We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic cool motel”
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great historic cool motel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the way back from our route 66 trip. We just could not get enough of Tucumcari and after staying across the street at the Blue Swallow we wanted to experience more of the old motel charm. These rooms are perfect very comfortable, beautifully renovated and you cannot beat the price.

The reason I did not give it a full rating is because of the check in policy. When you are traveling across the country you cannot determine when you will be there and there is so much to do and see. We actually had to skip something we wanted to do along the way because for some reason they cannot leave a key for guests after 10 pm. We stayed in 15 hotels total with the majority of them just like this place and they all would accommodate late check in. Also found it odd that the owner called to see what time we would get there no other owner did this and it was like she was concerned about what time she could leave making sure it was mountain time I was talking about when I told her our eta.

Other than that this place is highly recommended!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    99
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
93
228
42
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in the Wanda Jackson Suite during our stay. It was exceptional. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with nice retro touches. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was completely updated. The huge television is the only one we watched on the whole trip. The kitchen area included a mini-fridge with small separate freezer. The owners Richard and Gayle are nice, friendly folks. The price for the suite is extremely affordable for the comfort and value it provides.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRMedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, OH
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Let me start off by saying the beds, pillows and towels were so soft and comfortable. The room had the right amount of nostalgia and modern items. There was a replica of an old radio but it also had a CD player built in. The pillows and bed were so wonderful. When we first arrived the room had a musty smell to it but went away when we decreased the temperature on the air conditioner. We would certainly stay here again. The price was right on and it was our best nights sleep. The area around the old motels are round down but that seems true with most of the historic Route 66 towns we drove through. It's sad. I'm glad the owner made the place feel co comfortable. The motel is off of interstate 40.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very good Route stop it was like going back in time.
replica radio the front desk was quaint.
The lady was very helpful.
The town is great.
Bed & pillows was so comfortable.
Good gift shop just down the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean. Soft comfortable beds. Service was excellent and is highly recommended for friends and family. Enjoyed my stay and miss the bed and pillows. Will definitely stay there again my next trip. Convenient location as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juantaria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Motel Safari and we are completely satisfied. It is on the classic Route 66 strip, with vintage style murals outside and memorabilia in each room. The Route 66 heritage is honored here, but the accommodations are comfortable for the modern traveler, with a modern aesthetic- this is not kitschy, nor does it look like your grandmother's house, which I appreciated. Each room has a flat screen TV and a/c.

The only reason I rated this hotel a 4 instead of 5 is that the front office closes at 10 pm. While traveling cross country, as most people staying in Tucumcari are, it can be hard to plan arrival times. Delays are inevitable. We almost missed the 10 pm deadline, due to construction, which caused us a lot of stress. We called to let them know we'd be arriving right around 10, and they did wait for us.

Highly recommend this hotel for your Route 66 Tucumcari stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and 2 children stayed at the motel safari and it was great. Gale, the owner showed us to our rooms, she was very nice and polite. the rooms were spacious and very clean.the bed was so comfortable that we slept in and had a late check out. I highly recommend staying there. They also have big flat screen tv`s and the a/c worked fantastic on the hot new mexico heat. We will definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Property: Motel Safari
Address: 722 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTEL SAFARI (est. 1959) - A Route 66 Icon for more than 57 years! Welcome to the world famous Motel Safari on historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, NM. Vintage hotel lodging with modern amenities, squeaky clean rooms and the best beds on the Mother Road! We feature: Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, hypoallergenic down pillows, luxury cotton bath linens, premium bath amenities, 32 inch flat panel HDTV's, in-room coffee makers with coffee, free Wi-Fi and great rates. Journey through time, experience road travel the way it used to be and get your kicks on Route 66. Don't just dream about legends of the road - STAY IN ONE! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing