, which is a converted early to mid 20th century apt. building in a barren vacant lot across from the main facility, which houses a couple of rooms and the baths. The baths are indoor in private rooms, but old metal tubs which didn't look all that appealing (we didn't try them). There is also a living room in the main building for lounging, a small patio, and more or less continuous free coffee.

As for our room itself, it had a living room, full kitchen, br, and bath. Size not withstanding, it's still a cheap room. Electrical outlet for coffee pot did not work, and the only other place you could put it and have the cord reach the outlet was on the floor in the living room. The bath was old and worn with rusted drains in the sink and tub, and very worn porcelain in the tub, making it only suitable to use as a shower.

The worst part was the bed, which was pretty broken down and sagged in the middle, making it very difficult for two to sleep. Curtains all around the place flimsy and hard to cover the full window. Space heaters only, which kept our room warm enough in late Feb, but could be a problem in colder months.

On the upside it was clean. It had a flat screen TV. My advice to the owners would be to skip outlay for the flat screen TV and spend the money on a decent bed instead.

Bottom line: if you need to save money on a room and also to save money by cooking it's ok as long as you don't expect a lot. Like I said, you get what you pay for. For $15 bucks more you can get a lot nicer facility (at Riverbend -- we toured the place) in T or C, if you can get in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 965oftentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Pelican Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
We are sorry that you did not get your choice of hotel. It would have been better for all of us if you had. Thank you for your feedback on the bed and the non-working electrical receptacle. We will immediately check into that as our guest's comfort is important to us. By the way, the hot mineral bath tubs are all made of poured concrete and not metal. Response by Sid Bryan/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Chilly in Santa Fe though not cold but a weekend in warm T or C seemed a perfect way to get over Black Friday. I couldn't come here as often if this place wasn't so affordable. They take my dog and the tubs are included. Great room The parsimien(sp?) and they seemed pretty full with a lively young crowd. Joe West at Groovy Gritz and breakfast at the White Coyote for a perfect vacation all in the space of one weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Santafesoaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I absolutely love the Pelican Spa. The rooms, shared spaces at the spa and grounds in general are colorful and uplifting. It's my retreat town from the hustle of Santa Fe city life. I can walk anywhere I need. Bullocks grocery is just up the street with food, liqour and wine. I can walk to the Black Cat book store for fabulous coffee or just make my own at the spa. We love hanging out in the plaza spaces at night with a glass of wine and the best weather a girl could ask for. There are never noisy people and care is taken on all the rooms to have clean sheets and plenty of clean towels. The spa is in the town which is easily walkable to everywhere.

Room Tip: The Loft is a giant room that has great potential for a family. Two beds, bar, full refrigerator/fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.2 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
817 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
182 reviews
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
58 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Spa

Property: Pelican Spa
Address: 306 S Pershing St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-3346
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Spa & Hotel is a comfortable, colorful and reasonably priced hotel and spa conveniently situated in Downtown Truth or Consequences in historical buildings and within easy walking distance of restaurants,shops,local museum and art galleries. The hotel has the most reasonable rates in town and includes FREE, unlimited hot mineral water soaks for all guests in our private, indoor tub rooms in our central spa building. Each room is furnished with vintage furniture and original art and features FREE WI FI Internet, HDTV with Direct TV cable, and kitchenettes. We also have convenient meeting rooms and Asian-style outdoor courtyard environments. We specialize in hosting groups of all kinds for meetings, weddings and retreats and have special group rates. Please contact us if you would like to have your group meeting or event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing