We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”
Review of Blue Swallow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucumcari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Swallow Motel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is no secret to Route 66 fans. I'm almost hesitant to give it the high review it deserves because if everyone knew, it would always be booked. The owners are fabulous and knowledgeable and have done a great job with their renovations. We stayed in Room 2, the car room. My husband stayed up super late reading the historic magazines targeted to a motor theme. Very comfortable bed. We had a view of the neon sign, which is one of the best we've seen in the 3 states of Route 66 we've covered so far. It's probably not a place that kids are going to appreciate, but for adults, all the antiques are really cool, from light fixtures and faucets to dial phones. Added bonus - nice thick towels and good water pressure.

Room Tip: Read the descriptions as each has it's own unique character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN262Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    185
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
444
816
153
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I loved this motel, and the couple running the place could not have been nicer or more helpful. Showed me an alternate route to Santa Fe that I wouldn't have traveled otherwise and it was fantastic. I will definitely be stopping in again next time I am out that way.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed one night while travelling from Holbrook to Amarillo. We had room 12 which I had chosen when I made the reservation but it was a tight fit with our luggage. Still it was only one night.
Welcomed by Kevin and his wife Nancy who took over motel 3 years ago. Having stayed the previous night at Globetrotters it was going to be a hard act to follow.
The owners were polite and showed us the room which is very retro. Bed comfortable. Bathroom very small but adequate, it probably could do with a little TLC. The shower head drips all the time and unless you close the shower curtain the floor becomes very wet. This could do with being fixed.
Coffee available in the mornings along with homemade muffins.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
The Globetrotter is a great place, and they have done a nice job with it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Checked the faucet this morning, and you are right, it was difficult to shut it off all the way. We have our plumber in there right now!

Safe travels, and thanks for making the Blue Swallow part of your trip!

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I found this motel online and was impressed by the website and the good reviews. We were not disappointed and had a very enjoyable stay. The friendly, helpful owners have obviously put a lot of time, effort, and love into returning The Blue Swallow to its original Route 66 grandeur. Our room was clean, comfortable, and also a lot of fun because of our own memories from the 1950's. If you want 2014, stay in a chain motel. If you want a true "blast from the past", stay at this motel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My son and I spent a night at the Blue Swallow last week during our cross country road trip. We had read reviews of the motel and after a long drive from Arizona arrived in Tucumcari early evening. I met Nancy at the front desk who showed me an available room. To me the experience was like stepping into the past. Nancy indicated the building was built in 1939. The furnishings were vintage 1940's. My son got quite a kick out of the old dial desk phone. I showed him how we used to have to dial numbers. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom another 40's era style room were all so charming. The couple who own and operate the Blue Swallow were two of the nicest people we met on our trip. They obviously take great pride in assisting travelers and just made us feel so at home. They were very helpful with dining options and even inquired on our itinerary and offered
motel suggestions as we headed toward the east coast. Anyone planning on a stay in the Tucumcari vicinity would be remiss in not trying the Blue Swallow Motel.. WELL DONE !!!!

Room Tip: Check out the 51' Pontiac "Eight" in the side yard...get an ice bucket from the owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardomnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for making the Blue Swallow part of your trip! We are especially glad when someone from a younger generation begins to discover old-fashioned things in "their natural habitat," and has the opportunity to learn what travel was like back in the old days.

As long time owner of the Blue Swallow used to share with her guests, "We are all travelers. From "birth till death" we travel between the eternities. May these days be pleasant for you, profitable for society, helpful for those you meet, and a joy to those you know and love best."

Thanks again,

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This was rated #1 with the Trip Advisor website. I was disappointed. The rooms were clean. Very retro decor. If you don't want to go back to the 50's, stay at the Holiday Inn off the freeway. Owners were very friendly. No breakfast, yet we paid nearly $100. Not worth the price.

Toilet had no cover. Very small bath. Worried things would fall into toilet. WiFi was not working in the rooms. Would not stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for your feedback, and we are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit. It sounds like we dropped the ball in a couple of areas, but we would like to respond your comments for the sake of those interested travelers who might be considering a stay at the Blue Swallow.

The toilet seat lid had been broken off the night before you were here, and one had been ordered. The vintage style we use aren't available at local stores, and have to be shipped from the manufacturer. We now keep a spare on hand in case it happens again. The size of the bathrooms are smaller, but well-equipped, even with ground-fault protected outlets, which most vintage motels don't have. One reason we show the room before accepting payment is to make sure the room meets with the guest's approval. It IS different from most places people are used to.

Wi-Fi is sometimes a challenge here, depending on the device a person is using, especially in Room 15 on the far end of the building. Our rooms are clay block and concrete construction, with wire-mesh reinforcement, and it is very difficult to get the signal into the rooms, even with additional antennas, multiple extenders, etc. Many people choose to sit outside their rooms, use our picnic area, or relax in the lobby to use their electronic devices, and the signal is very reliable in all of these areas. We continue to work to improve the quality of the signal as well as the available bandwidth. If you are future guest and concerned about this, let us know and we will make sure you are in a room that is as close to main antennas as possible.

As for breakfast, it is true we don't provide one here. We prefer to leave that to experts such as those at nearby KIX Restaurant or the Pow-Wow Restaurant, as we have found most "free breakfasts" aren't worth the water in the powdered egg-product and pasty gravies they generally serve. Perhaps you missed the excellent coffee and homemade muffins (literally, since this IS our home) we do serve every day, and many guests have commented very positively about these.

The price we charge is more than some in town, less than others. The Blue Swallow has received Traveler's Choice awards in 2013 and 2014, rated as one of America's best bargain hotels. We strive to ensure that the premium amenities, excellent housekeeping, and genuine hospitality provided by on-site owner/operators that is second to none, all add up to a good value for a travel experience that is truly unlike a stay at one of the chains in every way.

Thanks again for letting us know about your experience. It is our sincere hope that you find accommodations more to your liking as you travel in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I grew up watching "Route 66" every week. I've seen all the documentaries, studied the history.
The Blue Swallow Motel is more than a great place to sleep (clean, comfortable, quiet, cute, friendly), it is like a trip back in time.
I stayed there on Thursday, 10 April 2014. I arrived just after sunset and the beautiful neon lights were amazing. Nancy took me to see my room before I checked in (her idea, not my request!) and I was amazed - and a garage, too!
Kevin & Nancy know the town, the area, the history, and are gracious hosts.
DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: A garage for every - not that you need one. It's only 1/2 mile off the I-40, easy to find, and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGrossSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krmtrains1, Owner at Blue Swallow Motel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for the kind words, we really appreciate you staying with us. We do work hard to meet expectations, but with so many wonderful people staying and visiting with us, it makes work not at all like work!

We will keep striving to make the experience that is a stay at the Blue Swallow the best it can be.

Safe travels in the future, and thanks for making the Blue Swallow part of your trip!

Kevin & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
225 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Motel

Property: Blue Swallow Motel
Address: 815 E Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3143
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucumcari
#1 Business Hotel in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAK THE CHAIN! Travel just a short distance away from the I-40 off-ramp to experience the best of the past, with old-fashioned hospitality that is all too rare these days. The Blue Swallow Motel is a classic Motor Court established in 1939 on historic Route 66, and one of few anywhere still operating in its original configuration. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but retain an authentic feel from the heyday of route 66 travel. Premium creature comforts including wonderful mattresses, spa-like towels, and Desert Breeze organic shampoo, soap, and lotion. Most rooms include a garage to make you feel more at home while you are on the road, and these are perfect for parking your motorcycle or classic car for the night. All rooms are non-smoking. One of the best neon displays on Route 66! Come spend a memorable night and experience the home-style hospitality of a bygone era at the Blue Swallow Motel! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Hotel Tucumcari
Blue Swallow Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing