We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick overnight during cross-country travel”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Pittsburgh Area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quick overnight during cross-country travel”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on this site and was not let down. We arrived just after midnight and the young man who checked us in was quite welcoming. We settled into a spacious and clean room and slept quite well-- of the four hotels I was in over the past two weeks, this one had the most comfortable beds. Breakfast was continental fare-- complete with hard boiled eggs for those who prefer protein for breakfast. We just grabbed some coffee and reheated some food from the prior day since we had the refrigerator and microwave in our room. I would call this my ideal fly-by stay experience-- the room was ideal, and was the lowest rate I paid at any of the hotels I was in recently.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    82
    55
    10
    13
See reviews for
86
62
28
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great staff, hotel clean and nice. What a great experience since i was traveling solo with a dog that was going to a new home.What a great surprise was better than I had figured on. This is what all Rodeways should strive for!

Room Tip: Very nice..traveling with a dog and they were super nice!! Treated me with such respect, made me fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked in at 11pm not expecting much for the equivalent of £50 for the three of us and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was large, clean and cheerful with all the amenities you needed. The staff were friendly as well. From memory, it was the best of the interstate motels we stayed in travelling from LA to Chicago but perhaps the relief at finding somewhere nice so late added an extra gloss.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solastcentury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We usually don't stay at Rodeways but one review said it was OK so we gave it a try as it was a late night stop and an early departure. But to our surprise it was clean and efficient. And for the price it was certainly a good deal.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KKSkeeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Preface: This was a last minute booking as I continued my drive across the country. I booked it through the choicehotels website for $55 plus tax for a single king bed. I have never stayed at a Rodeway Inn, since their reputation is, frankly, crap. However, the TripAdviser reviews and the fact it was already 11:30pm when I booked induced me to give this one a shot.

Arrival: I checked in very late, at 1:30am. I had to go to one of those safety windows, since the lobby was closed. The clerk was a young guy who didn’t seem to be overly familiar with all aspects of his job. I usually use a credit card to hold my room for the reservation and then pay cash when I check in. When I asked him if I could pay cash for the room, he replied he wasn’t sure they could do, and that I would have to ask someone in the morning. I’m pretty sure he just didn’t know how to refund the charge, but I was ok waiting till checkout to get it done (spoiler alert: it did not get done).

Accommodations: I opened the door to my room…to see 2 queen beds, not a king as I had booked. I didn’t bother to go back downstairs, as I was tired, and frankly I didn’t care; I just wanted to sleep for a few hours before resuming driving. The rooms were uber-basic: beds, table and chairs, old tube-style TV on a dresser. No microwave or fridge, although they did include an iron and ironing board. The rooms were done in off white and a rusty yellow color. The room was quite warm when I checked in, and the AC never really got it cooled down to my liking. The bathroom shower head was adjustable to 4 different setting; it’s too bad it was broken and wouldn’t adjust. At least the water was hot. Overall, the furniture and room were in pretty good shape; I’m guessing it had been replaced somewhat recently.

Cleanliness: Whoo boy, where do I start. This is why I gave this hotel such a low rating. I will freely admit I tend to be pickier than the average person when it comes to cleanliness, but I was surprised at the room conditions given the previous reviews. The sheets on one of the two beds had multiple different stains on them, including some unidentifiable black marks and very identifiable blood stains. Out of the six total pillows on both beds, I found ONE that was clean. Two had blood stains, two had hair on them, and I don’t even want to know what the heck was on the fifth one. The bathroom sink and tub both had hair still lying around, I found a long hair on the clean towels and there were smudges on the mirror. I probably should have complained at this point, but again, I was tired and just ready to crash for a few hours sleep.

My Stay: Once I got past the bloodstains on the bed, the dirty linens, the hair in the bathroom, and the fact the room remained warmer than I was comfortable with, my stay was short and uneventful. I didn’t sleep overly well, and woke up ready to leave.

Breakfast: Another disappointment. When I arrived at the breakfast area, they had left: bran muffins, 2 slices of white bread….and that’s about it. Now to be fair, I went down to the breakfast area about 15 minutes before it closed (it’s open till 9am), but from the looks of it there wasn’t a large selection to begin with. Even the 2% milk was gone. They did have cereal (although if you are picky about your cereal, be warned it’s all generic brands), and props have to be given for having a self-serve waffle making station. But on the whole I was unimpressed.

Extras: I believe there was a pool, but I (obviously) got there too late to use it. No workout room or hot tub to my knowledge.

Checkout: After loading my stuff in to the car, I went to the desk…to find the same clerk manning the desk. Not sure what happened, but it appears his relief never showed up. I asked about paying cash for the room, and he replied the charge had already been made and couldn’t be changed. I dunno if this is a Rodeway Inn thing or what, but I’ve never been in a hotel where I couldn’t pay for the room with cash after holding it with my card (Note: This IS often true with Priceline/Travelocity bookings, but as stated above I booked through the choicerewards website). After handing me my receipt, the clerk walked past me outside and proceeded to go sit on the curb and resume smoking. Guess I can’t blame him; if I’d been there as long as he probably had, I’d need a break too.

Summary: I’ve never stayed in a Rodeway Inn because I’ve always heard they were poorly run and often dirty. While the overall conditions of the room and its furnishings were ok, the cleanliness issues and poor customer service have convinced me not to try another one for quite a while regardless of its Trip Advisor ratings. I would NOT stay here again, and advise anyone else to avoid this hotel unless it’s a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaporTrail13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

While passing through town on a dark desert highway, we were forced to stop for the night (can't ya just hear the guitar?) at the Roadway Inn in Tucumcari. I was a bit concerned, but My fears were quickly laid to rest. The staff was excellent, the rooms spacious and clean and the price was more than reasonable. All in all, it was one of the nicest hotels we stayed on our Odyssey and that includes the one we stayed at when we arrived in Flagstaff. The breakfast left a bit to be desired, not that it was bad, it was just limited (cold, continental), but there were plenty of places in town for a bigger, hotter meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Luv2Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here while on a road trip from Florida to Nevada. It is right off of the interstate and is convenient to a few gas stations and there is a Kmart right down the road. The hotel has a well lit parking lot and the staff was very nice. Our hotel room was clean, had free wi-fi and was quiet. We got a good nights sleep here and a small breakfast in the hotel lobby in the morning. This place was very reasonably priced and the room was large. The beds were comfy also. I would come back here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JML0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
679 reviews
2.5 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 22 in Tucumcari
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
2.5 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
492 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 2800 E. Tucumcari Blvd., Tucumcari, NM 88401 (Formerly Comfort Inn Tucumcari)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Tucumcari
Tucumcari Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing