We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky motor court with hot springs tubs”
Review of Pelican Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelican Spa
Reviewed 2 June 2009

My daughter and I were traveling cross country and made a special trip to stay at the Pelican Spa. It was probably a motor court back in the 50's but has recently been redone in tropical colors. Our place had a living room, kitchen with fridge and microwave, bedroom and bath in hot pink and lavender. The decor is funky and makes you smile. We enjoyed the hot baths which are in private rooms in the spa so much that we stayed an extra nice. The town of Truth or Consequences is also quite quirky and delightful. Be sure that you look at the pictures!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeLoafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 157 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2009

First, let me start by noting this is actually a really interesting place, and would normally be right up my alley. I stayed in the Aqua room, which has a massive hot spring tub right it, which is great. Bright colors and unique decor make it a happy place.

A few serious drawbacks get it a lower rating however (I would give it 3.5 if I could). The room has no door on the bathroom. Now, since I was by myself, this was no problem. But were you traveling with someone, even a significant other, the toilet being right out there in the room is a little awkward. My room is right next to the office, and the door is not solid (panels are funky looking metal, with gaps) and there are windows high along the wall that are open. This means I can hear every conversation and the awful ring on the phone (its really loud and some kind of recorded music). Add to that the washers in the hall that I can hear from inside the room, and its not really the most peaceful place. I am sure when the office goes for the day, it will be better, but its still a little too much. I can her her turning pages in a book right now!

All of this would be ok if it were obvious before you book, but its not from the website (especially the open toilet bit). I choose this room as it was the only one with a tub in it, and since I am alone, I will stay in it. But for $90 in a crummy little town, its overpriced.

Also, their website says its on South Pershing- beware, its actually North Pershing.
Free internet is nice though, and the room is immaculate, funky, and unique. The decor is what pushes this back up to 4 starts- its a really pleasant room to look at, thoughtful in every detail.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycehamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We spent part of the week of New Years Eve at the Pelican. It is a sweet property with a welcoming courtyard and fantastic indoor concrete tubs of different sizes. Since they're indoors they got hot and steamy fast. There are also cold showers in the spa tub to cool off which is nice. All the tubs are private and they also have a lounge room if you want to watch a movie or hang out indoors. We stayed at the Annex which is about one mile from the spa. It is a sweet little casita perfect for two. The exterior is rock or slate and it's beautiful. The interior has hardwood floors and ceilings complete with vigas, arched doorways and plenty of fun art throughout. There is a kitchen, cable and wireless internet. We felt right at home and would go back and recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gotmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

If you are spending the night in T or C, NM I'd recommend the Pelican. The colors and decorations are fantastic. The innkeeper and the mineral baths are really great too. Rates are very affortable and the rooms have a lot of character. We were in the "blue apartment" which wasn't in tip top shape but neither is the whole town.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truth or Consequences
0.3 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
844 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#7 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#8 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
131 reviews
4.5 mi away
Elephant Butte Inn
Elephant Butte Inn
#1 of 2 in Elephant Butte
110 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rio Grande Motel
Rio Grande Motel
#1 of 1 in Williamsburg
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Spa

Address: 306 S Pershing St, Truth or Consequences, NM 87901-3346
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Truth or Consequences
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Truth or Consequences
Price Range: £46 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Spa & Hotel is a comfortable, colorful and reasonably priced hotel and spa conveniently situated in Downtown Truth or Consequences in historical buildings and within easy walking distance of restaurants,shops,local museum and art galleries. The hotel has the most reasonable rates in town and includes FREE, unlimited hot mineral water soaks for all guests in our private, indoor tub rooms in our central spa building. Each room is furnished with vintage furniture and original art and features FREE WI FI Internet, HDTV with Direct TV cable, and kitchenettes. We also have convenient meeting rooms and Asian-style outdoor courtyard environments. We specialize in hosting groups of all kinds for meetings, weddings and retreats and have special group rates. Please contact us if you would like to have your group meeting or event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Truth Or Consequences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing