We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Tucumcari is the half-way point on my trip to Phoenix and Motel Safari is where we always stay. A great location on historic Route 66. The mattresses are good quality, nice bedding, towels are fluffy and bright white. Flat screen tv, retro radio and photos from old Route 66 give the rooms character. The price is fair and a great value.

Room Tip: Try to get as far away as possible from Route 66,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 614MaryS614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Cons: No in-room refrigerator, no heating vents in bathroom, no hairdryer, no electrical plugs near the sink
Pros: Super clean, fun retro décor, flat screen TV, wonderfully comfortable beds, welcoming hosts, economical

All in all, if you can abide with the cons listed above, the Safari is a good bet. We arrived in Tucumcari right after a major ice storm hit the Texas panhandle and the whole area had been swamped with desperate travelers. There was plenty of room the night we arrived, however. My only concern was that we just couldn't get the rooms warm enough, despite our best efforts. It wasn't enough to turn us off to the motel in the future, but other travelers may need to request another blanket if you're traveling with folks who tend to run cold.

Room Tip: Occasionally semi trucks park for the night in the abandoned gas station to the west side of the mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Rolled into Tucumcari after a long day's drive. We had reservations, so the check in was short, yet personable. Not many folks staying the night we were there in mid October, so things were pretty quiet. Our room was warm and clean, bed and pillows were comfortable. The dinner recommendation for the Lizard Lounge just down the street was a good one. They had the hottest salsa I had ever eaten. Waiter said that it had habaneros in it! Yummy, but numbed the tongue in just a few minutes. The only reason that I detract 1 star from this rating is for the fact that, in our room, there was no electrical outlet for shavers/hair dryers in the vanity area, which made things a little inconvenient, but we managed. All in all, a nice, quiet, overnight stay on Route 66. I recommended this motel to a friend who travels through Tucumcari often, but usually stayed at a more expensive place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryf1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Tucumcari is a really cool place and this Motel was an absolute find. Gail showed us to our room, recommended a restaurant (The Pow-wow) and was so friendly throughout. Even got her husband out quickly when my wedding ring went down the plug! Simply put, best motel on our Route 66 honeymoon!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

It's a trip back in time, but you get to take the technology you like with you. Spacious room. Restful. Made even more delightful because the family that owns it is so personable, friendly and welcoming. Have stayed twice and recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

travel to New Mexico every month or two combining business with pleasure. Stay at The Motel Safari every time I am in Tucumcari, never disappointed. I always get my kicks on Route 66 at Motel Safari. One of the best values on Route 66 and not a "cookie cutter" like the chains, it has it's own personality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crocodilelile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had stayed here before and made a point of getting back by here. The rooms are spotless, we love the great fluffy towels. And Gail is very helpful, shows you to the room and gives you a rundown of all the amenities. Very relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
748 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
559 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: £33 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Motel Safari on Historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, New Mexico, has been a Mother Road icon for almost 60 years! We invite you to skip the big chains, drive out a little further and experience road travel the way it used to be. Enjoy an authentic slice of Americana with mid-century modern accommodations that don't sacrifice comfort and modern amenities. Relax on our Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top mattresses with down surround pillows, enjoy 32-inch flat panel HDTVs with cable, cool off with remote-controlled Frigid-Aire, refresh with Speakman Anystream showerheads, stay connected with fast, free WiFi, and wake up to in-room coffee makers. And you can park right at your room! Head outside to unwind on the patio and visit with fellow travelers. We're centrally located, close to dining, shopping and attractions, with several places just a short walk away. When getting your kicks on 66 in Tucumcari, make the Motel Safari your home away from home. Just look for the camel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing