We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place isn't fit for a man or beast!!!!!!!!”
Review of Pow Wow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pow Wow Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Marshall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place isn't fit for a man or beast!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This was the only place to stay in town. The owner is not a pleasant person and the place seemed cleaned but we had bugs and the carpet was old . I left my necklace there and called him as soon as I found out it wasn't around my neck, and I asked him to mail it to me in just a reg. envolope and he said he didn't have that service and I could stop in and get it . I'm from upper mid-west and I told him that, and he kept saying he didn't have that service it cost money. I told him to keep the necklace and I would have the credit card company cancel pay for my room. He said that was outrageace and hung up on me, I tried to call him back and he would not answer. I could have sent him a prepaid letter but he wouldn't answer or return my call, becasue it cost money. I agree the resturant next door was very good and freindly. Too bad they don't own the hotel !!!!!
I called the police in Tucumary and hopefuly they can get it for me.

Room Tip: Drive another 50 miles if possible to get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravlerMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
10
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Desaignes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2010

If a plush place is what you're looking for, don't go there. But if you want to stay in a pleasantly surprising and unexpensive motel, with rooms reasonably clean but comfortable, very quiet and well-furnished, you'll be welcomed by a super cool guy named William who will do anything to make your stay become one of your best memories. Right next door there's the diner with excellent food and saturday night cowboy ball and concert. For people like us, who appreciate more spending wonderful moments than pinching our noses while looking for anything wrong, this was one of the funniest and relaxed times of our tour around the West. The swimming pool looked good, but was empty—and we just did not care since everything else was so great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeli2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We ate at the restaurant IT was the best, PLEASE BEWARE THE MOTEL IS OWNED BY A DIFFERENT GROUP IT IS TERRIBLE AND DIRTY, The restaurant the food is FIVE stars, the service is great, But be warned the motel is a dump...... We found out the motel and restaurant are NOT owned by the same people....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyBean73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tucumcari hotels

Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

There were roaches and the sheets were dirty, sandy and had hair on the pillows. It stunk really bad. Then the a/c would not work. It was 109 degrees outside and 100 degrees in the room. I asked for my money back after I realized the a/c would not work and the clerk screamed at me and refused to give me back my money. This motel is surrounded by abandoned motels and is just plain in a horrible neighborhood no nostalgia about it. The pool of course is empty. I was the only person there. I stayed there on June 7th the day someone else gave it a glowing review which I am sure was written by the clerk. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanneAndPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauphin, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We traveled with another family. The motel has spacias rooms, a nice lawn and a pool, even though the pool was not ready at this time of the year, it looked pretty.
The rooms were clean and the price was reasonable. We enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lisa499160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

I stay there EVERY time I go from Nebraska to Arizona. These people here are super nice! The bar is comfortable and safe. The rooms are older, but they've really tried to keep them up. There are so many motels on this road, I'm sure you do what you can to save money. I will pick the Pow Wow everytime. Very charming set up. The room I had this time had two doors, one by the parking lot and one out to a yard with a couple of chairs by the door. Very nice. Stay here if you want to save money and stay at a charming place.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snooks65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

The room looked decent at first glance, although my room smelled of smoke, even after it had been aired out while my colleague and I were eating at the motel's restaurant. As I was getting ready for bed, I pulled down the cover to find men's chest hair (I'm assuming- it was short and curly) all over the sheets, along with brown/yellow smudges on the pillowcases and drops of blood on the sheets. Oh, and I found a dirty sock at the foot of the bed. The management (new, as of that week--so it might have improved since I was there) was very apologetic and changed my sheets right away-- the managers/owners themselves changed the sheets for me. Then as I was trying to sleep after all of that trauma...I hear, then see two beetles running around the floor! After killing the beetles, I finally went to sleep. In the morning, I went to take a shower, and the shower was so dirty-- and the towels so ratty and full of holes-- I decided I was better off not to take one. My colleague did not have these problems in her room. It might have gotten better with new management, but it is definitely more of a 2 star motel-- not 3 stars. The restaurant was okay-- better than McDonalds. However, the lounge singer was super creepy! I would not recommend any woman traveling alone to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pow Wow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pow Wow Inn

Property: Pow Wow Inn
Address: 801 W Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3316
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Pow Wow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pow Wow Hotel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing