We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay...great neons”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay...great neons”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We just stayed at the Blue Swallow and really enjoyed our visit. The owners are great and make you feel at home. Vintage automobile out front and memorabilia inside the lobby. They directed us to the Pow Wow restaurant....a great suggestion.

This is a step back in time and the motel is in great shape!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuretraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    185
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
444
816
153
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Had to change plans due to some medical issues w our son. We had to go through Tucumari anyway and I decided to tell them in person we were not coming that nite. I expected to pay for the room anyway because of the late decision. The owner said he couldn't take my money given the situation, even after offering to at least pay half. I ended up buying three shirts and promising to come back. They let me take a couple of pics of the place including the coolest garage(yes garages for each unit) that murals of all the Cars movie characters! Neat neat place. Wonderful owners thank you again

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Glad we could be of help. We'll see you another time!

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is an older style motel on Route 66. Room number 5, Nancy explained, was how it looked in 1934. (I think that was the year.) Very clean and comfortable, I regret I didn't take a photo. There was a nook with an easy chair and lamp for reading. She spectulated it was a kitcenette at some point.

Some of the units have garages! Actually, there was a garage for all (as far as I could tell) but not all were usable. A couple of chairs and a table were outside if you wanted to enjoy the evening there with a drink and / or smoke.

In the morning, I met Bessie in the lobbly, the owners Golden Retriever. I bought a fancy coffee mug of the Blue Swallow, a classic Route 66 map, and a room key tag. Yeah, a room key tag. Great marketing on their part.

The parking lot is of a fine gravel, almost dust. Unfortunately, there were high winds that night. Close your car windows completely!

There are other places where I could have paid half as much, but I thought the Blue Swallow was worth it.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a usable garage, call well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Researcher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It's hard to describe how warm a welcome you'll get first from Bessie, the amazing pooch, and then from Kevin and Nancy Mueller, the proprietors.

Then there's the neon greeting, the Blue Swallow in flight, and the visual feast of the old-time motor court, come to life.

There are the warm southwestern colors, a palate of turquoise, cinnamon, adobe, sage, crimson…

There is the cozy, tasteful, CLEAN rooms, period-perfect, with whimsical touches like National Geographic and Look and Life magazines to browse…

There are travelers from all over, and it seems like the courtyard and the metal petal chairs invite conversations in the mellow evenings.

I could go on, but it's best experienced for yourself. GO!

Room Tip: Any room we've seen and stayed in so far is fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 153StephenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa, USA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Blue Swallow Motel was a lot of fun for our family. The kids were worried when we first pulled up, as it's so different than the Marriott's and such that we normally stay in. Of course, this was the point, but they didn't know that. We met Nancy (a lovely woman!) and she showed us to our room. We got the family suite, which had a queen bed in one room, then a little hallway with a bathroom and a second bedroom with 2 beds for the kids. We all fell in love. It was a bit like staying at Grandma's house, but with really comfortable beds & wifi. The other perk to the family suite is that there are garages on both sides of the suite, so we didn't have to worry about the kids making too much noise and keeping other people up. It's just a fun place to stay, and different than the usual hotel. It's the kind of place where other guests come over and chat when they see you sitting outside your room in the patio chairs, and the owners truly care about making you feel comfortable & welcome. The kids loved Bessie the dog and Max the Motel Cat too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We arrived around midnight and the owners knowing we would arrive late left the neon on for us until we arrived. The rooms were a comfortable temperature when we arrived and the beds were great!! The decor was a lot of fun even down to an old newspaper and phone. The room was VERY clean as well and the shower had great hot water for all four of us (girls). We were on a girls road trip in a 79 firebird and this was a perfect first stop. The next morning we spent some time talking to the owner Kevin who let us pull the car around and helped take photos with our car and the motel. Of course Betsie, their dog was a welcome addition to our photos. The homemade muffins and coffee were a nice touch for breakfast. I will definitely come back again when I'm out that way and bring my family.

Room Tip: We were in room 14 with nice new mattresses. Make sure to reserve ahead of time, I think they book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Blue Swallow has been lovingly restored to its former Route 66 glory by a Michigan couple who took a gamble and put down roots in Tucumcari because they believe the mythology of Rte 66. You've gotta love that. You also have to love the comfy rooms with vintage furniture and details (including a big old black desk phone), and the fact that each room comes with its own little garage. Go down the street and get an amazing New Mexican breakfast at Kix 66 or an oversized stein of beer at the Pow Wow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
225 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing