We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful, Comfortable & Friendly”
Review of Pelican Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelican Spa
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Spent three days at the Pelican while taking part in a silent retreat at the Studio de la Luz. The main building and apartments across the way are a BRIGHT pink. At first, I was taken aback with the bright colour, but the beautiful boulders, rocks, iron art work and stone Chinese guard lions in the enclosed patio changed my mind. You can sit at a table under the awning (?) or in the open air to soak up some glorious sun. My room was fine accept for the one low chair that was difficult to sit in & get out of. The staff was very helpful and friendly - showing me the available soaking baths, taking me to my room across the way, adjusting my TV and bringing me a needed iron. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Pelican Spa is fantastic! Perfectly funky, quirky, and cool just like the town of Truth or Consequences. We stayed in 3 different rooms over the course of 5 weeks. All of them with vintage 50's flair, colorful decor, and original art. The rooms were very affordable and included daily unlimited soaking in the hot springs. Can't beat it! Staff were great, friendly people. And, you can walk to anything in town - groceries, restaurants, park, etc. Highly recommend you check out the Pelican when you come through this weird, wild and warm desert outpost!

Room Tip: Check out the interior of the rooms on the website and request your favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to stop in T or C on our way to AZ to cut driving time. I did some quick research and found this place. Don't let this little neighborhood drive you away! It's different, but amazing. We paid $45 for the night and got an awesome little room (every room is different) with a little sitting area, queen bed, bathroom, and direct tv. We rolled in late and didn't get a chance to try the mineral baths, but the showers were SO relaxing! We also got some good advice on local food. The only issue was the couple that decided to argue loudly outside about their dog being loose. Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank blr-ejt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I LOVED this place! Yes, it is kind of funky. We stayed in a great room with a full 50-s style kitchen (if you don't mind the kitchen being literally right next to the bed.) The bathroom was TINY but we didn't need it with the public baths. (We were only here 1 day.) The sitting room had a great Formica table. Only problem was the Cable went out, and there's no solid internet there. And the pillows were TERRIBLE.

The 5 baths are each unique, though there's lots of noise filter through the walls, it's still really nice that it comes, for free, with the room. There was an incredible, large sitting room that I never saw anyone use. There's also filtered water, hot and cold, and a nice outdoor sitting area. This place was very inexpensive, and yes, it's not the Ritz, but it has character and is very much worth the price.

Highly recommended if you like funky and quirky. If you like high end spas, you may want to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I try to work in a spa vacation at least once a year and for the money this is the best. Rooms in the main courtyard are quiet and secure. Folks forget that winter time is great for birding around the Dam and the lake. Pelican Spa allows for a pleasant retreat from hiking or other physical activities. This is a vibrant color and retro do which is a pleasant retreat from the run of the mill motel room. You never know what will pop out to serve your visual curiosity. Who would expect an old time projector in the bathroom?

Room Tip: If you come in the winter, make sure you have a heater. Some rooms have combo ac/heater. Others do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

From the wonderful staff. To the beautiful grounds. To the warm & healing-the-soul tubs. To my awesome room - the Persimmon Suite. I could not have been happier. Eager to return and stay in the Asian-themed rooms, over in the Red Pelican. Fun Times! Thank you Pelican Spa!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HombreDelOeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My first time ever going to any hotsprings/baths type place....it was fantastic! We were lucky enough to get the Aqua Room. Very clean, smelled good, staff was super. SO relaxing and fun! A perfect weekend getaway...will go back as soon as possible :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoolMom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.3 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
849 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
187 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#7 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Spa
Charles Motel and Hot Springs Sp...
#9 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Desert View Inn
Desert View Inn
#6 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Spa

Address: 306 S Pershing St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-3346
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Price Range: £46 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Spa & Hotel is a comfortable, colorful and reasonably priced hotel and spa conveniently situated in Downtown Truth or Consequences in historical buildings and within easy walking distance of restaurants,shops,local museum and art galleries. The hotel has the most reasonable rates in town and includes FREE, unlimited hot mineral water soaks for all guests in our private, indoor tub rooms in our central spa building. Each room is furnished with vintage furniture and original art and features FREE WI FI Internet, HDTV with Direct TV cable, and kitchenettes. We also have convenient meeting rooms and Asian-style outdoor courtyard environments. We specialize in hosting groups of all kinds for meetings, weddings and retreats and have special group rates. Please contact us if you would like to have your group meeting or event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing