We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kwalala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kwalala Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Pongola B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was the most amazing stay. The room was very well appointed, neat and cozy. The breakfast and dinner was unbelievable. Thank you Susan and Leon. It was memorable as always.

Just have really created a jewel in Pongola.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo Wilmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
24
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have been in Kwalala several times with my family and we all enjoyed our stay. the rooms, garden, restaurant are very clean. the staff are very friendly and always available for they guests. Kwalala It's like a second home.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bernardo9742014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have stayed at Kwalala numerous times and have never found it to be less than excellent. The rooms and bathrooms are great and the food is fantastic. The staff are efficient, honest and friendly. I love my visits to Pongola because it is such a pleasure to stay at Kwalala!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireMU6087EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I regret the day I went to stay at Kwa Lala due to bad attitude from staff and the manager. I book to sleep only one night from what it seems to a food experience turned to be a bad one. When I woke the following day without realising it's that time of the month. It happened that I messed the bed linen a bit. To my surprise the three staff members where on my case to wash the linens or pay R200 for them. I asked to speak to the manager and she was not there but they called her. She was so ride that she ordered me to pay if I'm not interested in washing the linens and when I asked her if it's their policy and she never even cared enough to answer that but to order me to wash those linens. I was never humiliated and violated in my life. I've been around the world slept in many places and it's not the 1st time happening which I was never told to wash the bed linen but in that hotel was told not to stress these things happen. I will never recommend people to go there but to discourage them from sleeping there. I didn't understand why did they go into such a business if they can't expect things like that and won't be able to handle it. And the manager including her staff, I think they need customer service training in dealing with customers and such things and not order your customers to wash their bed linens or they are not ready to run this kind of a business.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank vuvupat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

If I had only known about Kwa Lala sooner! This is undoubtably the best BNB in the area! From the reception, to the rooms, to the food. Simply excellent!

Highly recommended for anyone traveling in the area!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Ba
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a great stay at Kwa Lala it was home way from home. Break fast was always lovely , from the delicious home made tomato jam, the crossanats,the chillie sauce. Ohh the rooms very comfortable beds, very clean bathrooms. We enjoyed our stay, we deffinetly coming back.

From: Phindiwe, Neli and Keisha.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phindiwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The ease and hassle free booking- surprise
The warm and unpretentious welcome - surprise
The delicious dinner and connoisseur wine selection - surprise
The clean and well appointed rooms - surprise
The child friendly accommodating attitude - surprise
We will be back - NO surprise

Susan and Leon, thank you very much ! Stefanie and Family

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pongola hotels
13.7 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Guest House Pongola
The Guest House Pongola
#3 of 16 in Pongola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
18.1 mi away
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Pongola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pongola Country Lodge
Pongola Country Lodge
#9 of 11 in Pongola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
6.4 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalala Lodge

Property: Kwalala Lodge
Address: 15 Jan Mielie Street, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwalala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Four Star Rated Bed and Breakfast in Pongola. Bookings necessary as the establishment is popular and regularly fully booked. Restaurant open from Mondays to Fridays, for breakfast lunch and dinner on reservation. Dial 0027825583840 to book your table. Closed on public holidays. The restaurant can be used on weekends for special occasions or dinner if booked in advance. Service at its best and Staff and Management are hands on to make sure your stay is exactly what you expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kwalala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing