We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pongola Country Lodge
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

An oasis hidden in the center of town. Once you are within the walls one feels safe and removed from the town outside. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Great food. Great value. The rooms are clean and neat and more than adequate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Yolande Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

The thing with this hotel is there is no real competition so they really are not up to date with modern traveller/tourist requirements.

In general terms as with most South African Hotels, the staff are great, but lack training and exposure to what is really required by today's traveller.

For example, pretty poor WI-Fi and boy do they charge for it!!!

It will be cheaper to buy a local internet stick

The restaurant, dated, very dated, but pleasant enough, however the menu is of a very, very limited choice, and the quality is not brilliant, most over cooked, I doubt whether they have a qualified chef.

Breakfast again OK,to be fair as good as most other hotels, however the staff 'ambience' leaves a lot to be desired, all seemed to have been on a night out, the night before.

After one breakfast we decided to eat out, a third of the price and much fresher.

The evening menu is fairly staid and very limited, no imagination at all, once you have had three meals there, you have pretty much exhausted the menu.

REasonable wine list, but steer clean of the white wine... Chateaux "battery acid"

Hotel is secure and safe, but has little to offer guests on an evening or weekends, simply nothing to do.

Pongola, is most definitely a one horse town, and some one has stolen the horse!!!

Very little to do and/or see on an evening.

Prices, ring up and haggle you can get a good room for about 200 - 300 rand including breakfast, but as stated, not worth the extra.

Would I stay there again, probably as there is no choice, therefore no competition, and it shows,

I am being a little over critical?? probably, and if you are in the area and/or just passing through, then its an OK place to stay.

Room Tip: Phone them and haggle on the price you will get a good deal, don't pay anymore than 300 rand, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

On a business trip in Zululand I had to go to Pongola for 3g signal. I stopped at this lodge for overnight accomodatio. The reception area is neat. They only had economy rooms available so I did not expect much. What I did get was unacceptable - stained carpets and chair. I dared not lay down on the bed and left immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rijan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We booked early and made special mention that we wanted a quiet room as we were traveling long distances and needed a good nights rest. We arrived at 14h30 only to find excessively loud music coming from outside the perimiter wall. When we made enquiries we were told it was from the neighbouring taxi rank and that it should subside early evening. Well the "boom boom" went on until all hours, which then we were told came from a neighbouring tavern.if management cannot sort the disturbance out from street vendows and taxis then the Lodge will definitely be losing more customers.Then to top that off there were branches and seeds falling from overhanging trees onto the steel roof sheeting covering the carports. This startled us right through the night.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Durbanducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I spent one night there for business, and it was ok, though not great.

As others have implied, the location is a bit dodgy - right in the middle of (the admittedly very small) CBD, which is not a great area. At least you don't have to go out to find dinner, as they do have a large restaurant, the food in which was ok and reasonably priced. Breakfast (part of the BnB rate - would be very overpriced otherwise - was adequate).

The rooms are pretty standard, but really a bit soulless. There was a double bed but (and it's a pet peeve) it comprised to singles pushed together), so you can't really stretch across without encountering the crack in the middle. No bath, only a shower - not really acceptable seeing its supposed to have been a luxury room.

The whole place felt like being back in the 70s (including the artificial flowers on all the tables), but I'm sure it wasn't deliberately retro. Just feel the whole place needed a revamp.

Service was generally friendly, certainly in the bar and restaurant, though not so much at reception.

I'm not sure there is really anything much better in or around the town, but if I had to go back I'd certainly try some of the alternatives.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NautieZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The rooms in Pongola Lodge were realy good, nice kingsize bed with white linen. The supper in the restaurant was excellent! BUT.... breakfast was POOR ! Omelet with ONLY mushrooms and cheese, no Tomato, no ham.. Beacon was hard and cold...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeetThabazimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The lodge located in the CBD of Pongola looks wonderful on website photos. Once you arrive it is evident again that a picture is worth a thousand words - here are mine. The check-in is as you would expect it, the rooms aren't. One would expect more for the price premium paid for the accommodation. I phoned reception to ask for more pillows - there weren't any extra in the room. After 3x calls my request was finally understood and after an hour the pillows arrived. Now our search started for the air conditioner remote which were nowhere to be found. On the phone to reception again who was astonished by our request. They said: "but our air conditioner only emits cold air..." and so the remote arrived half an hour later. At the breakfast table, disaster struck again. The food was oily and dry as if it was prepared days earlier. Our orders were mixed up constantly and the service lacking. Overall our experience was bad, and we will never return to Pongola Country Lodge given the variety of alternative accommodation available in the area at better rates.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Morne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pongola hotels
0.5 mi away
The Guest House Pongola
The Guest House Pongola
#3 of 16 in Pongola
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kastelein B&B
Kastelein B&B
#4 of 16 in Pongola
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#2 of 16 in Pongola
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
13.7 mi away
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
#1 of 10 in Pongola
239 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pongola Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongola Country Lodge

Address: 14 Jan Mielie Street | P.O. Box 307, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: £44 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pongola Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pongola Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing