We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing bit of nostalgia for a fab price”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Blue Swallow has been lovingly restored to its former Route 66 glory by a Michigan couple who took a gamble and put down roots in Tucumcari because they believe the mythology of Rte 66. You've gotta love that. You also have to love the comfy rooms with vintage furniture and details (including a big old black desk phone), and the fact that each room comes with its own little garage. Go down the street and get an amazing New Mexican breakfast at Kix 66 or an oversized stein of beer at the Pow Wow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Blue Swallow was a 'must stay' on Route 66. Arriving at the hotel we were greeted my Kevin and the family dog Betsie. Kevin showed us to our room which was clean and well maintained. Loved the original 1950's TV in the cabinet. The beds were comfortable and we had a good night sleep. Kevin had excellent knowledge of the history of the surrounding motels.

Coffee and freshly baked muffins were made by Nancy in the morning. Kevin recommended Dells for dinner and Kix on 66 for breakfast which were both excellent. Many thanks to Kevin and Nancy for their friendly hospitality. We were farewell from Kevin.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank coasttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Rarely does the iconic image of midcentury America add up to a great stay. But here it does. Owners truly appreciate the jewel that is theirs. Authentic cozy rooms. The suite is a very good value. Tucumcari itself is worn out. It will never be a boutique town. The squalor surrounding make the Blue Swallow itself even more precious: a diamond in the rough.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Professor75206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This trip back to Highway 66 popularity was quite fun. It was like stepping into the past beginning with the friendly personal greeting by the owners and their golden retriever and on to the room with the black rotary dial phone, alabaster lamps, black/white bathroom tile, and the metal lawn furniture sitting outside the room door. The room was small but cozy and very clean, the towels fluffy, and the bed comfortable with good quality sheets. The tv sitting on an old sewing machine cabinet added to the nostalgic ambience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is the best place we have stayed in, the owners are so helpful and friendly. The place has a classic feel, the beds are incredibly comfortable. A must stay especially if you are doing Route 66! Friendliest town we have been in!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rah_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend, Stephen and I stayed here on our two week road trip of route 66, and was one of the most memorable on the entire route.

We got there a little earlier than scheduled, but were given the warmest welcome by Kevin and Nancy. We sat putting the world to rights outside our room with a cold route 66 soda watching the sunset. The nice thing about the blue swallow is that you get a real sense of community; lots of other guests were doing the same and we got to chat to everyone staying that night!

The room has been fully restored to what it was when route 66 was in it's prime and it was great to be able to experience it 'as it was'. It was extremely clean and pleasant, just what we needed after a long day on the road.

Kevin and Nancy really go that extra mile for you; our taxi for dinner didn't turn up so Kevin took us down personally in his beautiful vintage car (i'm sorry I'm rubbish with makes!!) and even offered to pick us up afterwards.

When we got back, all the guest were gathered round the campfire for s'mores… i'd brought my own marshmallows from Disney which Kevin tried but have to say theirs were far better!

Thankyou for a wonderful stay, we will certainly be back when we do Route 66 in the future (a long way a way sadly!) but cannot recommend this place enough. Book well in advance so you are not disappointed!! You can even purchase a replica room key (which we did) to remind you of your stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, each one has a garage for your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loradoratheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences. It is a pleasure when we have the opportunity to serve as backup shuttle service when necessary, and glad you enjoyed your ride in "The Chief". Although we don't have a campfire every night, we had our first S'more Night of the season just the other night, and it is always fun.

Thanks for making the Blue Swallow your home away from home during your journey across Route 66.

Kevin & Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying the night at The Blue Swallow Motel recently and it did not disappoint! It was a step back in time but with better mattresses. Kevin and Nancy do a great job keeping this icon of Route 66 in tip top shape. The rooms were clean and comfortable and their hospitality was top notch. Staying at The Blue Swallow is a must do for anyone traveling Route 66 or just passing through Tucumcari on I40.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mriese2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 23 in Tucumcari
748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 23 in Tucumcari
281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 23 in Tucumcari
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 23 in Tucumcari
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range: £49 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try something different tonight! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including ultra-comfortable mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Many of the rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing