We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kastelein B&B(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amakhosi Safari Lodge(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kwalala Lodge(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Elegant Lodge(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
164
20
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
20
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingbush breakfastpiece of paradisebush walktarget shootingunique experiencerelaxed atmosphereevery mealan amazing viewrooms are hugegame reservebeautiful lodgefood is excellentisabellahorseshorsebackvalley
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We wish we could have stayed for a further 2 weeks at this lodge ;-) My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were able to completely relax and unwind in just 3 days. I would like to do the compliments first and then make a few suggestions which I believe could add value. Firstly, the food was out of this world and we went personally to thank Sonto (head chef), her creations were not only healthy and tasty but beautifully presented. Patrick, our waiter was most diligent and polite, he was always at our service with a smile to go with it.
Our guides, Chamu, who took us on a bush drive and Isolde and Moses who took us into the bush on horseback, were an absolute pleasure. They were professional and so informative not only about the horses and wild animals but about plants and birds too. The space in the lodge is awesome, my husband and I are not in favor of cramped, small spaces so the suite and the rest of the lodge were incredibly spacious. I would like to suggest that music is played in the bar and the restaurant as this creates a peaceful ambience and also helps guests to relax. Thank you for a most memorable stay at this amazing piece of paradise - we will be back xxx

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanis-Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Such a special place to be - its like staying with family. A beautiful lodge and location; the owners and staff are such great people and never mind the horses and access to the animals within the game reserve. My only complaint is that I had to come home!
Food and accommodation was amazing and frankly the whole week was breathtaking.

Room Tip: They are all the same ...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaJayneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

From the time we arrived to be geeted with big smiles by Henriette in reception and Young Anna (well young compared with me) from the stables we new our next six days were going to be good.
After a briefing and time to settle in we relaxed readying ourselves for half a dozen days of horse riding twice a day
So come the first evening and we all congregated in the small well appointed bar and were introduced to Issabella & Anthony " the guvoners" what a treat, from the word go we were kept well amused and interested. After a couple of Castle Beers we retired to the restaurant veranda
for a very well prepared and tasty dinner, with the required wine to suite chosen from a more than adequate wine list. Retiring to bed well sated ready to be up at five oclock am the following day for our first session of riding. In the morning (I thought it was still night apart from the sun) we were met by Isabella and Anna and introduced to Isolde who it transpired was on a placement finalising her recognition and qualification as a Natuarlist Guide and extremely good to as it turned out.
For some unaccountable reason I had advised Isabella that my wife and I wished to learn how to tack up & down before riding hence the early mornings. What a great experience, under the guidence of all three ladies, we now realise how benificial that was in getting to know the horse you would be riding all week. Without wishing to bore anyone not into horse riding lets just say we had lots of memorable rides through the reserve meeting lots of the animals at close quarters.
All under the guidence again of the three ladies who with thier combined knowledge of the environment and horse skills made each ride a joy.
The stables has approximatly 35 horses and Isobella is the guiding light, having been on the international scene Breeding horses and riding and needles to say the care they are given is second to none.
As a break form the riding an Archery lesson, nature walk and visit to a wild Cat sanctuary was organised, we didn't have to lift a finger.
During our stay we were treated to dining with the owners and both Isolde and Anna in the restaurant " a delight in itself".
Our accommodation was spacious and well furnished to a very good standard, with a patio overlooking a valley, very scenic, in fact everything was spacious.
For our selves we can't find a bad thing to say about Pakamisa from the staff to the place its self.
All I can say is go there and experience it.
On a parting note, after having two unfortunate falls from a horse just previous to our holiday I would just like to put in writing my greatful thanks to Isobella and Anna who's patience and humour during riding and lessons helped to rebuild my confidence.
Thank you all, and Anthony who's humour well !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Pakamisa. A huge thank you to Isabella and her team. From the reservation to our departure, everything was professionally handled and we have had a fantastic break. The rooms were spotless, the food excellent and in general everything was way more than we expected. A special thank you to Chamu our guide and driver. His general knowledge of bush lore and birds was amazing and even as "old hands" in the bush we learnt from him.
We would highly recommend Pakamisa to anyone who enjoys a unique bush experience in Zululand.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I have travelled extensively in South Sfrica and stayed in dozens of hotels, guest houses etc, but, i have not found anywhere that compares to Pakamisa.
This is simply the most stunning place i have ever stayed in. I have been lucky to stay here 3 times and every time i find or see something new.
I have not found anything to fault about Pakamisa, The food is to die for... The service exemplary and the views are out of this world!!
The flora and fauna are amazing here, and i can personally recommend the horseback game rides, amazing to ride among Giraffe, Zebra and all the different buck!!
Isabella and Anthony are brilliant hosts, and i can't wait to visit them again in 2013.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have stunning views. i have stayed in 3 of them and really don't have a favourite!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poohsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews