We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Motel on Route 66”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Motel on Route 66”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Tucumcari is a really cool place and this Motel was an absolute find. Gail showed us to our room, recommended a restaurant (The Pow-wow) and was so friendly throughout. Even got her husband out quickly when my wedding ring went down the plug! Simply put, best motel on our Route 66 honeymoon!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    99
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
92
224
42
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

It's a trip back in time, but you get to take the technology you like with you. Spacious room. Restful. Made even more delightful because the family that owns it is so personable, friendly and welcoming. Have stayed twice and recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

travel to New Mexico every month or two combining business with pleasure. Stay at The Motel Safari every time I am in Tucumcari, never disappointed. I always get my kicks on Route 66 at Motel Safari. One of the best values on Route 66 and not a "cookie cutter" like the chains, it has it's own personality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crocodilelile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had stayed here before and made a point of getting back by here. The rooms are spotless, we love the great fluffy towels. And Gail is very helpful, shows you to the room and gives you a rundown of all the amenities. Very relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed in Motel Safari during Route 66 trip and absolutely loved our stay! We planned on staying in the Blue Swallow but it was sold out! So we stayed here and we were delighted we did. Gail was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88lenass109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I travel Old Route 66 a few times each year and I really enjoy my stay in Tucumcari. I like the clean rooms with great towels, good water pressure, nice flat screen TV's and the best beds of the whole trip. Motel Safari is a classy Icon of the Mother Road. Stop in and meet the hosts Gail & Richard.

Room Tip: I have stayed several times and like each room very well. The suite was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great place and very clean. Motel is really looked after and modern. We highly recommend it. The lady who runs the place was very helpful. The town itself is very quiet. Certain restaurants are not open on a Sunday. Which meant there was only the Lizard open which was pretty average. Tucumcari is a very quiet town.

Room Tip: Its a very quiet town. Motel is in the middle of anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
653 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
217 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Property: Motel Safari
Address: 722 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTEL SAFARI (est. 1959) - A Route 66 Icon for more than 57 years! Welcome to the world famous Motel Safari on historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, NM. Vintage hotel lodging with modern amenities, squeaky clean rooms and the best beds on the Mother Road! We feature: Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, hypoallergenic down pillows, luxury cotton bath linens, premium bath amenities, 32 inch flat panel HDTV's, in-room coffee makers with coffee, free Wi-Fi and great rates. Journey through time, experience road travel the way it used to be and get your kicks on Route 66. Don't just dream about legends of the road - STAY IN ONE! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing