We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Tucumcari”
Review of Motel Safari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Safari
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A classic made new, but retro! Clean, quiet and comfortable Motel Safari did not disappoint. The rooms have some of the most comfortable towels and linens I have ever used in a motel and the beds are amazing. The motel has a great area set up outside to sit and relax in the evening and the owners are super nice. A must stay when coming through Tucumcari!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mriese2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our Route 66 trip. Rooms were clean and neat. I love the old architecture, but that goes for the town in general. We were a family of four and were quite comfortable. If you are feeling nostalgic, then this is a great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Zombie_slayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Plush bedding and towels, great shower, nice toiletries and super clean. This place has the perfect blend of Route 66 charm and modern comfort. We loved it!

While you're in the neighborhood, try Del's restaurant. It was also a good mix of kitsch and clean. Great service too.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank jomellygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the way back from our route 66 trip. We just could not get enough of Tucumcari and after staying across the street at the Blue Swallow we wanted to experience more of the old motel charm. These rooms are perfect very comfortable, beautifully renovated and you cannot beat the price.

The reason I did not give it a full rating is because of the check in policy. When you are traveling across the country you cannot determine when you will be there and there is so much to do and see. We actually had to skip something we wanted to do along the way because for some reason they cannot leave a key for guests after 10 pm. We stayed in 15 hotels total with the majority of them just like this place and they all would accommodate late check in. Also found it odd that the owner called to see what time we would get there no other owner did this and it was like she was concerned about what time she could leave making sure it was mountain time I was talking about when I told her our eta.

Other than that this place is highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in the Wanda Jackson Suite during our stay. It was exceptional. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with nice retro touches. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was completely updated. The huge television is the only one we watched on the whole trip. The kitchen area included a mini-fridge with small separate freezer. The owners Richard and Gayle are nice, friendly folks. The price for the suite is extremely affordable for the comfort and value it provides.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRMedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Let me start off by saying the beds, pillows and towels were so soft and comfortable. The room had the right amount of nostalgia and modern items. There was a replica of an old radio but it also had a CD player built in. The pillows and bed were so wonderful. When we first arrived the room had a musty smell to it but went away when we decreased the temperature on the air conditioner. We would certainly stay here again. The price was right on and it was our best nights sleep. The area around the old motels are round down but that seems true with most of the historic Route 66 towns we drove through. It's sad. I'm glad the owner made the place feel co comfortable. The motel is off of interstate 40.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SharkGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very good Route stop it was like going back in time.
replica radio the front desk was quaint.
The lady was very helpful.
The town is great.
Bed & pillows was so comfortable.
Good gift shop just down the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Derick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
759 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Safari

Address: 722 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#2 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: £31 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Motel Safari on Historic Route 66 in Tucumcari, New Mexico, has been a Mother Road icon for almost 60 years! We invite you to skip the big chains and experience road travel the way it used to be. Enjoy an authentic slice of Americana with mid-century modern accommodations that don't sacrifice today's comforts and amenities. Relax on Sealy Posturepedic pillow-top mattresses, enjoy 32" HDTVs with cable, groove with Tivoli Audio BT One streaming Rte 66 Radio, cool off with remote-controlled Frigid-Aire, refresh with Speakman Anystream showerheads, stay connected with fast, free WiFi, and wake up to in-room coffee makers. And you can park right at your room! Head outside to unwind on the patio, enjoy the fire pit and visit with fellow travelers. We're centrally located, close to dining, shopping and attractions, with many just a short walk away. When getting your kicks on 66 in Tucumcari, make the Motel Safari your home away from home. Just look for the camel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Hotel Tucumcari
Safari Motel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing