We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro at its best”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Route 66 Motel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I last reviewed the Route 66 Motel around 2010-11 and if there are any changes they are for the better. We travel from Maryland to Arizona each winter and return in the spring and always stay at the Route 66 if near Tucumcari for the nite. We travel with our Golden and usually ask for the pet suite. We have always been satisfied with all our stays there. The owners are super friendly and if you call them from the road about 1hr. before your arrival they will make sure either the heat or a/c is on so your room is ready for you. They also operate a morning expresso bar next door to satisfy you breakfast needs. We have been doing motels arcoss the country for the past eleven years and the Historic Route 66 Motel is one our better stops. No, its not the Marriott or the Hilton, but it is a darn nice inexpensive 50's retro motel on Route 66. And if I can throw in another plug. You must have dinner at Dels Restaurant just up the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The owners are super friendly and genuinely nice- they care.
The place was built in the '50's and reminds me of any number of old Miami Beach joints. Art Deco/ Empire/ Modern maintained nicely. The room I stayed in was pretty authentic with just the right amount of turquoise Naugahyde, cheesy varnished piñon pine and horribly gaudy lampshades your favorite aunt Goldie used to have in her Coney Island beach bungalow encased in made-to-fit plastic sheathing.
The rug is perfect wall to wall and didn't feel like animals were living in between the warp and weft. Great pillows, mattress and clean starched sheets.
For the price, ALL chains ought to come take a look because this place is FABULOUS for the PRICE!
Book it now!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WBeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The price was right, but it is very noisy with the wall of glass that shakes any time someone closes a door near it, and you can hear every word that is spoken outside. When we drove in on "route 66" it looked to be a skid row/slum road, most buildings have been abandoned long ago with windows broken and boarded up. This hotel looked okay from the outside, and was a bed to sleep in, but the bathroom tile were askew and the drain looked like it needed lots of love and just wasn't up to our standards.

The bed was okay, the pillows were 3 inches thick and hard.

We shut off the lights, tv and were able to hear, not only the tv in the next room we were able to clearly hear all dialog from the tvs in both rooms on each side. It would be nice if when traveling with pets people had the option of staying in more modern rooms in nicer chain hotels.

We will keep driving next time. Sorry, driving Route 66 is depressing and the dilapidated buildings should be leveled and hauled away - at least in Tucumcari.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zookeypurr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcfulton, Owner at Historic Route 66 Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

I find it almost incomprehensible that you have continued to negatively attack our small independent hotel over the months. While this hotel, like all hotels regardless of price or brand, is not perfect, I would gladly challenge anyone to find a superior hotel that is even remotely similarly priced - and that includes the chain motels. Furthermore, your party had reserved two rooms and as you prepared to check-in, I personally allowed you - at our expense and loss of income - to cancel both of your reservations and then stay in a pet-friendly standard double queen room with four adults and your animal. Why did I do this? I think you probably know - it was because your father (I presume) said that since your entire party was leaving early the next morning all that was required was "just a bed to sleep in for a few hours" because he wanted to save money. He repeated this nonsense about "only wanting a bed to sleep in for a few hours" while also asking for a discount the ENTIRE time I was personally trying to simply register your party into the hotel. It is absolutely bizarre that you entitle your negative review “If you want just a bed to sleep in for a few hours” when that is the exact same statement repeated ad nauseam by your father. Additionally, you stated later that you were "slumming" and would have rather stayed at the La Quinta Inn. Well, you could have, there is a nearly new La Quinta Inn (that offers pet rooms) less than a mile from us in Tucumcari that would rival many urban downtown hotels in terms of quality and amenities. It's a beautiful hotel. Its room rates are also - of course - about four times more than our room rates.

Michael Fulton, Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We rolled in late at night and had a very pleasant stay. We did a 5500 mile road trip, stayed at chains, much more expensive hotels...but this was one of our favorites! LOVE the decor and the room was very clean. Would stay here again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badgerdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I wanted to stay in Tucumcari on the way back from Tucson to K.C. I checked reviews before I left and came up with three possibles: The Blue Swallow, Safari and Historic Route 66. Blue Swallow only had two-person room for $79+tax (traveling solo - too high). Safari was $59+tax and wanted a credit card. I don't use credit cards, so on to the Historic Route 66. $39 with tax! This was a great place! Room was attractive, clean and quiet. Perfect! The Circa coffee shop across the parking lot had just what I needed (caffeine and sugar) the next morning to start the long pull back to K.C. I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed in a pet friendly room that had a bit of a smell. The bed was a bit uncomfortable. Overall the experience was good. Don't miss the lobby ..beautiful retro furniture.

Apart from some noisy truckers..good deal. I was surprised that that had semis park right in front like a real low class motel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outdoor75xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Historic Route 66 Motel is a mid-century time capsule of a thriving Rt. 66 in the good ole days. Our clean room offered comfortable beds, spic-n-span bathroom, finished with details of its original decor, details evident from the lobby to the coffee shop - Circa. Look for the airplane parked under the sign.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryMars33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.5 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
754 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
1.6 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Route 66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Route 66 Motel

Address: 1620 East Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401-4331
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#3 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: £23 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Route 66 Motel is a mid-century modern hotel that is similar in style and atmosphere to hotels and homes designed by Mies van der Rohe, Joseph Eichler, and Oscar Niemeyer. Built in 1963, both the exterior and interior is more than a little reminiscent of "California Modern", a style that was so popular until the latter sixties. Our mission is to provide clean, private, and comfortable overnight accommodations for guests at an extremely reasonable rate. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in select rooms. The Motel also includes a popular European Style Espresso Bar on the west wing where guests receive a 10% discount on all items and an exterior corridor, where guests can park directly, or nearly directly, in front of their rooms. The Historic Route 66 Motel is operated by a professional staff directly managed by the owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Route 66 Hotel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing