We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful comfortable wild”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Phinda has been our first safari experience, it's although difficult to be objective.

1- We definitely loved very much the general service, the cosy and elegant atmosphere of the common area, the discrete but efficacy presence of the staff.
2- Food, far beyond expectation, is inventive, raffinate and mostly prepared with local products. The cooking staff is gorgeous and succeed in preparing every day something completed different.
3 -The professionalism, culture and skills of the rangers is a real pleasure and the their sincere passion and enthusiasm for their profession is contagious. From this point of view, Phinda has succeeded to put the right people in the right job. These rangers are the nicest people we ever met in our tourists-business-related-relationships.
4- The private reserve is of a real beauty, with richness and variety of landscapes, flora and fauna. We cannot say more, since it's the only place in earth of this kind we have visited.

The reasons we don't give a 5:
1- Furniture of the public area need some upgrade (fabric of canapé used and stained).
2- Rooms need a more accurate check by the managers concerning cleanliness and the state of furniture. We have some issues about these 2 points (some stains, some tissues forgotten by the previous guest, the lock of a door broken) and the manager in charge manage them very well. But still, for the huge price payed, there was no evidence of a procedure being in place to prevent this kind of problems.
3- The breakfast is excellent in quality like the rest of the food, but there's a lack of organisation in the order process: nobody come spontaneously to ask you for order, you must grab the ladies attention (I stood and went closed to one of them) and ask them to take your order.

But of course, even with these minus points, we will be back!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank enea_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Too true, Sibu

&Beyond and the Mountain Lodge at Phinda Private Reserve exceeded my expectations. Everything ran smoothly from the moment we were picked up from our hotel in Durban. The staff were wonderful: they displayed good humour and a genuine personal touch while delivering a totally professional service. Our guide and tracker were also fantastic. Not only did they make sure we got see a huge range of wildlife, they did it in an informative way and seemed to be just as thrilled at finding the animals themselves as we were to see them in the wild. Finding animals on safari doesn't provide instant gratification (nor should it) but just about everything else does.

The safaris, the Big 5, sundowners, the meals and the settings...all good; We packed so many memories into such a short period. It was brilliant and thanks to all those that contributed.

Room Tip: Remember to latch your door...the monkeys like the caramel slice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weston_R2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Staff, venue and reserve excellent. Game drives morning and night were superb. Nice surprises like candlelight dinner in the bush at the end of the afternoon game drive or lakeside Champange & pancakes really were special.
Our ranger Lucky & tracker Josi showed us everything - big 5 & even leopard twice. Awesome.
Lodge staff were excellent - Richard & Eric were fantastic as were Lauren & Kylie. Both Lauren & Kylie were very nice to ours sons. Very welcoming place.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Kneemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nice place in the middle of a quiet area with no traffic. Just mother nature. A bit of a drive from Richards Bay where we landed. However, the highway is nice and smooth and wide. all the way. You can to a gravel road when you veer off the highway to get to the lodge. 15 min drive on the gravel to get to the rooms. And you can see some wildlife on the way. We saw giraffes, zebras, buffalos, etc. Lovely welcome. Managed to see lions, rhinos, elephants too. Saw the four of the Big Five. Leopards are not the easiest to see or find. So don't get disappointed if you don't see one. But you are almost guaranteed to see the elephant, rhino, buffalo and lion ("big four"). Food is lovely and traditional. Nice evenings by the fire with good wine. Enjoy it. I absolutely had a good time in between our conference and tense but productive company debates.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were in South Africa to see our family and had in the past visited private lodges near Kruger Park. We chose Phinda because it was close to our family in Durban. We had an amazing stay, we saw the game we wanted to see and more. The staff were Hospitable making us feel that we were special. the game ranger Sebo was very knowledgeable almost knowing what the animals were thinking. We would highly recommend Phinda to all our friends

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmillarvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My boyfriend and myself spent two nights at the Phinda Mountain Lodge. We arrived just in time for dinner which we were driven to in the middle of the bush. The setting was out of this world. There were lanterns hanging from the trees and the tables were beautifully decorated. The drive to the lodge was in the dark and the ranger stopped to show us different constellations. It was an amazing evening.

The Mountain Lodge is better suited for families rather than couples. Kids are welcome, which may suit you or may not! There is free wifi all over the lodge, including the rooms. We saw a cheater kill, two lionesses, loads of impala, nypala, buffalo, wildebeest, warthogs, black and white rhino, giraffes, zebra's, hippos, and lots of birdlife.

The rooms are large with beautiful bathrooms and balcony area with deck chairs overlooking the private plunge pool.

An overall wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I recently took our teenage children to Phinda Mountain Lodge. It was our first African safari experience and Phinda did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived we were treated as special guests by all of the staff. The main lodge was spectacular; the spacious suites nestled on the grounds around the lodge had every necessary amenity with minibar, snacks and laundry included along with our own personal soaking pool; food that was absolutely fantastic in its quality and presentation, especially the dinners offered in outdoor BBQ setting under the stars or if you like in a picnic setting out in the park; the guides and trackers were first rate and extremely knowledgeable which made the actual safari experience something we'll never forget - being so up close with cheetahs, lions, elephants, zebra, rhino, hippo, impala, leopards, buffalo, giraffe, wart hogs, monkeys, baboons, crocodile, etc, just too much to believe!!!

The thousands of acres of rolling hills and open plains were beyond scenic, especially at sunrise and sunset. The kicker on the afternoon/evening drives had to be the amazing views we had of the stars in the night sky...levels of detail and brilliance that most people probably have never seen before but just incredible. Our guide and tracker also took us out to fish and shoot one morning and on our last day, took us up to a special mountaintop rock overlooking the whole park for one of the most amazing sunrises we've ever seen.

Can't say enough good things about Phinda Mountaintop Lodge. We highly recommend Phinda for that dream vacation you're waiting to take your family on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMagee_WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phinda Private Game Reserve
6.4 mi away
Bayala Private Safari Lodge and Camp
24 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
444 reviews
10.5 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
#1 of 6 in Phinda Private Game Reserve
395 reviews
10.9 mi away
Thanda Safari Lodge
Thanda Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
388 reviews
16.1 mi away
Leopard Mountain Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge

Address: Phinda Private Game Reserve, Phinda Private Game Reserve 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Phinda Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £1,668 - £3,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wraparound views of the ancient Ubombo mountain range, Mountain Lodge balances itself majestically above its panoramic surroundings. The 24 suites scattered along the mountainside offer complete privacy and luxury. There's no end to the choice of taking in the view - spacious verandas with private plunge pools and layered guest areas each provide their own magnificent outlook. Delicious Pan African meals are enjoyed in the dramatic stone and reed boma, lit by the warm glow of dozens of candles and lanterns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phinda Mountain Hotel Phinda Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing