We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a ghost town”
Review of Pow Wow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pow Wow Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like a ghost town”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This place used to be vibrant-- a landmark on the historic Route 66. Thing is, the owners bought a property that needed to be invested in and updated, and they totally failed to do so. They just let it deteriorate. Pool is shut down, ice machines shut down, rooms and furnishing worn and in desperate need of updating. For crying out loud, if you're going to buy a hotel, be ready to put something into it. You're doing a disservice to a historic community by letting it just rot away like this.

It should be noted that the Pow Wow Restaurant and Lounge have different owner/operators and are not connected to the Pow Wow Inn. And the restaurant, conversely to the Inn, is quite good.

Room Tip: Sorry, there's not one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandBontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
10
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durant ok
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Pow Wow Inn for the nostalgia, but the Blue Swallow is a much better bet. The pricing is good, but there is a reason for that. Not too clean or comfortable. We probably won't go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It is not plush but it is clean and very comfortable. My sister and I enjoyed our stay there. We loved the courtyard. The young people running the motel were very friendly and accommodating, handling our requests in a polite and swift manner. We would most definitely stay here again. From reading previous negative reviews of this motel, we feel it must be under new management and encourage you to give it a try. It is quaint and atmospheric and it was fun to stay here. Patsy and Phyllis Crawford from Missouri.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at the Pow Wow Inn every year for the past 5 years. They have recently changed owners, we won't be back the rooms are filthy, hair dryer didn't work, half used shampoo bottles in the bathroom. Very disapponting!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdavis217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tucumcari hotels

Ellington, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Asian front desk clerk was friendly and accommodating. We were merely looking for a pet-friendly, cheap hotel and this fit the bill. However, the carpeting was old and needing replacement and the toilet didn't flush correctly. I would rate it 'below-average' if it weren't for the lovely young lady up front who also had the housekeeping responsibilities. The adjoining 'Lizard Lounge' is a comfortable place to eat. This hotel has so much potential! It was quiet (almost deserted) and for the price, acceptable for this weary couple & their critters. If the owners read this review....give the hard-working lady up front a raise! :-)

Room Tip: The parking for our room was in the deserted looking back of the property. When we first arrived 2 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed here as part of a Route 66 trip. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The pricing wasn't too bad for what was on offer. It's the sorry of hotel that's good for a stay on route but not a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballyjamesduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I was on a cross country drive alone so I wanted a place to just lay my head for the night. I chose the pow wow inn over the chains as I wanted to see what a rustic old Route 66 motel would be like. I didn't have any reservations but my room was only about $40. Okay - the room was odd with a door to the parking lot and one to the other side where the pool was.

The stay was fine and the wi-fi worked fine - I was able to watch a couple of movies online with no issues. I think I was almost the only one staying at the hotel as the parking lots were empty. The grounds are in desperate need of repair - the photos you see online were taken when the place was in better condition. The pool was empty and looked like it needed repair before they would be able to open it. The grounds hand't been mowed for some time and only half the lights in the parking lot worked at night.

I wouldnt recommend the hotel to families or single women - just a little too high risk with noone else there and the grounds being very dark at night.

Room Tip: Stay close to the office so your wi fi works better and you feel a little more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ejee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 22 in Tucumcari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pow Wow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pow Wow Inn

Property: Pow Wow Inn
Address: 801 W Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3316
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
Pow Wow Hotel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing